Pages: 1 ... 8 9 10 11 12 ... 58
NSW cases out of control. (Read 39414 times)

Re: NSW cases out of control.
Reply #135 - Jul 11th, 2021 at 5:51am

‘We have clearly heard that COVID–19 hasn’t just impacted the day-to-day lives of children and young people, but is having a wider and deeper impact on our next generation,’ Commissioner Mohamed said.

Broader safety concerns included increasing conflict, tension and violence within families. Young people reported that their usual strategies for seeking safety, such as leaving the house, seeking relief at school, or staying with friends and extended family, have been cut off.

Workers in organisations supporting children and young people are concerned there are ‘fewer eyes on kids’, with some perceiving the risks faced by vulnerable children and young people during lockdown as outweighing COVID.

‘This is a vital perspective that we cannot afford to miss. Although many services have adapted their approach to working with children and young people, there is no question that at a time of heightened risk in families, vulnerable children and young people are less visible and have less access to support. We must balance the need to tackle the virus while also addressing the risk of violence, abuse and neglect at home,’ Commissioner Buchanan said.

Another strong theme from the consultations related to mental health. While some are managing well, most children and young people consulted described a negative impact on their mental health and wellbeing. Loneliness, isolation, disruption of routines and coping mechanisms are being coupled with the stress of remote learning, precarious employment, and unstable housing. Children and young people are also distressed by news and social media, with many having fears for their future.

Many children and young people were frank about the lockdown exacerbating existing mental health issues. Others spoke of experiencing mental ill health for the first time, and a disturbing number spoke about concerns of suicide and self-harm.

‘In the midst of this clear distress, most children and young people told us they prefer face-to-face support services, with phone and online services creating barriers for some needing help with their mental health for the first time,’ Commissioner Buchanan said.

Remote learning also posed challenges for children and young people, with its impact often dependent on the degree of support children and young people already received.

‘Students with good supports at home often described a positive experience of remote learning. Some children and young people praised their teachers’ commitment and appreciated the support and communication. But we heard from many who feel support is limited and for students already doing it tough, remote education simply doesn’t work.

‘We heard this from children in large families, in families that could not afford or did not know how to use technology, families where parents were working or could not read or had other issues preventing them from helping their children. We also heard particular concerns about the impact on students with disability or special learning needs.

‘For vulnerable children already at risk of disengagement, the impact on their education could be devastating and permanent. We will need a major effort and investment to address education gaps widened by the pandemic,’ Commissioner Buchanan said.

‘It is vital these concerns directly shape the responses on the ground. This consultation has shown us just how inter-connected are the factors that support the wellbeing and safety of children and young people, yet in many ways the pandemic is a time of profound disconnection,’ Commissioner Mohamed concluded.

SadKangaroo

#FightStupid

Mianjin (Brisbane)
Reply #136 - Jul 11th, 2021 at 7:41am

aquascoot wrote on Jul 11th, 2021 at 5:45am:
SadKangaroo wrote on Jul 10th, 2021 at 4:43pm:
aquascoot wrote on Jul 10th, 2021 at 3:03pm:
oh please.

its not me that has problems.

Again, I don't mean to belittle your mental health issues and I was not trying to trigger you.

any society which puts the needs of old people in front of the needs of kids is doomed.

i can see you lot on the titanic.

loading the old codgers into the lifeboats because they are just as valuable as children.

disgraceful stuff .

You're all over the shop mate, get it together.  I know I may have hit a little to close to home but you don't have to have a meltdown.

On one hand, you're saying that COVID is nothing for the young to worry about (despite the medical evidence and age groups of those in ICU in NSW at the moment), with the Titanic, a disaster that if you weren't in a life boat, you were guaranteed to die.

So which is it, is COVID nothing to worry about, or a death sentence?

Or are you just being manipulative and disingenuous with your comparison?

what is good for my kids and grandkids takes precedence over what is good for me.
FFS
whats wrong with you

As it should be.  But that's not what you're advocating for.  You want the virus to run while so you don't have to be scared and anxious at home...

Once we're all vaccinated this is the goal, it won't be as transmissible in the community and those vaccinated have a much lower chance of getting any illness or needing hospitalization.

But until then, the virus running wild through the community gives it a chance to mutate and evolve, as we're seeing.  The delta variant is far more contagious and it's not just "old people" who are at risk of having a severe reaction to it.

We can't keep locking down forever, nobody wants that anyway, but we need to have a plan to reopen and return to life as normal, or to a point of "living with the virus".

Sadly we've been let down by our federal leadership as they are the ones responsible for our border security and quarantine system but most importantly the Vaccine rollout which is paramount to that end.

Instead of cherry-picking numbers, projecting your mental health issues and weaknesses onto everyone else, hold those responsible to account.

The Federal Government needs to do better, supported by the states and local health systems once they can secure enough vaccines and we can all put this behind us and you can go back to obsessing over young boys playing big men and how bad women are.

absolute rubbish,

the restrictions have zero effect on me. my businesses are essential services and to do with food production. i can go where i please.  if i want to go and buy hay in the hunter valley i can get a permit in 3 minutes on line and be on my way.

what affects me is seeing my grandkids and kids missing out on the adventures of childhood, missing out on playing school footy and spending school holidays at the beach.

unlike the current crop of incredibly selfish older australians who have made this all about them, i have had a greqt life and could not care a toss if i got covid compared to the pain of seeing grandkids miss out on human flourishing.

your attitude disgusts me

Your projection would say otherwise, but that's cool bro, keep running from your problems and pilling yourself even further.

I was only trying to help after picking up on your obvious cries for help, but no matter, it's better for my own mental heath to simply not give a poo about your crotchety old ass anyway.

Who cares that there is light at the end of the tunnels, let's just burn the place to the ground and negate the sacrifices we've all made in the last 1.5+ years so you can feel better, errr, I mean, you can feign compassion for your grandkids by advocating for the death of others.

Boomers be boom'n.

Reply #137 - Jul 11th, 2021 at 10:45am

Grappler Deep State Feller wrote on Jul 11th, 2021 at 1:44am:
How is it racist to see that people coming in from certain countries/regions are the problem here... also often including their refusal to lock down etc??

Quick - look under that bed... there might be some there!!

Er, no one's coming in from certain countries.

Whoops. Wacist.

Reply #138 - Jul 11th, 2021 at 11:32am

Of the 79 locally asquared cases, 77 locally asquared cases, the vast majority continue to be from south-western Sydney.

"I need to give frank advice that the case numbers in south-western Sydney are extraordinarily high. We know transmission is going through households, from household to household."

https://www.news.com.au/world/coronavirus/australia/live-breaking-news-graph-sho...

Reply #139 - Jul 11th, 2021 at 11:33am

Gladys is hysterical:

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2021-07-11/nsw-records-77-new-covid19-case/100284316

NSW records 77 new COVID-19 cases,

one death with 33 in community while infectious

Posted 23m ago
23 minutes ago
, updated 3m ago

NSW recorded 77 new locally acquired COVID-19 cases in the 24 hours to 8:00pm yesterday and one fatality.

Thirty-three of the cases have been out in the community while infectious.

NSW Health confirmed a woman in her 90s from south west Sydney died yesterday at Liverpool Hospital.

It is the first COVID death in NSW since December 2020.

She was a close contact of a locally acquired case and was tested for COVID-19 on Friday, returning a positive result early yesterday morning.

"Regrettably, that person did acquire it within the household, within the home setting. I can't stress enough that every time we risk breaking the rules or even just going about our business and not getting tested when we need to, the people whose lives and health that we're risking the most are those closest to us," Premier Gladys Berejiklian said.

Chief health officer Kerry Chant said she believed the woman was not vaccinated.

The Premier said she expected a marked increase in the numbers in the next 24 hours.

"I'm anticipating the numbers in New South Wales will be greater than 100 tomorrow.

Now, that's what I'm anticipating.

"And I'll be shocked if it's less than 100 this time tomorrow, of additional new cases."

She again implored the community to follow the rules. She also highlighted a new risk from essential workers, such as tradies, who visited multiple sites.

Of the new locally acquired cases, 55 were linked to a known case or cluster — 39 household contacts and 16 close contacts — and the source of infection for 22 cases remained under investigation.

Dr Chant reiterated the Premier's warning about staying home.

"Please stay at home and that means staying within the one household. Do not leave that household setting and do not interact with other family members."

Currently, 52 COVID-19 cases are in hospital, with 15 people in intensive care, five of whom require ventilation.

More than 48,000 tests were taken during the reporting period.

More to come.
« Last Edit: Jul 11th, 2021 at 11:48am by Bobby. »  

SadKangaroo

#FightStupid

Mianjin (Brisbane)
Reply #140 - Jul 11th, 2021 at 11:46am

I hope they're wrong about the projections, but going by other regions with this variant I'm not hopeful.

So long as her grandkids broke the lockdown rules and went out to party, bringing the virus home and killing her, it will all be worth it hey Scoot?

Better than getting anxious on the toilet like you.  She was 90 anyway.  Can't let her life get in the way of not having to stay at home.

The math checks out.

Reply #141 - Jul 11th, 2021 at 11:51am

SadKangaroo wrote on Jul 11th, 2021 at 11:46am:
I hope they're wrong about the projections, but going by other regions with this variant I'm not hopeful.

So long as her grandkids broke the lockdown rules and went out to party, bringing the virus home and killing her, it will all be worth it hey Scoot?

Better than getting anxious on the toilet like you.  She was 90 anyway.  Can't let her life get in the way of not having to stay at home.

The math checks out.

Dirty Dan is telling Victorians in NSW to come home now - they will bring it here.

"I'm anticipating the numbers in New South Wales
will be
greater than 100 tomorrow

Reply #142 - Jul 11th, 2021 at 11:53am

Why wasn't the 90 year old vaccinated?

Reply #143 - Jul 11th, 2021 at 12:38pm

https://www.news.com.au/national/nsw-act/harsher-lockdown-the-only-real-option-l...

NSW Premier Gladys Berejiklian is being urged to call in the military to enforce a total lockdown

in greater Sydney as a last-ditch effort to control the virus numbers amid fears infection rates are set to spike in coming days.

Epidemiologist Tony Blakely told news.com.au that the state faces three grim choices after daily case numbers spiked to 77 in a single day and the only “real option” was a draconian lockdown enforced with troops on the streets.

Those three options are: the ‘let it rip’ approach and allowing the Delta variant to circulate in the community, continue with a partial lockdown with many retail stores still open and a third option which is send in the troops and more police.

Divisions have emerged in recent days in the Berejiklian Government amid reports there was opposition in NSW cabinet to extending the lockdown, including from Treasurer Dominic Perrottet who is working on a major rescue and support package for businesses and workers left reeling from the shutdown.

But the NSW Premier has warned that allowing the virus to circulate is simply not an option until vaccination rates in Australia are much higher and a majority of the adult population is vaccinated.

“They can shrug their shoulders and say, ‘we can‘t control it.’
That would be horrific.
Thousands of deaths, health services overwhelmed,’’
Dr Blakely said.

Reply #144 - Jul 11th, 2021 at 12:42pm

So, 77 people yesterday tested positive for a virus, out of 40,000+ tests. And if they cannot track where those people went in the last week, that would be unusual.

Reply #145 - Jul 11th, 2021 at 1:12pm

UnSubRocky wrote on Jul 11th, 2021 at 12:42pm:
So, 77 people yesterday tested positive for a virus, out of 40,000+ tests. And if they cannot track where those people went in the last week, that would be unusual.

It will be here in Melbourne soon.

Reply #146 - Jul 11th, 2021 at 1:20pm

Bobby. wrote on Jul 11th, 2021 at 11:51am:
Dirty Dan is telling Victorians in NSW to come home now - they will bring it here.

"I'm anticipating the numbers in New South Wales
will be
greater than 100 tomorrow

And, if that doesn't happen you may be getting it 'indirectly', Bobby.

Launceston to Melbourne flight announced as an exposure site

https://www.9news.com.au/national/coronavirus-victoria-updates-launceston-to-mel...

Victoria's Department of Health has contacted passengers on a recent Launceston to Melbourne flight that included a passenger who has since tested positive for COVID-19 in London.
The passenger landed at Melbourne Airport on July 2, transferred to the International Terminal, and then flew to London via Singapore.
Due to the brief time the case spent at Melbourne Airport and the lack of current evidence that the case contracted the illness in Tasmania, the Melbourne domestic and international terminals are not considered exposure sites.

Still beats me why so many people are travelling all over Australia and around the world while we're in the middle of a steadily worsening pandemic?

Someone was also asking on Twitter the other day what was going on with all these flights arriving in Melbourne (apparently mostly from China and the US) which the writer claims were not on the 'official' list of flights and the passengers getting off them were not going to hotel quarantine but were being driven off to places unknown.

No wonder we keep getting more and more Covid outbreaks.

Reply #147 - Jul 11th, 2021 at 1:46pm

Carl D wrote on Jul 11th, 2021 at 1:20pm:
Still beats me why so many people are travelling all over Australia and around the world while we're in the middle of a steadily worsening pandemic?

People are still lining up for Daniel's Doughnuts during a pandemic.

https://www.bitchute.com/video/Jak9wBBcF68D/

Reply #148 - Jul 11th, 2021 at 2:19pm

Gordon wrote on Jul 11th, 2021 at 11:53am:
Why wasn't the 90 year old vaccinated?

Tinted

Reply #149 - Jul 11th, 2021 at 2:24pm

Bobby. wrote on Jul 11th, 2021 at 1:46pm:
Carl D wrote on Jul 11th, 2021 at 1:20pm:

People are still lining up for Daniel's Doughnuts during a pandemic.

https://www.bitchute.com/video/Jak9wBBcF68D/

So unfair. How can these people wear masks while he's out of work? They should hang their heads in shame, no?

Monkeys.

Pages: 1 ... 8 9 10 11 12 ... 58