Road users... (Read 1433 times)

Road users...
Aug 19th, 2022 at 7:54pm

Still chortling - had a Speedy Gonzales race up behind me in the 100 zone on the way home from town tonight... tail gating, swinging left and right and desperate to get past...  zoom zoom... took a chance on a head-on to get by me on a straight, then went into the next 60 zone at over 75 ....

Sadly the cop in the unmarked car was sitting there waiting for just that kind of fool.... hit his red and blue lights, I braked and pulled over so he could get on the road from the other side, then he howled off... shortly later there was Gonzales pulled over... I slowed to the required 40 kpm for an emergency vehicle etc - the cop gave a friendly wave.

Wonder if that guy was over the limit as well?

Still laughing - I hate hoons and tail-gaters.... my terr-uh-tree with the lights and such looks like a cop car.... seen it before with a cop giving a wave.  BTW - loving my new suspension with the top grade springs now.... bewdiful on the corners and ride... still running at 8.2l/100 town and bush - that's 36mpg for a big car with all the mod cons. Not bad.

Re: Road users...
Reply #1 - Aug 19th, 2022 at 8:12pm

Why didn't you pull your military gun out and just shoot him Grapps?

Reply #2 - Aug 20th, 2022 at 4:01pm

Jasin wrote on Aug 19th, 2022 at 8:12pm:

It's not done in civilised society..... though the concept of arming Boomers and old folk for self-protection is not too far out... had a case here where some dork abused a really old guy parking his car as only a genuine oldie can do - four or five shots at it - and to his credit, a rather large young local lad went to the dork and flattened him. The cops charged the dork - no difference anyway - such a long sheet he just got out in no time anyway... beyond curing...

Reply #3 - Aug 20th, 2022 at 6:34pm

Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Aug 19th, 2022 at 7:54pm:
Still chortling - had a Speedy Gonzales race up behind me in the 100 zone on the way home from town tonight... tail gating, swinging left and right and desperate to get past...  zoom zoom... took a chance on a head-on to get by me on a straight, then went into the next 60 zone at over 75 ....

had a similar experience on my way from Musswellbrook to tamworth once. Dickhead in a ute, complete with a set off bulls horns bolted to his bonnet, was riding right up my arse at 110km/hr. I couldn't even see his front bumper bar he was that close. It was dusk and I was worried about roo's jumping out on the road in front of me.

Normally I would have slammed on my brakes but I had the kids in the backseat and the wife in the passenger seat so it wasn't an option. Dickhead sat there for over 10 minutes. Eventually he overtook and then few kilometers down the road i went over a crest to see flashing blue lights and the dickhead in the ute pulled over. Cheesy

Reply #4 - Aug 20th, 2022 at 7:17pm

Just slow down when that happens. Gentle enough so they do not rear end you. They will fall back a bit. When they do, accelerate. When they start to catch up again, turn your headlights on and accelerate at the same time. They will think you are breaking and break hard, and fall a long way back. Next time they come up behind, ease of the accelerator a bit just as they approach, so again they have to break hard, then floor it just as they break so again you create a big gap between you. Keep alternating between the two and they will get sick of tailgating very quickly.

Reply #5 - Aug 20th, 2022 at 7:28pm

Good chance of being rearended that way.

Reply #6 - Aug 20th, 2022 at 7:37pm

What a wingnut!

Reply #7 - Aug 20th, 2022 at 7:54pm

John Smith wrote on Aug 20th, 2022 at 6:34pm:
Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Aug 19th, 2022 at 7:54pm:

had a similar experience on my way from Musswellbrook to tamworth once. Dickhead in a ute, complete with a set off bulls horns bolted to his bonnet, was riding right up my arse at 110km/hr. I couldn't even see his front bumper bar he was that close. It was dusk and I was worried about roo's jumping out on the road in front of me.

Normally I would have slammed on my brakes but I had the kids in the backseat and the wife in the passenger seat so it wasn't an option. Dickhead sat there for over 10 minutes. Eventually he overtook and then few kilometers down the road i went over a crest to see flashing blue lights and the dickhead in the ute pulled over. Cheesy

You'd slam on your breaks doing 110kph with a car right on you? Are you functionally retarded? (rhetorical question)  Getting nudged from behind at that speed could easily cause you to loose control and drive into oncoming traffic.

Reply #8 - Aug 20th, 2022 at 7:57pm

Let them pass, get their rego and call nearest police station. Tell them the driver is driving erratically and seems intoxicated.

Reply #9 - Aug 20th, 2022 at 7:57pm

Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Aug 20th, 2022 at 4:01pm:
Jasin wrote on Aug 19th, 2022 at 8:12pm:

It's not done in civilised society..... though the concept of arming Boomers and old folk for self-protection is not too far out... had a case here where some dork abused a really old guy parking his car as only a genuine oldie can do - four or five shots at it - and to his credit, a rather large young local lad went to the dork and flattened him. The cops charged the dork - no difference anyway - such a long sheet he just got out in no time anyway... beyond curing...

Sorry, I forgot. Only when a time and place is 'officially' made as 'WAR' are military allowed to shoot civilians (classed as 'enemy civilians')

Reply #10 - Aug 20th, 2022 at 8:07pm

Then there are the opposite kind of drivers. On a highway outside metro areas they will do 10, 15kph under the speed limit. Then you see a passing lane starting and think you can overtake the slowcoach—BUT the deadshits then speed up to the road limit so you cannot legally pass them.

I have copped this a couple of times driving back to Adelaide from Melbourne and all I can think of is the hundreds of kilometers I still have to drive before I can get home.

Reply #11 - Aug 20th, 2022 at 8:12pm

Had some dickheads in a car tailgating my mate and I between Rockhampton and Mackay. They gave us a bump from behind for no reason and laughing and giving us the bird, we could see (me driving: rear vision mirror). So me mate pulled out his shotgun and as he leaned out the window with it to take a shot at the grill. The tossers slammed on their brakes in fear and nearly rolled it. No shot needed.  Grin

Reply #12 - Aug 20th, 2022 at 8:18pm

Jasin wrote on Aug 20th, 2022 at 8:12pm:
Had some dickheads in a car tailgating my mate and I between Rockhampton and Mackay. They gave us a bump from behind for no reason and laughing and giving us the bird, we could see (me driving: rear vision mirror). So me mate pulled out his shotgun and as he leaned out the window with it to take a shot at the grill. The tossers slammed on their brakes in fear and nearly rolled it. No shot needed.  Grin

I have GAU-8 Avenger 30-mm (as used in an A-10 Warthog) fitted rear facing in my car, so when a ute with air hornes on the bonnet is tailgating me doing 110kph, instead of slamming on the brakes John Smith style, I unload 65x30 rounds per second into them.

Reply #13 - Aug 20th, 2022 at 8:23pm

Cool! Cool

Many times I've always kept a Shaving Gel canister in my driver's door. Whenever I get some idiot trying to 'ave a go'.
I just reach out my window with the canister and let it go.
Many think I'm pulling out my pistol as I take a quick look behind to aim. They brake and back off. Others who don't react get a windscreen covered in gel lather regardless of their wiper's efforts.  Grin
F*uck em! Tongue

Reply #14 - Aug 20th, 2022 at 8:31pm

Jasin wrote on Aug 20th, 2022 at 8:23pm:
Cool! Cool

Many times I've always kept a Shaving Gel canister in my driver's door. Whenever I get some idiot trying to 'ave a go'.
I just reach out my window with the canister and let it go.
Many think I'm pulling out my pistol as I take a quick look behind to aim. They brake and back off. Others who don't react get a windscreen covered in gel lather regardless of their wiper's efforts.  Grin
F*uck em! Tongue

John Smith probably has a bucket of meatballs on the driver's seat for his snack, and when a car starts tailgating him at 110kph he reaches into the bucket and gets ready to chuck one but just can't bring himself to wasting it so shoves it in his gob.