Any good one-pot dishes out there? (Read 734 times)

Any good one-pot dishes out there?
Nov 8th, 2022 at 10:51am

Could well be I will be at the house with lots of cutlery and cooking implements, one pan, one cast iron skillet and an 11L car fridge run off the AC.

Any simple dishes. . .? Low meat content for $$$ reasons.

Re: Any good one-pot dishes out there?
Reply #1 - Nov 9th, 2022 at 7:40pm

Jovial Monk wrote on Nov 8th, 2022 at 10:51am:
Could well be I will be at the house with lots of cutlery and cooking implements, one pan, one cast iron skillet and an 11L car fridge run off the AC.

I'm off to the Meat Emporium on Friday, their porthouse is so good.

LoL get a job ya bum.

Reply #2 - Nov 9th, 2022 at 7:42pm

Frittata

Reply #3 - Nov 9th, 2022 at 7:44pm

If your frying pan is a big stainless steel one with a glass lid, they can do very good 1 pan meals.

Reply #4 - Nov 9th, 2022 at 7:54pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Nov 9th, 2022 at 7:44pm:
If your frying pan is a big stainless steel one with a glass lid, they can do very good 1 pan meals.

I do exactly that, not with beef that would be sacrilege, but chicken thigh chops which turn out amazing every time.

I'm also a big fan of poached chicken breast, easiest thing to make ever.
Bring a pot of water to the boil. Add flavour, I add a clove of garlic, slice of lemon and star anise. Throw in the whole chicken breasts and keep on heat until it returns to boil,  take off stove and place lid, then do nothing for 30 mins and it's perfectly cooked every time. Serve any way you can think. I had exactly that and ate it with caramelized onion I made on Monday.

Reply #5 - Nov 9th, 2022 at 10:33pm

Gordon wrote on Nov 9th, 2022 at 7:40pm:

LoL get a job ya bum.

Unfortunately Drunk has never worked a day in his life. In fact he's proudly bludged off the tax payer and lived rent free in his mum's house for the entire 75 yrs he's lived on this planet. He does know how to save money though .... on alcohol through cheap arse bootlegging (think unleaded petrol) in order to afford his long term addiction to alcohol. And that's essentially the sad and sorry story of the tragic troll who logs on under the influence and posts utter $h1t.

Reply #6 - Nov 9th, 2022 at 10:39pm

I'm off to the Meat Emporium on Friday, ...

That's what Bobby said.

Reply #7 - Nov 10th, 2022 at 8:10am

Lisa Jones wrote on Nov 9th, 2022 at 10:33pm:

LoL get a job ya bum.

Unfortunately Drunk has never worked a day in his life. In fact he's proudly bludged off the tax payer and lived rent free in his mum's house for the entire 75 yrs he's lived on this planet. He does know how to save money though .... on alcohol through cheap arse bootlegging (think unleaded petrol) in order to afford his long term addiction to alcohol. And that's essentially the sad and sorry story of the tragic troll who logs on under the influence and posts utter $h1t.

I worked from Jan 1966 to 2010—broke my heart to shut the doors of my brew shop but the arthritis made it impossible to keep going. The trigger was one Monday—I stood by the till for 2 hours as one customer came in as another one left. At the end of that I was practically crying from the pain. Retail is standing up all the time—standing up serving customers, standing up weighing out malt extract, grains etc to make Packs or fill orders.

You are an idiot, you junky! The story of the Jovial Monk HBS is well known—did you and your catfish not crap on about my name appearing on a page of my Brew Manual on my site?

Still no new codeine, eh junky

Reply #8 - Nov 10th, 2022 at 8:15am

greggerypeccary wrote on Nov 9th, 2022 at 10:39pm:

I'm off to the Meat Emporium on Friday, ...

That's what Bobby said.

No ... it was YOU!

Reply #9 - Nov 10th, 2022 at 8:17am

Gordon wrote on Nov 9th, 2022 at 7:54pm:
Sprintcyclist wrote on Nov 9th, 2022 at 7:44pm:

I do exactly that, not with beef that would be sacrilege, but chicken thigh chops which turn out amazing every time.

I'm also a big fan of poached chicken breast, easiest thing to make ever.
Bring a pot of water to the boil. Add flavour, I add a clove of garlic, slice of lemon and star anise. Throw in the whole chicken breasts and keep on heat until it returns to boil,  take off stove and place lid, then do nothing for 30 mins and it's perfectly cooked every time. Serve any way you can think. I had exactly that and ate it with caramelized onion I made on Monday.

We use beef. It's far tastier too.

Reply #10 - Nov 10th, 2022 at 8:20am

Frittata is a good idea Sprint, thanks.

No, my skillet is cast iron, no lid.

I have found, while repackaging junk, 2 more pans—I will take these with me, crisis over  Grin

Yeah, I love steak, porterhouse is excellent. But will go very easy on spending until fully settled in. Things would be like $700,000 easier for me IF my business partner had not gone stupid. We sold this big villa in Pt Elliot here for $147,500. Few  years later, it sold for over $1,000,000. Then there were the debts run up by the partner—I spent an awful lot of Mondays in the Small Claims Court the year or so after the idiot finally left. Once the debts had been paid I took some time to recover—coasting—then developed a successful new product that made us quite a bit of money—I would have been able to do this earlier but for the mess I had to clean up.

I could see the first business would be put out of business by the state govt so started the brewshop. I sold the best packs, very high dry malt extract content, complex packs with grain to be steeped, hops added to the hour long boil etc.

American Pale Ale—lots American hops

Hop Madness “It’s madness I tell you, Hop Madness!” with a tiny 60 minute hop addition then flavor/aroma additions at 30, 15, 5 and flameout. LOTS hop flavor/aroma, very expensive and profitable Pack I sold lots of,

etc

Even after that, think red meat may be a luxury once in a while item—just because of my age. Lots of leafy greens, more white than red meat, more eggs and cheese than meat. Will keep six chooks I reckon and a laying duck or two.
« Last Edit: Nov 10th, 2022 at 8:26am by Jovial Monk »  

Reply #11 - Nov 10th, 2022 at 8:32am

LoL get a job ya bum.

As we all now know ... he's pushing 80, has never worked - just bludged AND sponged off his poor mum by living in her house all his reclusive life. For free. An immoral nobody with multiple addictions - mainly his bootlegged methylated spirit rubbish for which he's notoriously known for amongst those who do produce decent alcohol.

Given his long term chronic health abuse issues, sedentary reclusive lifestyle and of course old age ... I honestly don't think he'll be online for much longer. What a bloody relief that will be for the rest of us too!

In the meantime it's more fun and entertaining watching him make an even bigger fool of himself with every post he smears online. Most of it is self projection driven.

Edit : On Twitter I had the misfortune of posting there once and found I had stumbled across a highly visible mentally unstable nutter causing the mother of all arguments and trouble. It was beyond cringeworthy once I realised it was Monk - and yes even his marathon online rants THERE have made him a household name (in the delusional cyber junkie nut job category).

Reply #12 - Nov 10th, 2022 at 8:41am

I worked from Jan 1966 to 2010—broke my heart to shut the doors of my brew shop but the arthritis made it impossible to keep going. The trigger was one Monday—I stood by the till for 2 hours as one customer came in as another one left. At the end of that I was practically crying from the pain. Retail is standing up all the time—standing up serving customers, standing up weighing out malt extract, grains etc to make Packs or fill orders.

You are an idiot, you junky! The story of the Jovial Monk HBS is well known—did you and your catfish not crap on about my name appearing on a page of my Brew Manual on my site?

Still no new codeine, eh junky

No, you never saw my posts on Twitter you liar! Where oh where is that drug dealer eh? Or maybe you are waiting for the pension to hit your bank account so you can go to your drug dealer?
« Last Edit: Nov 10th, 2022 at 9:27am by Jovial Monk »  

Reply #13 - Nov 10th, 2022 at 9:33am

One thing I will get started soon after moving in—a sourdough starter! Make my own bread again, oh yes, and better than ever!

There is a working windmill in Oatlands, Tasmania, that grinds grain into flour. Stoneground flour like this is superior because:

1. It is a slow process unlike steel roller power mills, so the grain being ground stays cool

2. The resulting flour contains all of the grain, even better than wholemeal flour

I might even go visit the mill when it is running—it isn’t far away, NOTHING in Tassie is far away  Smiley

The bulk of the flour will be stored in my chest freezer. This slows the flour getting rancid (it contains the oil from the germ) and the cold also kills weevils and even weevil eggs after 1 month in the freezer. Weevils come with the flour/meals you bring home. Bung them in the freezer for a month then transfer to an airtight container—no pantry moths!

Reply #14 - Nov 10th, 2022 at 9:35am

Lisa Jones wrote on Nov 10th, 2022 at 8:32am:

LoL get a job ya bum.

As we all now know ... he's pushing 80, has never worked - just bludged AND sponged off his poor mum by living in her house all his reclusive life. For free. An immoral nobody with multiple addictions - mainly his bootlegged methylated spirit rubbish for which he's notoriously known for amongst those who do produce decent alcohol.

Given his long term chronic health abuse issues, sedentary reclusive lifestyle and of course old age ... I honestly don't think he'll be online for much longer. What a bloody relief that will be for the rest of us too!

In the meantime it's more fun and entertaining watching him make an even bigger fool of himself with every post he smears online. Most of it is self projection driven.

Edit : On Twitter I had the misfortune of posting there once and found I had stumbled across a highly visible mentally unstable nutter causing the mother of all arguments and trouble. It was beyond cringeworthy once I realised it was Monk - and yes even his marathon online rants THERE have made him a household name (in the delusional cyber junkie nut job category).