COVID in WA (Read 91871 times)

Re: COVID in WA
Reply #1875 - Feb 7th, 2023 at 7:06pm

aquascoot wrote on Feb 7th, 2023 at 5:50pm:
my wifes ward has been running understaffed for most of the past 2 years.
it has a devestating effect on morale.

one of the number one complaints during the mask mandates was the feeling of suffocation wearing an N95 all day at work

sickies among nurses dropped off when wards stopped the mask mandates.

you have a choice of being treated by staff who are doing a brutally taxing job and give up on the masks and let them have a little bit of comfort

or you can have a hospital with no nurses as  people have sickies because they are over it.

your call .

Those theatre nurses must have it tough. What's the union doing?

I'd be organising a stop work meeting and downing tools immediately, but that's just me.

You?

Reply #1876 - Feb 7th, 2023 at 7:09pm

Carl D wrote on Feb 7th, 2023 at 6:04pm:

one of the number one complaints during the mask mandates was the feeling of suffocation wearing an N95 all day at work

you have a choice of being treated by staff who are doing a brutally taxing job and give up on the masks and let them have a little bit of comfort

or you can have a hospital with no nurses as  people have sickies because they are over it.

your call .

So, don't they have breaks occasionally in a place where they can safely remove the masks for a while?

Like outside somewhere?

Oh, that's right - they probably don't have time for any breaks these days due to years (decades?) of government cost cutting in the hospital and healthcare systems which has now been made worse with the large number of staff who are constantly off sick with Covid.

And all of this is happening while many elderly patients are going into hospital, catching Covid and becoming seriously ill or dying.

They seem to have enough time to steal their patients' medication, Carl.

Typical.

Reply #1877 - Feb 7th, 2023 at 7:16pm

aquascoot wrote on Feb 7th, 2023 at 6:20pm:
Carl D wrote on Feb 7th, 2023 at 6:04pm:

your call .

So, don't they have breaks occasionally in a place where they can safely remove the masks for a while?

Like outside somewhere?

Oh, that's right - they probably don't have time for any breaks these days due to years (decades?) of government cost cutting in the hospital and healthcare systems which has now been made worse with the large number of staff who are constantly off sick with Covid.

And all of this is happening while many elderly patients are going into hospital, catching Covid and becoming seriously ill or dying.

an outsider would think that is the case.

but its not.

so much funding was spent on covid that cutbacks are now happening

if someone is sick, they arent replaced.
no agency nurses at all.
a lot of my wifes colleagues do RAT tests , hoping desperately they are positive (these women are assymptomatic) so they can have 7 days to redt from the brutal workload , nothing to do with covid .
again, not replaced. the rest are short staffed by their absence and this makes it worse

as to having breaks, its a lot worse then that.
patients arent showered ,
they arent supervised
they have falls.

my impression is the hospital system in qld is on the verge of collapse.

palachook is borrowing heavily to have a large part of admissions done in private hosptials (for public patients) with the state health picking up the bill.

and not just for cataracts and gallbladders (which has been going on for years) but for acute stuff like appendixes and pneumonias,

driven from a public hospital casualty to a private hospital.

things are very bad.

i would be talking to nurses and seeing what can be done to entice them back.
certainly, sticking them in sticky gows and N95 and face shields and gloves and having them lift 150 kg patients out of bed and into a steamy shower is probably not a good idea if you want any staff to turn up.

if people would just remain mobile and a manageable weight, it would make my wifes job so much easier.
if they would give up the junk food and hit the gym so they have the strength to go to the toilet and not crap the bed 3 x a day, they might attract more staff.
this would require personal responsibility.

so, i'm afraid the bad news is, that fairly shortly you can call an ambulance and they may well say

"sorry we have nowhere to take you"
its getting that bad

Hence the extra heart attacks, Aquascoot.

Oh, the anti-vaxxers will try to convince you otherwise, but Mrs Scoot knows where its at.

If you want the good oil, hit up the workers on smoko, no?

Reply #1878 - Feb 7th, 2023 at 7:29pm

Karnal wrote on Feb 7th, 2023 at 7:01pm:
aquascoot wrote on Feb 7th, 2023 at 5:51pm:
Karnal wrote on Feb 7th, 2023 at 5:31pm:
That's the "evolutionary blowtorch" at work, Greggery. We need to respect its awesome power.

I'd be advising my grandmother to eat less Maccas, take her hydroxychloraquine and go to the gym, but that's just me.

You?

when did i say to take hydroxy ??

and yes, a grandmother would be orders of magnitude better off at a gym then a hospital

Sorry, Aquascoot, Ivermectin.

The Superior Man uses a range of off-label medications. It keeps big pharma on its toes.

As does prayer.

Allah Uakbar, no?

why on earth would i use ivermectin?
but if people are going to feel compelled to take a pharmaceutical to ward off covid, they might as well take something that has been given to billions of people with virtually no side effects.

rather then an experimental technology that costs billions.

personally, i am happy ot rely on personal responsiblity with regards my health.
i think hospitals should be avoided as they are a health hazard.

they are fine for a car accident or a broken bone or a snakebite and i would be the first to call an ambulance for those

but for treatment of chronic diseases (what 99 % of people "suffer" from), they are all but useless.
in fact they may do more harm then good

Reply #1879 - Feb 7th, 2023 at 7:33pm

Karnal wrote on Feb 7th, 2023 at 7:06pm:

your call .

Those theatre nurses must have it tough. What's the union doing?

I'd be organising a stop work meeting and downing tools immediately, but that's just me.

You?

lovely air conditioned operating theatre and the heaviest thing you lift is a 100 gram pair of forceps.

now try lifting a 150 kg patient by yourself when they have crapped the bed for the third time because they are too immobile to use a toilet and then showering them in a hot sticky shower whilst mving them from a wheelchair to a shower chair , all the time getting covered in feces and possibly assaulted because the dirty old fat sloppy individual thinks he can have a feel as you undress him.

you wouldnt last 1 shift  Grin Grin Grin Grin

Reply #1880 - Feb 13th, 2023 at 9:44am

aquascoot wrote on Feb 7th, 2023 at 5:51pm:
Karnal wrote on Feb 7th, 2023 at 5:31pm:
That's the "evolutionary blowtorch" at work, Greggery. We need to respect its awesome power.

I'd be advising my grandmother to eat less Maccas, take her hydroxychloraquine and go to the gym, but that's just me.

You?

when did i say to take hydroxy ??

and yes, a grandmother would be orders of magnitude better off at a gym then a hospital

1664911.jpg (39 KB | 2 )
1664911.jpg

Reply #1881 - Feb 13th, 2023 at 3:19pm

Nearly had a heart attack when I saw this on page 7 of today's The West Australian.

I thought "don't tell me we are finally going to see some truth in the paper about how Covid damages the heart, lungs, brain and other organs, especially after multiple infections".

But, no... just when I think the media cannot get any worse with their Covid denial BS they come up with this.

Freaking unbelievable.

Edit: And again... when do the lawsuits start?

https://twitter.com/loobylouwales/status/1624963013584519168

Less than two weeks into the school year and my daughter has COVID. Again.
The rage I feel at our useless government and health officials for refusing to make schools safe is incandescent.

(Louisa lives here in Perth, by the way).
« Last Edit: Feb 13th, 2023 at 3:35pm by Carl D »  

westbs.jpg (91 KB | 4 )
westbs.jpg

Reply #1882 - Feb 19th, 2023 at 3:23pm

Went up to Bunnings at Belmont this morning.

It was very busy... and I was the only one there wearing a mask as far as I could see.

Went to the Rivervale Kooyong Rd. IGA after that to do a bit of shopping. Also very busy... and I was the only one wearing a mask there too as far as I could see.

That awesome "personal responsibility" and "assess your own risk" on display once again.  Roll Eyes

Saw this letter in today's The Sunday Times. I'm still wondering how it got published since I'm sure that hundreds or even thousands of similar letters to the newspapers have probably been 'binned' since Australia's official Covid 'policy' became "Let it Rip".

I'm also wondering how many people will actually read the letter and take notice? My guess: ZERO.

Reply #1883 - Mar 1st, 2023 at 5:19pm

Wow, for a moment there I thought the Western Australian government had finally seen the light.  Shocked

WA Dept. of Health

https://twitter.com/WADeptHealth/status/1630316087656022016

People with long COVID can have a variety of symptoms for days, months or years after infection. Preventing COVID-19 infection is the best way to prevent long COVID.

Protect yourself and others from COVID-19 by washing your hands, wearing masks in crowds, staying home when sick, and getting the recommended vaccine and booster doses. Learn more: http://VaccinateWA.org

But, alas, it's the Washington State Department of Health.  Embarrassed

(I should have known better after seeing the usual maybe 1 in 100 people wearing a mask at Belmont Forum earlier today and hearing the usual 'chorus' of sneezing and spicy coughs throughout the shopping centre).  Roll Eyes

Reply #1884 - Mar 8th, 2023 at 10:21pm

Saw a post on Twitter yesterday where someone noticed quite a few staff were wearing masks at a Coles supermarket here in Perth on Monday (they didn't say which suburb).

The poster said it was good to see so many masks and hoped it would be the start of an upward trend until someone pointed out that it was probably because the mask wearing staff were sick with Covid but they didn't want to stay home and miss out on the extra pay for their Monday shift (Monday was a public holiday here in WA).

I'd have to agree - especially when I never see any of the staff at the Coles in Belmont Forum wearing masks when I'm there (like today).

I wasn't there on Monday to see if any of the staff were wearing masks but I might have to take a look during Easter.

Reply #1885 - Mar 9th, 2023 at 12:57pm

hi carl

dont spend significant time on insignificant things

covid is over.
the hospitals dont give a toss about it
they dont even test for it routinely.

so instead of going on the prowl to look at mask usage, why dont you go on the prowl to look at how many people are in the food court, chowing down on coca cola, pizza and KFC.

much more significant issue in terms of health.

mask = token gesture

good food = life changing health initiative.

time for a course correction.

Reply #1886 - Mar 9th, 2023 at 1:05pm

Hey carl. No-dose vs A-dose. What do you see ?? You and your aunty are represented by the green line Wink And you still want to argue the toss Cheesy LOL

Reply #1887 - Mar 9th, 2023 at 5:09pm

aquascoot wrote on Mar 9th, 2023 at 12:57pm:
covid is over.
the hospitals dont give a toss about it
they dont even test for it routinely.

New COVID-19 wave likely underway in NSW, weekly surveillance report shows

The next wave of COVID transmission may be underway in NSW, new data indicates.

There were 6,941 people diagnosed across the state in the week ending March 4, the latest weekly surveillance report showed, an 8.6 per cent increase over the previous week.

Together with an increase in the number of people with COVID going to emergency departments who needed to be admitted, the numbers were "likely to mark the beginning of new wave in transmission", the report noted.

And, where NSW 'leads' I'm sure the rest of Australia will follow... we'll find out tomorrow with the release of the other States' weekly numbers.

Won't be long before we'll be hearing that this will be just a "short, sharp wave before Easter" (just like the one before last Christmas - and over 2000 Australians have died from Covid since then).

Oh, and...

https://www.cdc.gov/nchs/data/nvss/vsrg/vsrg03-508.pdf

Also, Sir Nail - please take note.
« Last Edit: Mar 9th, 2023 at 5:23pm by Carl D »  

ss01.jpg (119 KB | 3 )
ss01.jpg

Reply #1888 - Mar 12th, 2023 at 8:01pm

If anyone still needs proof of the (deliberate) failure of public health messaging from our governments look no further than Optus Stadium here in Perth tonight.

This will be a massive Covid superspreader event, no doubt.

Ed Sheeran Perth: Fans from every corner of globe descend on Optus Stadium

(Paywalled as usual but you get the idea)

75,000 fans jammed into Optus Stadium, not to mention the fact that a lot of them will also be jammed like sardines in the buses and trains before and after the concert.

And there won't be a single mask in sight, I bet.

The concert is due to start 2 hours from now.

Stand by for a massive increase in WA Covid cases, hospitalisations and (sadly) deaths over the coming weeks and months.

Reply #1889 - Mar 12th, 2023 at 8:18pm

aquascoot wrote on Mar 9th, 2023 at 12:57pm:
...Covid is over.

Not so at all mate.

Over the past week, 19,338 new cases of COVID were reported
across Australia—an average of 2,763 cases per day.

This is an increase of 11.6% in NSW, and an increase of 9.4% in Victoria.

[Australian Department of Health and Aged Care, 10 March 2023.]

Pages: 1 ... 124 125 126 127 128 ... 145