Fat kids (Read 2198 times)
StoveLegs

Fat kids
Oct 30th, 2021 at 6:19pm

When I first saw a photo of my husband's six year old niece she was clearly overweight. When I told him he denied it. Now she’s a teenager, obese and going through fad diets with her mum but not losing weight. The problem could have been nipped in the bud at a young age but it was ignored and denied and now the problem’s worse. My child is now overweight according to the GP and it’s the same denial again.

Is fat the new normal? I don’t understand parental denial.

Re: Fat kids
Reply #1 - Oct 30th, 2021 at 6:38pm

You cant tell people, look at some of the idiots on this forum. Go to the thread about weight loss and you will see what I mean, constant denial. We have now a whole generation addicted to junk food and medications for lifestyle illnesses. , its too late, obesity is the new norm.

NorthOfNorth

Reply #2 - Oct 30th, 2021 at 6:54pm

StoveLegs wrote on Oct 30th, 2021 at 6:19pm:
Is fat the new normal?

Could be.

In another example of YankWank, fat shaming has become  another taboo, and taken up with the enthusiasm of an old testament prophet, such that Weight Watchers (a company dedicated to losing weight) has had to rename itself WW or (the hand wringing) “wellness that works”.

Conviction is the art of being certain

Reply #3 - Oct 30th, 2021 at 7:04pm

If I had fat kid I'd slip some cyanide into his Halloween candy ...

Reply #4 - Oct 30th, 2021 at 7:19pm

StoveLegs wrote on Oct 30th, 2021 at 6:19pm:
Is fat the new normal?

Ask lisa

Reply #5 - Oct 30th, 2021 at 7:37pm

AiA wrote on Oct 30th, 2021 at 7:04pm:

What would you do if your wife put on weight after you married?

Reply #6 - Oct 30th, 2021 at 8:23pm

Fat kids have fat parents.

Reply #7 - Oct 30th, 2021 at 8:23pm

Gordon wrote on Oct 30th, 2021 at 7:37pm:

I'd review what I am feeding her.

Reply #8 - Oct 31st, 2021 at 4:34am

A friend of mine years back married at 25 years old. His wife was the same age. 2 years later he was the same weight and she was a pig, so he divorced her. Her friends thought he was the pig for divorcing her. His friends saw things differently.

Reply #9 - Oct 31st, 2021 at 7:22am

AiA wrote on Oct 31st, 2021 at 4:34am:

A friend of mine years back married at 25 years old. His wife was the same age. 2 years later he was the same weight and she was a pig, so he divorced her. Her friends thought he was the pig for divorcing her. His friends saw things differently.

He did the right thing, unless their vows included 'for fatter or thinner '.

Reply #10 - Oct 31st, 2021 at 8:07am

gordan,  i was listening to an evolutionary biologist who made a lot of sense.

he said that for 1000's of generations, humans really only got carbs with high fructose in the form of seasonal fruits and they would gorge themselves and try to put on fat, because the fruit woul be gone pretty quick

so sweet stuff induces

1  increased appetite
2  increased fat storage.

i think that right

people who drink sweet drinks, eat biscuits and cakes and deserts, like white break, like all those processed carb products like breakfast cereals are always hungry and always fat.

i'm not saying people need to go full on paleo but i eat a helluva a lot of eggs and red meat and i never touch brekkie cereal , biscuits, bread or cake. or soft drink.

i just dont like them.

and i have heaps of energy.

i go bush walking with guys who have to munch a muesli bar (processed cabs with corns syrup) every 90 mintues and they always look like they are gunna pass out.

i just have a few hard boiled eggs and water and your body is full of energy.

i think if people just gave up carbs except for salads, avacados,tomatoes sweet potatoe  and maybe a few oranges and bananas and ate more meat fish chicken eggs and beans , they would have heaps more energy and would shed kilos

Reply #11 - Oct 31st, 2021 at 12:45pm

I agree with you 100% here, Scoot. Here's what I reckon.

At the end of the day, the laws of thermodynamics rules all and its energy in minus energy out, and it doesn't matter if you're eating maccas, paleo or medeteranian. If your input is more than your output, you'll get fat. However, good luck trying to calorie control on maccas or the SAD.

My experience was after my 30s when I ate empty carbs and sugar my blood sugar would spike, I'd feel ravenous even after I had a big pasta meal and I'd over eat.
To compensate I'd have to do extra workouts and fast to make up for the overconsumption. I had the willpower so never got fat, but most don't. Their microbiome and blood sugar are screaming out to be fed.

For about two years now I've dropped all grains apart from oats, and eat mostly what you mentioned and never feel that gnawing hunger. On a rolling average I'm probably eating the same calories but without the over and under consumption.

I can have porridge with a tablespoon of whey powder at 7am, do a cardio workout and not feel any hunger until 4pm.

Reply #12 - Oct 31st, 2021 at 1:18pm

... featuring tonight on FATV, re-runs of Legends of The Full, The Expandables, and A Fridge Too Far.......

Reply #13 - Oct 31st, 2021 at 1:30pm

Being overweight has simply never been a problem for me.

I seem to be able to eat almost whatever I like, but never get fat.

My ex used to hate it, because she was the sort who couldn't walk
past a cake shop without gaining a pound (her words, not mine).
« Last Edit: Oct 31st, 2021 at 1:46pm by Kat »  

Reply #14 - Oct 31st, 2021 at 2:05pm

I once saw a doco once that said that our body's ability to store fat is determined by our parents and grandparents circumstances. If they ever had long periods where they went hungry, our cells 'remember' that and then adapt so as to more easily store fat in preparation for our next period of starvation.

If our parents and grandparents did not go through periods of hunger, our cells take longer to store fat. Apparently this 'memory' is only retained for one or two generations.

Personally I'd like to know how they ever prove that one way or the other. If it's true then I guess the next couple of generations will be skinny