FutureTheLeftWant

Re: Alice Springs
Reply #46 - Jul 17th, 2022 at 9:32am

Boris wrote on Jul 17th, 2022 at 9:27am:
The murder rate in the NT is twice that of the USA

Perhaps.  The question is why? Your answer will be incorrect

It's not half, it's less than that, but it is higher. It's less than half the murder rate of chicago, if we want to compare rates in disadvantaged areas

Grappler Deep State Feller

Reply #47 - Jul 17th, 2022 at 6:25pm

FutureTheLeftWant wrote on Jul 17th, 2022 at 9:32am:
Boris wrote on Jul 17th, 2022 at 9:27am:
The murder rate in the NT is twice that of the USA

Perhaps.  The question is why? Your answer will be incorrect

It's not half, it's less than that, but it is higher. It's less than half the murder rate of chicago, if we want to compare rates in disadvantaged areas

Well - that makes it all acceptable then....... phew ....

Reply #48 - Jul 17th, 2022 at 7:00pm

I heard the other day the locals and cops are saying if you are driving through the Alice and hit a Boong don't stop just drive to the nearest police station and report it or you might get bashed, rolled and your car stolen because blm.

Reply #49 - Jul 17th, 2022 at 10:38pm

Johnnie wrote on Jul 17th, 2022 at 7:00pm:
I heard the other day the locals and cops are saying if you are driving through the Alice and hit a Boong don't stop just drive to the nearest police station and report it or you might get bashed, rolled and your car stolen because blm.

Like the old days in Redfun - they'd walk across the pedestrian crossing at the station to stop the traffic, then grab handbags and such from passenger seats.  Later graduated to car-jacking.  Sounds like they walk into a car there and pretend to be hit and then steal it etc. I was flagged down by a bloke at about 4am once, who thought my security van was a police vehicle South African style (big boong-bars etc) - he'd been mugged and I took him to The Joke - Redfun police station.  South African tourist.... you'd think he knew the ropes..... walking Redfun at 4 am....

Reply #50 - Jul 17th, 2022 at 11:05pm

Captain Nemo wrote on Jul 16th, 2022 at 1:09pm:
John Smith wrote on Jul 14th, 2022 at 1:41pm:
Gnads wrote on Jul 14th, 2022 at 1:31pm:
John Smith wrote on Jul 14th, 2022 at 1:16pm:
Boris wrote on Jul 14th, 2022 at 1:14pm:

gee., we have a bright spark here folks.

googles 'Alice Springs crime' and then is amazed that the google search is all related to crime in Alice Springs Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy 

Well that's what he's talking about - Alice Springs

you plank.

You can google any big towns crime and get pages of crime in that town. He's going to need something a bit more substantive than just a google search for crime if he's trying to make a point

Boris is correct to note that Alice Springs is a crime hotspot.

The figures do not lie.

To add to the problem:

‘Rivers of grog’ to flow in NT

‘Rivers of grog’ will flow in remote NT communities from Sunday for the first time in 15 years following a controversial policy shift.

https://i.imgur.com/E295fsU.jpg

It is going to get worse.

Boris, you live in the NT?

What do you reckon about this move?

I saw this on news and I wondered what it meant… I didn’t even know there was a grog ban in place  ….
If it’s so bad the crime… is that unbanning going to improve anything there?

I’ve never been to Alice Springs and have wanted to go see Uluṟu… but now I’m not so sure? If there’s warnings in place?
Oh well such is life… I’ve done a gun safety course and applying for licence soon….I looked in hunting shop and Im going to buy bow and arrows… I’ve done target practice… I don’t miss!

Reply #51 - Jul 17th, 2022 at 11:18pm

Sophia wrote on Jul 17th, 2022 at 11:05pm:
I saw this on news and I wondered what it meant… I didn’t even know there was a grog ban in place  ….

I’ve never been to Alice Springs and have wanted to go see Uluṟu… but now I’m not so sure? If there’s warnings in place?
Oh well such is life… I’ve done a gun safety course and applying for licence soon….I looked in hunting shop and Im going to buy bow and arrows… I’ve done target practice… I don’t miss!

Reply #52 - Jul 17th, 2022 at 11:33pm

Grappler Deep State Feller wrote on Jul 17th, 2022 at 11:18pm:

https://c.tenor.com/vDnVbNdoCisAAAAC/bow-arrows.gif

PMSL  Grin… you come up with the quaintest gifs …

Reply #53 - Jul 18th, 2022 at 12:25am

Sophia wrote on Jul 17th, 2022 at 11:33pm:

PMSL  Grin… you come up with the quaintest gifs …

Rapid fire and not a miss in it.....

Reply #54 - Jul 18th, 2022 at 12:26am

As Boris didn't provide a link to his statistics, I had to check myself...

https://pfes.nt.gov.au/police/community-safety/nt-crime-statistics/alice-springs

I'm guessing the terrible crime stats are influenced by the high percentage
of Aboriginal residents—17.6% of the population at the 2016 Census. In
comparison to Redfern in NSW at 2.1% of the population, East Perth in WA
at 0.7% of the population, the Alice Springs percentage is majorly higher.

Redfern and East Perth are acknowledged as Aboriginal enclaves.

Aboriginal people are massively over-represented in the criminal justice system
of Australia. They represent only 3% of the total population, yet more than 29%
of Australia's prison population are Aboriginal.

And the correlation between Aboriginal populations and crime rates are clear.
In December 2019 the rate was 2,536 prisoners per 100,000 adult Aboriginal
population, compared to 218 prisoners per 100,000 non-Aboriginal population.

Aboriginal prison rates-Creative Spirits, 6 April 2022.

Reply #55 - Jul 18th, 2022 at 1:05am

Mate... this is so ferkin funny.  I'm still laughing.    

Grin   Grin   Grin

Boris

Reply #56 - Jul 18th, 2022 at 9:37am

People went to the footy - AFL in the Alice and their cars were smashed

https://www.facebook.com/111304870409274/photos/a.111719010367860/60443588109616...

FutureTheLeftWant

Reply #57 - Jul 18th, 2022 at 9:38am

Boris wrote on Jul 18th, 2022 at 9:37am:
People went to the footy - AFL in the Alice and their cars were smashed

https://www.facebook.com/111304870409274/photos/a.111719010367860/60443588109616...

Wow, a single car window was broken.  that NEVER happens in the city!!!

Boris

Reply #58 - Jul 18th, 2022 at 9:52am

Plural

FutureTheLeftWant

Reply #59 - Jul 18th, 2022 at 9:57am

Boris wrote on Jul 18th, 2022 at 9:52am:
Plural

TWO WINDOWS? WOW!!!

Look., if you work for the police, you will see lots of murder and rape.  If you work for family services, you'll see lots of broken families.  Any experience you had was through that sort of filter, and not the definition of how the majority live