Poll closed Poll
Question: Will the referendum be voted in?
*** This poll has now closed ***

No    
  42 (75.0%)
Yes    
  14 (25.0%)

Total votes: 56
« Last Modified by: Redmond Neck on: Feb 25th, 2023 at 11:17am »

Pages: 1 ... 58 59 60 61 62 ... 298
The Aboriginal Voice referendum (Read 91529 times)

Re: The Aboriginal Voice referendum
Reply #885 - Feb 23rd, 2023 at 8:44pm

Frank wrote on Feb 23rd, 2023 at 8:33pm:
Pedro Curevo wrote on Feb 23rd, 2023 at 8:08pm:
And to add....Aboriginals have ownership of vast tracks of land but often have no say when miners want their hands on the valuable resources they may contain, which is the the fundamental basics of the No campaign.

The idea that a Voice is discriminates against non-indigenous folk, and still no evidence on how this is so, is a furphy, it's a look over here distraction to hide the real reason, to deny Aboriginal people real ownership..

There is no communal Aboriginal ownership of any land. Individual ownership is not an Aboriginal concept.
Land rights and ownership are separate things.

Aborigines are citizens like everyone else. For them to have a say over laws affecting everyone is racist. Most aborigines have more Anglo Celtic blood in them than the millions of Asian and European immigrants over the past 70 years who have absolutely nothing to do with whatever the Aborigines are pissed off about.

In a way this is the diversity ideology's collapse under the weight of it's own incoherence. It makes no sense for a 1/8th Aborigine to have special political power over a second generation European or Asian immigrant. Or a first generation one, for that matter.

It is a deeply sinister, contradictory, incoherent proposal.

Agreed.

They have the right to vote, just like the rest of us.
If the person they voted for fkkks them politically, then they're just like the rest of us.

Reply #886 - Feb 23rd, 2023 at 9:11pm

Captain Caveman wrote on Feb 23rd, 2023 at 8:44pm:
Frank wrote on Feb 23rd, 2023 at 8:33pm:
And to add....Aboriginals have ownership of vast tracks of land but often have no say when miners want their hands on the valuable resources they may contain, which is the the fundamental basics of the No campaign.

The idea that a Voice is discriminates against non-indigenous folk, and still no evidence on how this is so, is a furphy, it's a look over here distraction to hide the real reason, to deny Aboriginal people real ownership..

There is no communal Aboriginal ownership of any land. Individual ownership is not an Aboriginal concept.
Land rights and ownership are separate things.

Aborigines are citizens like everyone else. For them to have a say over laws affecting everyone is racist. Most aborigines have more Anglo Celtic blood in them than the millions of Asian and European immigrants over the past 70 years who have absolutely nothing to do with whatever the Aborigines are pissed off about.

In a way this is the diversity ideology's collapse under the weight of it's own incoherence. It makes no sense for a 1/8th Aborigine to have special political power over a second generation European or Asian immigrant. Or a first generation one, for that matter.

It is a deeply sinister, contradictory, incoherent proposal.

Agreed.

They have the right to vote, just like the rest of us.
If the person they voted for fkkks them politically, then they're just like the rest of us.

They have the right to vote like everyone else PLUS innumerable special considerations already.

Burney and Langton are AT LEAST as Scottish as they are Aboriginal. The Dodsons (Mick and Pat, FFS!!!) are all half Irish.

Jacinta Price has the backbone to be truthful, unlike these spokethingies. She is an Aboriginal  Celtic woman.

All those other bozos like Lividia are actively HIDING their obvious non-Aboriginal ancestry. But they want to be heard as Aborigines. Megan Davis is "aboriginal and south Pacific islander". Megan and Davis are common Aboriginal and Pacific islander names, as everyone knows.

Truth telling. Careful what you wish for.

Reply #887 - Feb 23rd, 2023 at 9:45pm

"The Greens senator Lidia Thorpe has vowed not to support the Indigenous voice to parliament unless she is “satisfied that First Nations sovereignty is not ceded”."

Her problem - going nowhere - they all ceded when they signed their dole and student allowance papers etc saying they were Australian citizens.  They have voted as Australian citizens - there is NO argument here.

Just more nonsensical division and confrontational nonsense bound to bring the nation to civil war... which I remind you, Sleeping Beauty - Thorpe has already re-declared alongside that twat down there wanting to burn the place to the ground.

They should both be up on charges of inciting violence and insurrection and Thorpe should be dismissed forthwith from the Senate without perks.

Be careful what you wish for - someone may take you up on that declaration of war.

Is there something wrong with all of you people?  Mentally I mean?  You are incapable of grasping simple concepts.... maybe your right to vote needs to be reviewed ....  Huh  Huh  Huh

Reply #888 - Feb 23rd, 2023 at 9:48pm

Pedro Curevo wrote on Feb 23rd, 2023 at 8:14pm:
Aboriginal organisations and NGO's are not what the Voice is about, the Voice is recognition of Indigenous people having the right to advise parliament on government policies that effect their lives.

... and the lives of everyone else, and to give that body the right to stop government and cause mayhem in governance of this nation.

Are you still sleeping?  What things, what government policies, that affect Aborigines do not affect others?  ANY others will do...

I'm trying very hard to make you think... but you need to wake up first.

Reply #889 - Feb 23rd, 2023 at 9:57pm

The right to traditional practices..... thanks for coming... and that includes 80% of the Northern Territory coastline.

Nah then - make sure you remember that - up there in Northern NSW ... the Parrots Tits government wants to give them traditional rights over a vast swathe of land starting west of Mt Warning (still in dispute and always will be) and across to Tenterfield... the Border Ranges on the NSW side.

What this means - in plain English - is the right to pursue traditional practices there - it does NOT mean ownership of that land or any right to exclude others from their traditional practices - such as bushwalking, camping etc.  They SHARE it with all others, and nobody has ever, as far as I know, interfered with any 'traditional practices'.  Ask nicely and most will just give you room ... just return the favour and all is jake.

Surely that's enough for a small group who, in most cases, never go there anyway, and they should let it go at that.  You can bet they will not, spurred on by the activists and the useful fools who advocate that they 'need' such things or have a 'right' to them. 

You are among those with your empty and unthinking rhetoric about things you clearly do not understand.

Meanwhile - on the Queensland side of that Range - and following over five years of outright terrorism in the car park etc at Mt Warning - bushfires are once again raging, and the iconic O'Reilly's (you know - the bloke who tracked the crashed Stinson and lead to rescues etc) is once again under threat of fire.

Coincidence?

I reckon some of you need a pool cue up your arse to wake you up.

thegreatdivide

Australian Politics<br
/>

Reply #890 - Feb 23rd, 2023 at 10:05pm

Pedro Curevo wrote on Feb 23rd, 2023 at 7:58pm:
There is no doubt that are big social issues in remote communities, as funding often goes awry, where poverty remains the core of the problem. There was work for the dole programs happening, similar to the Green Corps that saw people employed, and was having a positive effect on reducing drunken behaviour, then the Abbott government dismantled those work programs, cheaper have people do nothing.

This is the crux of the matter. Neoliberal bean counters wanting to 'save money'.

Without self-determination there is no motivation to change and fix the social issues, issues that only the Aboriginal people can fix themselves as Governments and NGO's have proven they are unable to fix the social issues that poverty brings.

This is where it gets tricky; if the neoliberal economic system itself is dysfunctional, eg the idiot central bank is currently trying to increase unemployment to 'control inflation' -  then no amount of 'self-determination' will solve the issue.

http://www.billmitchell.org/blog/?p=60661

RBA appeal to NAIRU authority is a fraud

Give them the opportunity and they will be motivated to fix the drunken depravity and socials issues with young people, a no vote is simply deny opportunity to maintain the status quo of NGO's and the mining lobby..

Correct.
« Last Edit: Feb 23rd, 2023 at 10:13pm by thegreatdivide »  

Reply #891 - Feb 23rd, 2023 at 10:22pm

What IS special about Aborigines being, allegedly, unable to function in a civilised manner without special assistance.  How are they different to all the other drugged up, alcoholic, useless drongos?  What is special about Aboriginal drongos?

Is there a race-based drongoness, different to the ordinary fkkn useless drongoness, that needs special, race-specific drongo alleviation measures?  A special Aboriginal Voice to alleviate / eliminate Aboriginal Drongos?

Aboriginal drongos telling Parliament how to end Aboriginal drongoness.  A HISTORIC opportunity.

https://twitter.com/paigeataylor/status/1628649171606716416

« Last Edit: Feb 23rd, 2023 at 11:00pm by Frank »  

Reply #892 - Feb 23rd, 2023 at 11:05pm

Frank wrote on Feb 23rd, 2023 at 10:22pm:
What IS special about Aborigines being, allegedly, unable to function in a civilised manner without special assistance.  How are they different to all the other drugged up, alcoholic, useless drongos?  What is special about Aboriginal drongos?

Is there a race-based drongoness, different to the ordinary fkkn useless drongoness, that needs special, race-specific drongo alleviation measures?  A special Aboriginal Voice to alleviate / eliminate Aboriginal Drongos?

Aboriginal drongos telling Parliament how to end Aboriginal drongoness.  A HISTORIC opportunity.

They still have bones in their noses but want to "advise".

Here's my advice: take the bone outa the nose, shower, have a haircut, shave, get dressed and put the fag out.

Reply #893 - Feb 24th, 2023 at 8:16am

Good point, dear boy. FD should have called the board Useless Alcoholic Drongo Affairs.

Much less wacist, no?

Boris

Reply #894 - Feb 24th, 2023 at 9:21am

When will they stop raping babies?

Reply #895 - Feb 24th, 2023 at 9:55am

Boris wrote on Feb 24th, 2023 at 9:21am:

When the Voice gets up.

Reply #896 - Feb 24th, 2023 at 10:22am

Frank wrote on Feb 23rd, 2023 at 11:05pm:

They still have bones in their noses but want to "advise".

Here's my advice: take the bone outa the nose, shower, have a haircut, shave, get dressed and put the fag out.

Sound advice, dear boy. Thank you.

Here you go, Setanta. Here's one of those smart, sensible solutions a board like this can deliver. So good of FD to consider the inferior races.

Shave, haircut, a smart pair of shoes. Most importantly, take the bones out of your noses, Boongs. Most uncivilised. Dress nicely for a couple of hundred years, and Grappler will consider letting you into the club.

Reply #897 - Feb 24th, 2023 at 10:26am

Boris wrote on Feb 24th, 2023 at 9:21am:

When they're on the barbie, Boris, being cooked up for lunch.

You must have seen plenty of cooking injuries during your time in Alice Springs too, yes?

We know what the kids missing limbs and body parts have been up to, no? They don't always eat them in one go, you see. They like to do them slowly.
« Last Edit: Feb 24th, 2023 at 10:31am by Karnal »  

thegreatdivide

Australian Politics<br
/>

Reply #898 - Feb 24th, 2023 at 10:27am

you are falling into the same trap as Boris and all conservatives re poverty; 'personal responsibility' is only half the story.

The other half is society's responsibility to implement an economy which works for all. 

Boris

Reply #899 - Feb 24th, 2023 at 10:31am

thegreatdivide wrote on Feb 24th, 2023 at 10:27am:

you are falling into the same trap as Boris and all conservatives re poverty; 'personal responsibility' is only half the story.

The other half is society's responsibility to implement an economy which works for all. 

You were never there and you never saw the Horror - so you have NFI.

Go there and fix it.

Pages: 1 ... 58 59 60 61 62 ... 298