Pages: 1 ... 13 14 15 16 17 ... 19
A wealth Tax Should Be Introduced In Australia (Read 11247 times)

Re: A wealth Tax Should Be Introduced In Australia
Reply #210 - Feb 2nd, 2022 at 9:32am

thegreatdivide wrote on Jan 21st, 2022 at 3:39pm:
freediver wrote on Jan 21st, 2022 at 3:30pm:
You missed the point completely.

Which is?

Gittins correctly pointed out inflation is related to resources availability which must not be exceeded,  not a money supply problem, or "turning taps on or off" in dysfunctional market economies. 

Only high school students bother with Gittins.

Are you in Yr 11 or Yr 12?

Reply #211 - Feb 2nd, 2022 at 9:34am

freediver wrote on Jan 31st, 2022 at 6:23pm:
thegreatdivide wrote on Jan 31st, 2022 at 3:00pm:
freediver wrote on Jan 31st, 2022 at 10:35am:
What else should be free? Housing?

I already said the basics ... which are good food, clean housing,  clothing, utilities (inc. public transport), education, and last but not least, guaranteed participation in the economy,  according to ability. 

Now, if you want  extra fancy private housing (or whatever), you will have to earn enough money to pay for it...  

All from the government printing money I presume?

Yes, because there are vastly  more resources than required to implement  these basics for everyone.

But note (and this is probably what is confusing you) : everyone is still required to work, contribute and earn a wage ie, "there is indeed "no free lunch"   for individuals....who have to earn money and repay their debts, unlike the sovereign currency-issuing government which can always purchase whatever is for sale in the nation's currency regardless of government 'debt' (which is a  misnomer). 

So what sort of standard is the free housing going to be?

Have you ever met an actual economist who claims all these things can be funded by the government printing money without causing inflation?

everyone is still required to work

What does that mean? And what happens if they do not work hard enough?

Don't worry Freediver .... school holidays will soon be over. You're clearly chatting with someone whose never earned a day's wage and is still living at home rent free at Mum and Dad's lol.

Reply #212 - Feb 2nd, 2022 at 9:37am

thegreatdivide wrote on Jan 31st, 2022 at 10:21am:
freediver wrote on Jan 30th, 2022 at 6:50pm:
So, food should also be free?

From the point of view of the currency-issuing  government, yes.

😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂

Of course all food should be free! It's because the only food you've ever eaten has been for free ... compliments of mum and/or dad. That's YOUR normal 😂🤣😆

Reply #213 - Feb 2nd, 2022 at 9:50am

thegreatdivide wrote on Jan 28th, 2022 at 2:11pm:
Lisa Jones wrote on Jan 28th, 2022 at 9:00am:
Dear God! This 2 word reply clearly shows you have absolutely no idea WTF you're talking about.

See... you are merely proving you are not following the debate; in this case with Valkie, who had to be shamed into defending his stuff  (unsuccessfully, as always).   

So if you don't have time to read the debate, at least refrain from making ill-informed comments like yours above.

Look I have to ask? Are you on school holidays by any chance?

You remind me of my own kids....back when they were in Yr 7 and had trouble blowing their nose.

On holidays... and loving  demolishing the conservative ideology in all its delusional forms.....

Oh so I was correct. You ARE indeed a school kid on holidays.

Thanks for that volunteered admission.

Come back after your frontal lobe has fully formed. Hopefully you'll post something worth reading and replying to.

So far all you've produced is insane babble of the highest order.

It's embarrassing watching you think that you're demolishing conservative ideology by posting a few paraphrased/plagiarised/bastardised excerpts from high school text books and from authors I myself studied. When I was 17/18.

I must say I do look forward to seeing you after you turn 25. By then your frontal lobe will be fully developed and you'll hopefully know what you're talking about.

Oh and I'm pretty sure by then you won't be posting about the Govt just printing more money and everyone having free food and free housing either <---- these are the discussions I had with my own kids. Back when they were aged 5!
« Last Edit: Feb 2nd, 2022 at 10:00am by Lisa Jones »  

Reply #214 - Feb 2nd, 2022 at 10:01am

Free food is a terrible idea.

In our local supermarket i see these two HUGE women, mother and daughter.

Both are in oversized mobility scooters, both on the disability pension and both too huge to function as a normal human.

Their trolleys are stuffed full of every manner of crap, and fruit is unknown to them.
You see them trundling around tge shopping centre munching on maccas, or KFC or any other greasy or sugary stuff they c9an get their hands on.

They complain long and loud about tge "pittance" they get from the disability pension saying its barely enough to love on.

Imagine if they had access to even more free food?

In countries where, if you didnt work you didnt eat, you dont see this happen.
Instead of free food, how about you get food if you work?

Reply #215 - Feb 2nd, 2022 at 10:21am

Valkie wrote on Feb 2nd, 2022 at 10:01am:
Free food is a terrible idea.

In our local supermarket i see these two HUGE women, mother and daughter.

Both are in oversized mobility scooters, both on the disability pension and both too huge to function as a normal human.

Their trolleys are stuffed full of every manner of crap, and fruit is unknown to them.
You see them trundling around tge shopping centre munching on maccas, or KFC or any other greasy or sugary stuff they c9an get their hands on.

They complain long and loud about tge "pittance" they get from the disability pension saying its barely enough to love on.

Imagine if they had access to even more free food?

In countries where, if you didnt work you didnt eat, you dont see this happen.
Instead of free food, how about you get food if you work?

On the disability pension, are they? That must be hard.

Perhaps they dont have a partner bringing in a second income, Matty.

You?

thegreatdivide

Australian Politics<br
/>

Reply #216 - Feb 2nd, 2022 at 4:45pm

freediver wrote on Feb 1st, 2022 at 3:32pm:
Can you quote him?

Bill's blog  explains how a modern floating-exchange-rate fiat-currency economy works, including how a Job  Guarantee acts as a price anchor (implying the eradication of poverty in resource- adequate countries).

How much of a million word (or more) exposition of MMT do you want me to quote?

So if you say I am lazy, disinterested and incapable of doing anything other than menial tasks at a snail's pace and to a very low standard, what happens then?

Everyone is capable of contributing, eg,  cleaning the gutters of an elderly pensioner's home. The important thing is to complete the job so that both pensioner and JG worker are happy with the outcome. 

No, I mean what happens if you do not work hard enough? Are you having difficulty understanding the question?

No; my billionaire quip was just to alert you to your false concept  of 'earned value', limited as it is to price determination in free markets; the JG worker in the above example has contributed much more than the billionaire who doubled his wealth while asleep, and as such was a parasite on the community resources. 

And indeed contributed more to community amenity, eg by assisting clean water collection in rain-water tanks, while the billionaire achieved ...nothing for the community.      

And the CEO of Cocacola - and other junk producers -  should be sacked for selling the present epidemics of diabetes  and obesity and associated ill-health ravaging the community, and the factory turned over to 'useful'  production. 

See how warped your concept of 'value' is? The junk- production in all forms should be closed immediately, along with all the junk advertising; the savings in transport costs  and  sales costs of all this junk is vast,  releasing $trillions in resources to create a  healthier, wealthier community.

Can you give an example? I'll give you an easy task: a council worker assigned to pick up rubbish.

Assigned to a given locality, of course; almost any public area these days is in need of rubbish collectors,  and the council who organizes the JG job can easily inform the JG worker of the council's expectations. 

And if a person is too lazy and unmotivated to complete set task in the time allotted and to the standard required?

Too lazy and unmotivated to engage an above-poverty job with all the benefits that flow from a job? (psychological, material, social etc)

After all:  "the best form of welfare is a job"... where have I heard that before...? 
« Last Edit: Feb 2nd, 2022 at 4:58pm by thegreatdivide »  

Reply #217 - Feb 2nd, 2022 at 4:55pm

Everyone is capable of contributing, eg,  cleaning the gutters of an elderly pensioner's home. The important thing is to complete the job so that both pensioner and JG worker are happy with the outcome.

Do you have any experience at all in managing other workers? This sounds like a recipe for taking 3 days to do a 2 hour job.

No, my billionaire quip was just to alert you to your false concept  of earned value

It's got nothing to do with earned value. It is to point out the "from each according to their ability" is the false concept. In both capitalism and socialism you get from each according to their level of motivation, and socialism destroys motivation.

the JG worker in the above example has contributed much more than the billionaire who doubled his wealth while asleep.

What if he provided the systems, funds, etc for 3 million gutters to be cleaned? Resources that he acquired over several decades working 5 times as hard as the gutter cleaner in your example?

Assigned to a given locality, of course; almost any public area these days is in need of rubbish collectors,  and the council who organizes the JG job can relate to the worker the community's expectations.

And what happens if he only works half as hard as is required to meet those expectations? And how would you even know if they are being met?

Too lazy and unmotivated to engage an above-poverty job with ll the befits that flow from a job?

Answer the question for once. You know what it means. What happens if a person is too lazy and unmotivated to complete set task in the time allotted and to the standard required?

thegreatdivide

Australian Politics<br
/>

Reply #218 - Feb 2nd, 2022 at 5:16pm

freediver wrote on Feb 2nd, 2022 at 4:55pm:
Do you have any experience at all in managing other workers? This sounds like a recipe for taking 3 days to do a 2 hour job.

The council  will set the parameters and expectations.

It's got nothing to do with earned value. It is to point out the "from each according to their ability" is the false concept.

Wrong, as I have illustrated above. Let's see where you go with this...

In both capitalism and socialism you get from each according to their level of motivation, and socialism destroys motivation.

BS. I already pointed out there is  plenty of greedy,  profit-seeking junk production in capitalism, and much denial of useful skills from others not so motivated to merely chase
excessive money accumulation (the root of all evil).

What if he provided the systems, funds, etc for 3 million gutters to be cleaned? Resources that he acquired over several decades working 5 times as hard as the gutter cleaner in your example?

He didn't "provide the funds", he made profits from sales; and yet the private sector didn't employ everyone at above poverty level. He was handsomely rewarded monetarily (if successful).. but comparing how hard he worked to a conscientious cleaner is a fools errand (at best). 

And what happens if he only works half as hard as is required to meet those expectations? And how would you even know if they are being met?

Er.... inspect the locality,  say on a weekly basis?

Answer the question for once. You know what it means. What happens if a person is too lazy and unmotivated to complete set task in the time allotted and to the standard required?

The person too lazy to complete the task faces the sanction of below-poverty level welfare. Get it?

Reply #219 - Feb 2nd, 2022 at 5:45pm

Ridiculious, excuses from a dole bludger.

Im retired, but i do more tgan most dole bludgers.
I mow the old peoples lawns if they cant
I help out when tgey need help, fixing things or making them safe until a professional can do it.
I volinteer in a rescue organisation two or three days a week.
I get the local aged to appointments if tgey have any issues or if after hours.

Most dole bludgers woukdnt get off tgeir arses to do even one of those things.
In the volinteer organisation, we have perhaps 3 or 4 dole bludgers, who only turn up to get their WFTD passed.
There is as many openings as you can imagine, but they just cant be bothered.

We have quite a large "abbo" representation on the central coast.
And yet, not one has joined the volinteer organisation I volinteer for.
But they did recently try to claim the land on which our base is located.

The dole should be paid "per hour of work".
It would save us taxpayers a fortune.

Reply #220 - Feb 2nd, 2022 at 6:01pm

The council  will set the parameters and expectations.

How will they do that, without any guidance, when the only guidance you can provide is that the job is guaranteed and no-one is expected to perform above their "ability"?

BS. I already pointed out there is  plenty of greedy,  profit-seeking junk production in capitalism, and much denial of useful skills from others not so motivated to merely chase
excessive money accumulation (the root of all evil).

You are missing the point. I am not making any value judgements about what they produce. I am talking about how hard they work. It doesn't matter whether it is harvesting sugar cane for coca cola or cleaning out an old ladies gutters, a worker's productivity depends on their level of motivation. Socialism, and everything you rebrand it as, like a job guarantee, destroys that motivation.

He didn't "provide the funds", he made profits from sales; and yet the private sector didn't employ everyone at above poverty level. He was handsomely rewarded monetarily (if successful).. but comparing how hard he worked to a conscientious cleaner is a fools errand (at best).

Ignoring it is foolish. People who make a lot of money tend to work far harder than the average person. When you say they make it in their sleep, you only demonstrate your inability to understand the concept of delayed reward.

The person too lazy to complete the task faces the sanction of below-poverty level welfare. Get it?

Sure. Not sure why it was so hard for you to give a straight answer. Oh wait...

This sounds exactly like capitalism, except worse because the basic welfare is going to be lower to begin with. You have just discarded the fundamental principle of socialism - too each according to their need.

So basically, when you say there are guaranteed job, the only thing that is guaranteed is that people will be made to work, but not the salary.

How do you come up with a system to ensure that everyone across all sectors of the economy is punished equally and fairly if they are too lazy to do their job?

Reply #221 - Feb 2nd, 2022 at 8:28pm

Valkie wrote on Feb 2nd, 2022 at 5:45pm:
Ridiculious, excuses from a dole bludger.

Im retired, but i do more tgan most dole bludgers.
I mow the old peoples lawns if they cant
I help out when tgey need help, fixing things or making them safe until a professional can do it.
I volinteer in a rescue organisation two or three days a week.
I get the local aged to appointments if tgey have any issues or if after hours.

Most dole bludgers woukdnt get off tgeir arses to do even one of those things.
In the volinteer organisation, we have perhaps 3 or 4 dole bludgers, who only turn up to get their WFTD passed.
There is as many openings as you can imagine, but they just cant be bothered.

We have quite a large "abbo" representation on the central coast.
And yet, not one has joined the volinteer organisation I volinteer for.
But they did recently try to claim the land on which our base is located.

The dole should be paid "per hour of work".
It would save us taxpayers a fortune.

You be careful, Matty. Centrelink can fine you for that sort of thing. You're not supposed to be able to work for more than 12 hours a week, dear.

Don't let anyone see you opening jars for the little Mrs, okay?

Reply #222 - Feb 3rd, 2022 at 8:55am

freediver wrote on Feb 2nd, 2022 at 6:01pm:
This sounds exactly like capitalism, except worse because the basic welfare is going to be lower to begin with. You have just discarded the fundamental principle of socialism - too each according to their need.

So basically, when you say there are guaranteed job, the only thing that is guaranteed is that people will be made to work, but not the salary.

How do you come up with a system to ensure that everyone across all sectors of the economy is punished equally and fairly if they are too lazy to do their job?

That's easy - you CHANGE human nature, you create Soviet Man, collective-conscious, high-minded Soviet man.

Just leave it to the engineers of human souls in the communist party.

thegreatdivide

Australian Politics<br
/>

Reply #223 - Feb 3rd, 2022 at 9:52am

freediver wrote on Feb 2nd, 2022 at 6:01pm:
How will they do that, without any guidance, when the only guidance you can provide is that the job is guaranteed and no-one is expected to perform above their "ability"?

The local council inspector (see below).

You are missing the point. I am not making any value judgements about what they produce.

Good, you are almost there.

I am talking about how hard they work. It doesn't matter whether it is harvesting sugar cane for coca cola or cleaning out an old ladies gutters, a worker's productivity depends on their level of motivation.

Yes, and motivation is supplied by an above poverty wage (the carrot) cf below poverty wejfare (the stick) which faces all of us in the job market.  "How hard they work" is a matter of agreement between the council and the worker.

Socialism, and everything you rebrand it as, like a job guarantee, destroys that motivation.

And yet people are forced onto the dole in our current evil money-based system (instead of a people-based system).

"From each according to his ability"....with a JG to ensure everyone can particpate..... check.

"To each according to need"....this bit needs closer examination; after the individual is given the opportunity to participate (as stated above) to earn the basics required for normal social engagement in the community, anything more than that is up to the individual, in the competitve private sector or regular public service. Note that in these latter cases, individuals must compete with their different abilities, whereas the JG enables an indivual to particpate without competing with anyone else, but merely against himself (by offering his best performance, as agreed by the council offering the JG job)

Ignoring it is foolish. People who make a lot of money tend to work far harder than the average person.

Addressed above; reducing people to the status of mere competitiors for money, with below-poverty welfare as the 'safety net'.. is an evil money-centric system. 

When you say they make it in their sleep, you only demonstrate your inability to understand the concept of delayed reward.

BS. YOU completely misunderstood Oxfam's report on the effects of government pandemic-related intervention on asset prices.

No, the "basic welfare" (below poverty, as at present) would be either sought, or apply to very few people.

The JG wage is fixed, is the price anchor in the economy, and acts as the minimumlegal wage.

You talking about "equally and fairly" regarding access to a living wage is the ultimate irony.
« Last Edit: Feb 3rd, 2022 at 9:57am by thegreatdivide »  

Reply #224 - Feb 3rd, 2022 at 6:45pm

You have just discarded the fundamental principle of socialism - too each according to their need.

And you have an absurdly naive view of how to get from each person according to their ability.

Pages: 1 ... 13 14 15 16 17 ... 19