Pages: 1 2 3 ... 11
Supermarket self checkouts (Read 5069 times)

Supermarket self checkouts
Mar 9th, 2022 at 1:43pm

Here's my review of 3 supermarkets and their self checkout systems.

Woolies
There are 3 prompts you have to clear before you can even start scanning, do you have a bag, do you have a loyalty card, are you paying by card.
Once scanning the system is reasonable, but a little glitchy and slow. I think there' an extra annoying prompt at the end that slows you down.

Coles
There are no prompts to begin with and you can just start scanning unless the person before you walked away without pressing yes or no to print a receipt. Once scanning it's about the same as Woolies in speed, has the occasional glitch and the occasional hangup when it doesn't know you put something in the bagging area. It has the loyalty card prompt at the end and also asks if you want to print a receipt as I mentioned earlier.

Coles also has a self scanner with a conveyor belt, they're newer machines and are really fast and easy to use.

Aldi
Not many Aldi shops have self scanners, but the times I've used them they are really fast. No prompts to get going at the beginning or end so that's good. The system is really fast, probably because they're newer and they have less inventory to deal with.
One annoying thing is, after you scan something, the time it gives you to put the item in the bagging area is really short and you get an voice prompt, 'please put your item in the bagging area'. I go fast enough so it doesn't happen often but I can hear a constant repetition of it from the machines around me which is bloody annoying.

From worst to best.

Woolies
Coles normal machine
Aldi
Coles with the conveyor belt

Hope this helps.

Re: Supermarket self checkouts
Reply #1 - Mar 9th, 2022 at 1:51pm

Thankyou for your diligence in taking away low paying jobs from ppl

Reply #2 - Mar 9th, 2022 at 2:09pm

Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Mar 9th, 2022 at 1:51pm:

Hope you don't put petrol in your car yourself Wink

Reply #3 - Mar 9th, 2022 at 2:14pm

Gordon wrote on Mar 9th, 2022 at 2:09pm:
Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Mar 9th, 2022 at 1:51pm:

Hope you don't put petrol in your car yourself Wink

When it comes to petrol, there's no choice (not that I'm aware of).

Supermarkets offer a choice (most of the time, in Australia), and I always choose the human.

Reply #4 - Mar 9th, 2022 at 2:38pm

I HAVE ALWAYS REFUSED to use a supermarket self check out service.

Dear God! I'm a customer. The friendly and capable staff can scan and pack my goods for me. I appreciate it (and I'm sure they appreciate their weekly wages too)!

Have you noticed how many are students trying to study and earn their keep? Others are mums who work part time during school hrs so as to keep up with the cost of living.

I fully support such important front line workers of our community.

And our Federal Govt (who collects their income tax) would probably agree with me!

Reply #5 - Mar 9th, 2022 at 2:41pm

Lisa Jones wrote on Mar 9th, 2022 at 2:38pm:

Dear God! I'm a customer. The friendly and capable staff can scan and pack my goods for me. I appreciate it (and I'm sure they appreciate their weekly wages too)!

Have you noticed how many are students trying to study and earn their keep? Others are mums who work part time during school hrs so as to keep up with the cost of living.

I fully support such important front line workers of our community.

And our Federal Govt (who collects their income tax) would probably agree with me!

Finally, a real housewife expert opinion on cheap shopping.

Reply #6 - Mar 9th, 2022 at 2:52pm

Resistance is futile, better to focus on reskilling than trying to support jobs that won't be there. I use an old school checkout when I have lots of stuff or need to do a few urgent texts.

My kid is at school career advice stage at the moment, and the future impacts of AI are being taught and factored in for many sectors, law being a standout.

Reply #7 - Mar 9th, 2022 at 4:32pm

So, if you had 5 items, you would not just pop over to the self-serve checkouts and use them. That is, instead of standing in line behind two customers who each have $100 (2 minutes worth of scanning) groceries?

I mean, if they had water fountains at grocery stores, I would not be spending $3 for a 600mL bottle of water from a vending machine (or $2.10 from the fridge at Woolies). But, I have no intention on waiting 5 minutes behind other people if I have a few items that could be scanned by me at the self-serve. Wait times are shorter when there are more checkouts available. That is the purpose of self-serve.

Reply #8 - Mar 9th, 2022 at 5:07pm

People who interact with 'machines' more than people - develop Autism (they just sit and stare at imaginary 'screens').

Reply #9 - Mar 9th, 2022 at 6:05pm

UnSubRocky wrote on Mar 9th, 2022 at 4:32pm:

So, if you had 5 items, you would not just pop over to the self-serve checkouts and use them. That is, instead of standing in line behind two customers who each have $100 (2 minutes worth of scanning) groceries?

No.  I wouldn't. 

I never use the self-serve if humans are available.

At Target in the CBD, I have no choice.

In London, I have no choice.

But here in Perth, we (mostly) still have a choice, and as long as that choice exists I'll take the human over the machine every time.

Reply #10 - Mar 9th, 2022 at 7:50pm

My local supermarket has self-checkouts but those only take electronic payments but I prefer to pay cash so never use them. My local Walmart has self-checkout machines that DO take cash and there are ZERO prompts to get started - one simply starts scanning - so I use those a lot. However, should I try to buy a bottle of wine, well, then the trouble starts ...

Reply #11 - Mar 9th, 2022 at 8:06pm

One of the biggest complaints when 'MASTERS" started trying to compete with Bunnings was that all their checkouts were self serve. After about 6 months they allowed their 'customer service' desk to check out customers. They never recovered. It only took them a couple of years to go bust.

Any business who wants to force all their customers on self serve should take note. Customers want service. I'll start using self serve when I get offered a discount. Whilst I'm paying for service, I expect to get it.

Reply #12 - Mar 9th, 2022 at 8:17pm

John Smith wrote on Mar 9th, 2022 at 8:06pm:
One of the biggest complaints when 'MASTERS" started trying to compete with Bunnings was that all their checkouts were self serve. After about 6 months they allowed their 'customer service' desk to check out customers. They never recovered. It only took them a couple of years to go bust.

Any business who wants to force all their customers on self serve should take note. Customers want service. I'll start using self serve when I get offered a discount. Whilst I'm paying for service, I expect to get it.

Bad locations, bad store layout, products people didn't want to buy from a hardware store, bad restock and purchasing systems etc etc etc. Nothing about self checkout.

Every time I go to a Bunnings these days they have just 2 people checkouts and that usually includes the service desk.

https://www.thecourier.com.au/story/4571244/self-inflicted-wound-how-masters-hom...

https://www.smh.com.au/business/companies/what-went-wrong-at-woolworths-masters-...

Reply #13 - Mar 9th, 2022 at 8:19pm

One of the funniest complaints about Masters, tradies hated it because its decor was supposed to be more female friendly   Grin

Reply #14 - Mar 9th, 2022 at 8:19pm

Gordon wrote on Mar 9th, 2022 at 8:17pm:
Bad locations, bad store layout, products people didn't want to buy from a hardware store, bad restock and purchasing systems etc etc etc. Nothing about self checkout.

yeah, thats why they changed their policy after 6 months  Cheesy Cheesy

Pages: 1 2 3 ... 11