COVID in WA (Read 91801 times)

Re: COVID in WA
Reply #1935 - Mar 29th, 2023 at 12:39pm

flip page.

Reply #1936 - Mar 29th, 2023 at 12:39pm

flip page.

Reply #1937 - Mar 29th, 2023 at 12:39pm

flip page.

Reply #1938 - Mar 29th, 2023 at 12:39pm

aquascoot wrote on Mar 28th, 2023 at 5:28pm:
the age of entitlement is over carl.

no hospital bed for you.

the doctors and nurses are abandoniing ship due to the selfishness of the patients.

well done

Yes, indeed.

How selfish of the patients having to go to hospital due to catching a Biosafety Level 3 virus which our governments have told us "needs to be treated just like any other respiratory illness" and removed all protections to prevent the spread of this virus and people being infected by it.

Except that it isn't "just like any other respiratory illness", of course.
« Last Edit: Mar 29th, 2023 at 5:28pm by Carl D »  

Reply #1939 - Mar 29th, 2023 at 2:29pm

hospitals are overwhelmed with diabetics and dementia patients awaiting a spot in a nursing home.
they would nt be overwhlemed if people took "personal responsibility" and ate well, didnt drink and remained fit.

unfortunately, thats not most chodes.

Reply #1940 - Apr 2nd, 2023 at 7:53pm

From today's The Sunday Times.

Page 9.

Nice to see a bit of honesty about the Covid situation for a change although I'm sure we'll be hearing it's just another "short, sharp wave" before Easter in the next few days.

Just like the "short, sharp wave" we had before Christmas.  Roll Eyes

No mention of deaths of course which stand at 999 (990 since the WA border finally opened just over a year ago).

Some believe the State government deliberately stopped at 999 last week so the 1,000 deaths announcement will be 'lost' amongst the 'excitement' of the Easter break. Wouldn't surprise me one bit.

"massive under-reporting of positive cases"

Oh, yes... and not just in WA, I'll bet.

Reply #1941 - Apr 3rd, 2023 at 9:29am

Health Minister Amber-Jade Sanderson said WA "was in the final stages of preparing its seasonal campaign ahead of this winter".

"It will focus on both the flu and COVID," she said.

Let me guess - all we'll see is "make sure you're up to date with your COVID and flu vaccinations" and "stay home if you're feeling unwell" (which most people will ignore, as usual).

There won't be one word about wearing masks, I'll bet.

Oh, maybe it'll be something like "masks are recommended indoors and in other crowded places" (which most people will also continue to ignore).
« Last Edit: Apr 3rd, 2023 at 10:52am by Carl D »  

Reply #1942 - Apr 3rd, 2023 at 4:23pm

I wonder what's causing the issue here?

Perth airspace restricted due to shortage of air traffic controllers

Commercial flights departing and arriving in Perth had to contend with no air traffic control support last Tuesday night, with skies to the east of the city reclassified as Temporary Restricted Airspace.

Paywalled of course but I used a 'bypass' to get to this part of the story:

The union blames a Retirement Incentive Scheme that Airservices offered to its staff in July 2021. The union claims 138 Air Traffic Service staff took up the offer between 30 August 2021 and 17 June 2022.

“Of the 138, at least 124 were operational air traffic controllers,” said Civil Air president Tom McRobert. “We estimate that scheme removed approximately 13.7 per cent of air traffic controllers from rosters around Australia.

I read the whole story and the C(ovid) word wasn't mentioned once.

So, I wonder what the 'excuse' is for the shortage in the US and probably other parts of the world? A screenshot of a quick Google search is attached.

"Covid - the word that must never be seen or heard again"  Roll Eyes

atcs.jpg (108 KB | 6 )
atcs.jpg

Reply #1943 - Apr 3rd, 2023 at 9:01pm

Carl D wrote on Apr 3rd, 2023 at 9:29am:
Health Minister Amber-Jade Sanderson said WA "was in the final stages of preparing its seasonal campaign ahead of this winter".

"It will focus on both the flu and COVID," she said.

Let me guess - all we'll see is "make sure you're up to date with your COVID and flu vaccinations" and "stay home if you're feeling unwell" (which most people will ignore, as usual).

There won't be one word about wearing masks, I'll bet.

Oh, maybe it'll be something like "masks are recommended indoors and in other crowded places" (which most people will also continue to ignore).

It'll be just like this waste of taxpayers money no doubt.

“The balls in your court”  Roll Eyes

Let's see what the punters have to say about that, shall we?

https://twitter.com/annatime94/status/1642814653859512320

Anna-
@annatime94
·
1h
Replying to
@annatime94
Here it is.. Australia federal health’s latest COVID vaccination ad.. lovely images of maskless pharmacists administering vaccination to maskless older Australians amongst over pathetic things..

Get in the bin Butler..

Charlotte SARSWithChars
@covidactionnow
·
1h
Replying to
@annatime94
Terrible! not one mask
Time for @Mark_Butler_MP
@PKelly_CBR
to go. Health departments just not doing their job. We have 30% deltacron in SA & not a peep from @SAHealth
its a disgrace. Largest pandemic in our time & health depts go silent publicising flu risk aleady but not covid

Oh, and this classic...

https://twitter.com/ChioneNgozi/status/1642833097086603264

Maybe they should’ve ended the advert with these balls … 🏀🏀

balls_001.jpg (47 KB | 4 )
balls_001.jpg

Reply #1944 - Apr 7th, 2023 at 7:37am

lol.. (but not funny really).

https://twitter.com/WAGovernment/status/1640232997055090689

You can now pick up free RATs at Bunnings Cannington and Midland during opening hours.

Stop by the entrance/exit to pick up your free RATs over the next two weeks.

Free because the WA government bought 2 million dollars worth of them ages ago and they're now about to expire so they would rather have the public dispose of them and save themselves the time and expense of doing it themselves.

They've also been handing them out for free in some of the shopping centres here over the past few months. Places like Red Dot that were selling them for $10 for ONE test less than 6 months ago must have been a bit embarrassed (I see they've stopped doing that now).

Of course hardly anybody wanted them anyway after the government bought them because... well, nearly everyone believes the pandemic is over and Omicron was/is "mild". At least that's the message we've had from our governments and the media over the past 12 to 18 months.

And they're probably useless for detecting the latest variants in circulation (not that RAT's were/are very reliable to begin with).

And...

https://twitter.com/LettersfromTim/status/1643982516838346753

Would you like a free sausage?

How about a Biosafety Level 3 viral infection?

Just wander around Bunnings for an hour and you can take both home to your family

Thanks @MarkMcGowanMP

Yep, last 3 or 4 times I've been to our local Bunnings I was the only one there wearing a mask as far as I could see.

https://twitter.com/eagerrealist/status/1643985639308951552

So they’re saying these areas are hot spots.

lol... sure seems like it.

https://twitter.com/sunsets1207/status/1640476275931516929

Is this a parody account 😂 😂 😂

Hard to tell these days (and not just in WA).
« Last Edit: Apr 7th, 2023 at 11:45am by Carl D »  

snagged.jpg (57 KB | 7 )
snagged.jpg

Reply #1945 - Apr 10th, 2023 at 3:46pm

I read this in today's The West Australian:

Editorial: Complacency the enemy in COVID battle

And right near the end we have this:

“The prediction is that there will be a wave in winter, which is why the Health Department has urged people to get a winter booster.”

And clearly the time to start booking in for the jab is now — not waiting for the inevitable stampede once an outbreak picks up momentum as the weather gets colder.

Then there are the boring, obvious things that nevertheless are worth revisiting.

Like maintaining personal hygiene such as hand-washing and not coughing or sneezing in public.

And making sure we take a test if feeling unwell — and staying at home if we come down with the dreaded ‘rona.

Not one word about mask wearing, of course. Masks are a big no-no in places like Australia. Stops people shopping and spending apparently (but it's funny how wearing masks doesn't seem to do that in places like Hong Kong and many other Asian countries).

Wasn't particularly busy when I went up to Belmont Forum earlier but I think I only saw about 2 other people wearing a mask besides me.

Plenty of people sanitising their hands and wiping their shopping trolley handles as they went into Coles and Woolies though.

Which would be great if people breathed through their hands. Still might want to think about putting a mask on your hands though.

Even the World Health Organization has finally admitted (after 3 years) that Covid is airborne and hangs around in the air like smoke. Not just carried in droplets that don't travel any further than 1.5 meters (2 meters in some countries judging by some of the overseas social distancing signs I've seen over the past 3 years).

We are going to be so screwed this winter.
« Last Edit: Apr 10th, 2023 at 4:34pm by Carl D »  

Reply #1946 - Apr 10th, 2023 at 4:04pm

Also read this in today's paper about Jay's super spreader party on April 1st.

https://thewest.com.au/opinion/jay-hanna-i-went-to-a-super-spreader-party-and-ca...

Paywalled but here's the text:

On April 1 I attended a COVID-19 super spreader party. It wasn’t a joke.

And I know what you’re thinking, I thought the same — super spreader events are so passe, so 2022, like Will Smith slap jokes and comparing Wordle scores.

We have moved on. Except, newsflash, COVID-19 has not.

To be honest I did not give the virus a thought as I prepared to celebrate the milestone birthday of a close friend.

I live for a good party and this was going to be a cracker with great friends, free-flowing booze and a playlist of 80s and 90s bangers. The birthday girl made sure we were all a few drinks deep before we assembled for our customary Total Eclipse of the Heart singalong. You’d be jealous, right? If you didn’t know there was a sting in this tale.

The next day the Dockers and the Eagles were squaring up for the western derby but across town in Perth’s inner northern suburbs a different grudge match was playing out as husbands and wives argued about whether it was going to be Macca’s or Hungry Jack’s to the hangover rescue.

Monday, I woke feeling brand new. I even hit the gym after work with energy to burn. But that night I found it hard to sleep. My throat was a bit dry and I felt a bit snotty.

Tuesday morning, I got up early and typed an email to my colleague. “I’m going to work from home today, I’m not feeling the best. About to do a COVID test but pretty sure it’s just a cold.”

Fifteen minutes and one positive RAT test later and I was typing back, in disbelief, “Far out (that’s not what I wrote), I have COVID.”

Turns out I wasn’t the only one — our group chat was on fire (along with our throats) — as the birthday girl kept us informed of more and more cases emerging. She even sourced flashy gifs for each number. Although one came close to giving us epilepsy to add to our COVID.

As the tally continued to rise one friend joked, “this is even better than the live polls on election night”.

Another mate, when confessing her husband was case 14, said “I really haven’t been able to tell when his hangover subsided and COVID began.”

Those laughs gave me life when I felt like hell.

By Thursday, five days after the party and the day school broke up for the holidays, our tally reached 16. Most of us were parents from the same school, scattered across two year groups. The teachers, be they believers or not, must have been praising Jesus and his resurrection for those well-timed two weeks away from our potentially COVID-ridden children as they sprinted to their Hondas.

To be continued...

Reply #1947 - Apr 10th, 2023 at 4:07pm

Continued...

The tally now stands at 18. One third of the party guests walked out with an unfortunate viral goodie bag that night. We don’t know where it started and it doesn’t really matter. The point is, if, like me, you thought super spreader events were something that happened “back then”, back when we were still watching daily tallies and bracing for snap lockdowns (and cursing the fact they always seemed to coincide with schools going back), then think again.

I admit I got complacent about COVID. I hadn’t got around to having my fourth booster. And in the throes of despair, when those horrible COVID nights had me climbing the walls, you better believe I kicked myself over that.

We all want to believe COVID is something that has come and gone but sadly “back then” is still here. That doesn’t mean we have to stop living our lives or singing 80s power ballads at the top of our lungs with our mates but it does mean we need to remain cautious and help mitigate the risks.

Our party cohort was among the 3446 new cases reported in WA in the week ending April 7.

In the same reporting period, three people died, pushing the State’s COVID death tally to more than 1000. A grim milestone, indeed.

So consider this a little reminder to do the right thing. Practise good hand hygiene and stay home if you feel sick. No one likes to miss out on a good party but you also don’t want to be someone who inadvertently does the viral equivalent of a celebratory champagne spray that takes down your mates.

"Practise good hand hygiene and stay home if you feel sick"

Just like it said in the editorial. Not a word about masks. Roll Eyes

Needless to say, people tried to educate her on Twitter:

https://twitter.com/Jay_Hanna_/status/1645208383858040832

(Click on "Show more replies" after every 3)

Probably without any success, I'm sure.

Reply #1948 - Apr 10th, 2023 at 4:21pm

Even Dr. David Berger read it (he's not impressed and I'm not surprised).

https://twitter.com/YouAreLobbyLud/status/1645231105715363844

And he agrees with me - we're screwed. Shocked

Reply #1949 - Apr 15th, 2023 at 11:12am

flip page.
« Last Edit: Apr 15th, 2023 at 1:35pm by Carl D »  

Pages: 1 ... 128 129 130 131 132 ... 145