COVID in WA (Read 91755 times)

Re: COVID in WA
Reply #1965 - Apr 18th, 2023 at 3:42pm

flip page.

Reply #1966 - Apr 18th, 2023 at 3:42pm

flip page.

Reply #1967 - Apr 18th, 2023 at 3:42pm

flip page.

Reply #1968 - Apr 18th, 2023 at 3:43pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Apr 18th, 2023 at 2:48pm:
Carl D wrote on Apr 17th, 2023 at 3:39pm:
Hey, Greg.

Did you see or hear the protest march in St. George's Terrace this morning?

Nah, I didn't go into the city today (my dentist is on St Georges Tce too).

I'm not surprised that the protesters weren't wearing masks though.

Strangely, I've noticed a lot of people are starting to wear masks at my local Vic Park Woolworths - all ages, too.

Took my aunt to her GP in North Perth this morning to get her flu shot and a blood test (same medical practice where my GP is).

Apart from us I saw about half a dozen other people there wearing masks - and most of them were patients.

Even my aunt's own GP has stopped wearing her mask, last time I took my aunt to see her in November she was wearing a high quality mask like we were/are.

And, I was the only person wearing a mask when I went to the dentist yesterday morning... the chap who did my clean and checkup had a blue surgical mask on while he did the cleaning but that was the only time he had it on. Same for the rest of the dentists and staff that I saw.

That was my first visit to Perth City since my last dentist visit 6 months ago and I'm pretty sure I won't be going back there until my next appointment in October (I've driven through there several times over the past few months but my aunt and I never stopped anywhere and got out of the car).

Basil can keep his "City of Light" (and stick his bicycle where the sun don't shine).  Grin

Reply #1969 - Apr 26th, 2023 at 9:53pm

And... there it is.

(A follow up to my post from April 15.)

Carl D wrote on Apr 15th, 2023 at 1:34pm:
Still waiting for the WA government's advice about how to deal with this "triple threat" during winter.

Let me guess - "Practise good hand hygiene and stay home if you feel sick".

Oh, "And make sure you're up to date with with your Covid and flu vaccinations" (the only bit of useful advice they'll give, I'm sure).

Not one word about wearing masks, of course.

So predictable. There was also an ad for this in today's The West Australian. (with the same 'footy' picture in it).

Stay well this winter with free flu vaccines available this May

Stay healthy this winter by continuing to practise good hygiene habits such as washing your hands,  staying home if unwell, and keeping up to date with your vaccinations.

Not one word about masks, of course. They don't even say "recommended" anymore. But, keep on washing and sanitising those hands (works really well with airborne viruses that you breathe in) and stay home if you're unwell (yeah, right).

Staying healthy in winter

Not one word about masks there either.

I still have to wonder if our governments are more afraid of their big business 'masters' or the anti mask 'cookers' (but... but... MAH FREEDUMB!!!!) with refusing to mandate masks anymore or even recommend them, especially in winter.

My guess would be they're more afraid of the 'cookers' but I might be wrong. Probably afraid of both.
« Last Edit: Apr 26th, 2023 at 10:58pm by Carl D »  

Reply #1970 - Apr 27th, 2023 at 12:17am

On a somewhat related note I was reading in the paper the other day that 'Sneakers' (McGowan) is disappointed that public transport patronage in Perth has not returned to "pre-pandemic levels".

He dropped mask mandates on public transport about a week before the opening of the Airport Line last October which is part of his beloved (and extremely expensive) Metronet.

He even said at the time of dropping the mask mandates that he hoped it would result in an increase of public transport usage ($$$$ again, of course).

Well, Mark - if public transport usage hasn't returned to "pre-pandemic" levels even after the dropping of mask mandates I'm guessing word has probably gotten around amongst the elderly and medically vulnerable people that public transport isn't safe for them anymore.

But, being a politician I doubt you would understand or even care about that.

Suck it up, princess. See you at the ballot box in 2025 (and I won't be voting Liberal either in case anyone's wondering).

Reply #1971 - Apr 27th, 2023 at 9:08am

You really are a sick unit carl.

Reply #1972 - Apr 27th, 2023 at 9:18am

Sir lastnail wrote on Apr 27th, 2023 at 9:08am:

Care to discuss what I've said in my previous posts, Sir Nail?

Seeing as you don't live in Perth or WA (thank goodness for small mercies) I'm guessing the answer is no.

You'll just continue with the one line insults and memes instead.

No worries... knock yourself out.

Reply #1973 - Apr 27th, 2023 at 11:20am

Carl D wrote on Apr 27th, 2023 at 9:18am:
Sir lastnail wrote on Apr 27th, 2023 at 9:08am:

Care to discuss what I've said in my previous posts, Sir Nail?

Seeing as you don't live in Perth or WA (thank goodness for small mercies) I'm guessing the answer is no.

You'll just continue with the one line insults and memes instead.

No worries... knock yourself out.

you're an extreme hypochondriac mate. You desperately need help Sad

Reply #1974 - Apr 27th, 2023 at 11:25am

Sir lastnail wrote on Apr 27th, 2023 at 11:20am:

Got any proof of that?

So, you're also a medical expert now, are you?

I on the other hand have lots of proof that you're a antivaxxer nutjob - your posts here are 100% proof of that.

Reply #1975 - Apr 27th, 2023 at 11:47am

Carl D wrote on Apr 27th, 2023 at 11:25am:
Sir lastnail wrote on Apr 27th, 2023 at 11:20am:

Got any proof of that?

So, you're also a medical expert now, are you?

I on the other hand have lots of proof that you're a antivaxxer nutjob - your posts here are 100% proof of that.

so you think I'm an antivaxer nut but you're an extreme hypochondriac Cheesy LOL

Reply #1976 - May 3rd, 2023 at 5:09pm

Carl D wrote on Apr 7th, 2023 at 7:37am:
lol.. (but not funny really).

https://twitter.com/WAGovernment/status/1640232997055090689

You can now pick up free RATs at Bunnings Cannington and Midland during opening hours.

Stop by the entrance/exit to pick up your free RATs over the next two weeks.

Free because the WA government bought 2 million dollars worth of them ages ago and they're now about to expire so they would rather have the public dispose of them and save themselves the time and expense of doing it themselves.

They've also been handing them out for free in some of the shopping centres here over the past few months. Places like Red Dot that were selling them for $10 for ONE test less than 6 months ago must have been a bit embarrassed (I see they've stopped doing that now).

Of course hardly anybody wanted them anyway after the government bought them because... well, nearly everyone believes the pandemic is over and Omicron was/is "mild". At least that's the message we've had from our governments and the media over the past 12 to 18 months.

And they're probably useless for detecting the latest variants in circulation (not that RAT's were/are very reliable to begin with).

Crikey... it was worse than I thought  - I'm not sure where I got the $2 million figure from, actually.

COVID RAT strategy criticised by WA auditor-general after cost soared to almost $600 million

Shocked

The WA government has been slammed for the way it managed the purchase of rapid antigen tests at the height of the COVID-19 pandemic, with a report finding there was no "clear, considered and coordinated" plan.

In her report released today, Auditor-General Caroline Spencer said the rapid escalation in cost to $580 million in total was unlike anything she had ever seen.

She said what started as a $3 million spend on tests for health workers and returning travellers quickly spiralled beyond $440 million, "around twice the cost of the Bunbury Hospital redevelopment".

"Public entities spent the equivalent of 10 per cent of the state's 2022 operating surplus on diagnostic plastics without demonstrable evidence of clear, considered and coordinated planning or ongoing advice as to the necessity of the expenditure," Ms Spencer said.

No wonder they've been giving them away by the truckload in shopping centres, Bunnings and other places.

Deputy Premier and former health minister Roger Cook said the government had made difficult decisions when there was no rulebook about how to handle the pandemic.

"[We] understood that having an abundance of rapid antigen tests was a key way that we could continue to protect peoples' health [and] save lives, while we were dealing with the onset of Omicron and as it made its way through the community as we opened up our borders," he said.

"You sit back and you reflect on those decisions and you think, my God, I'm just so pleased that we made them in the way that we did because it protected lives and in addition to that, protected Western Australia's economy."

What happened to the "protected lives" part after WA's border opened in March last year? Over 1,000 West Australians have died from Covid since then.

Reply #1977 - May 3rd, 2023 at 5:18pm

500 million dollars for rat tests just for WA.

good grief.

the medical industrial complex has been farming western australians very successfully.

too bad theres no money left to increase jobseeker

Reply #1978 - May 3rd, 2023 at 5:23pm

david panton, partner of julie bishop (i think she is western australian) runs pantonic health which supplies most of WA's rat .

the medical political industrial complex  Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy

Reply #1979 - May 3rd, 2023 at 5:29pm

david panton, partner of julie bishop (i think she is western australian) runs pantonic health which supplies most of WA's rat .

the medical political industrial complex  Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy

panton.jpg (90 KB | 4 )
panton.jpg

Pages: 1 ... 130 131 132 133 134 ... 145