Pages: 1 ... 11 12 13 14 15 ... 29
Opportunity To Ditch Australia Day Public Holiday (Read 8814 times)

Re: Opportunity To Ditch Australia Day Public Holiday
Reply #180 - Dec 29th, 2022 at 9:58am

Grappler Deep State Feller wrote on Dec 21st, 2022 at 10:01am:

Your kind of idiot - the post-Boomers fed on soft soap and bullshit - are the dopiest problem this country faces at this time with all your silliness... you wouldn't even begin to understand equal treatment and reality... this song was written in the 1930's by an avowed Communist....depends on your kind of Communist, eh, as opposed to your kind of petty backyard Fascist who thinks he can just bully everyone into taking whatever you want to hand out.

You lost, boy ........... as parents of your generation we did society a terrible dis-service by making things too easy for you......

You got that right.

Reply #181 - Dec 29th, 2022 at 10:05am

philperth2010 wrote on Dec 21st, 2022 at 10:44am:
Belgarion wrote on Dec 21st, 2022 at 10:34am:
philperth2010 wrote on Dec 21st, 2022 at 9:43am:
Belgarion wrote on Dec 21st, 2022 at 9:14am:
philperth2010 wrote on Dec 21st, 2022 at 9:11am:
Belgarion wrote on Dec 21st, 2022 at 9:00am:
If people want to work on a public holiday then that's entirely up to them. No need to bring the anti-Australian politics of the woke bedwetters  into it.

Explain how wanting to change a symbolic date makes someone anti-Australian....The debate comes up every Jan 26, it won't go away because of your right wing leanings....Put forward a valid argument against changing the date instead of arguing irellivant bullshit???

How about a valid argument as to why it should be changed? But there isn't one, is there?

The main Argument is that having the date celebrate the day the first nations people were colonized and Australia was declared British land....This does not sit well with many Australian's who have no link too British ancesstory....Why not change the date so all Australian's can celebrate if they wish....Patriotism is bullshit anyway IMO???

Here are some reasons if you actually give a crap???

https://www.australianethical.com.au/blog/australia-day-why-we-need-to-change-th...

https://crescentwealth.com.au/articles/8-reasons-why-the-date-for-australia-day-...

https://www.news.com.au/national/why-australia-day-has-to-change-from-january-26...

Now explain how wanting to change a symbolic date makes someone anti-Australian???

All the references you cited boil down to one thing. A pack of recent arrivals are annoyed that Australians of Anglo-Celtic ancestry founded this nation and made it one of the best places in the world to live and so want to remove any references to their achievements. The have co-opted the professional Aboriginals who care nothing for their own disadvantaged people to help them with this.

It's symbolic mate....Some people believe the date does not represent all Australian's and they have a valid argument....I don't give a toss and only care about the public holiday to drink some beer and play some pool with my mates....The argument won't go away because some red necks oppose it for some reason....Why do you want to celebrate the POMS bringing their convicts here???

Huh Huh Huh

His ancestors, like mine came around the 1850's, some 62 years after the 1st Fleet settled in Sydney Cove.

It has nothing to do with celebrating Red Coats & POMES/convicts.

But I would say there are many more Australians than your "some" who want to change the date that are very proud of their convict history.

Twat.

Reply #182 - Dec 29th, 2022 at 10:10am

philperth2010 wrote on Dec 21st, 2022 at 12:05pm:
Grappler Deep State Feller wrote on Dec 21st, 2022 at 11:57am:
philperth2010 wrote on Dec 21st, 2022 at 11:47am:
Grappler Deep State Feller wrote on Dec 21st, 2022 at 11:40am:
OOPS!!!

"Western Australia Day or simply WA Day (formerly known as Foundation Day) is a public holiday in Western Australia (WA), celebrated on the first Monday in June each year to commemorate the founding of the Swan River Colony in 1829. Because of the date of Western Australia Day, WA does not have the King's Official Birthday public holiday in June, as do the other Australian states; it is held in September or October instead. "

"In 1832, Stirling decided that an annual celebration was needed to unite the colony's inhabitants, including both settlers and Aboriginal Australians and "masters and servants". He decided that the commemoration would be held on 1 June each year (or if a Sunday, on the following Monday), the date originally planned by Stirling for Parmelia's arrival in recognition of the first and greatest British naval victory over the French in 1794, the "Glorious First of June"."

Let's bring it on home, boys..... see how they like it when the shells are landing in their backyards .... bloody Pom invasion over there..... cancel the lot!!

Who cares....Go back to Mother England if the place means so much too you....Most Australian's don't give a crap about the old country accept when we flog them in the Ashes???

Smiley Smiley Smiley

I'm Indigenous - families have been here since the 1850's as free settlers and only a minority have been English.... I'm staying right here in MY country, thanks.... the one I am content to leave as it is and never to surrender to whining groups of losers and malcontents.

Not ready to cancel all those State days yet?  Didn't think so - like that Papadopoulos sheila - no way will they want to stop Greece Day or whatever it is - even if in pharken Victoria every year.... wanna put a bet on that one?  Will they cancel Greek day down there or any other?  Or is it only Australia Day they have a problem with? Doesn't represent them?  Well, Greek day or Ramadan or National Samoan Day or whatever don't represent us, either, and we're happy to see them enjoy it.... and they are minorities in an established country so they can eat it and offer to us the same respect and courtesy.

You lose... time and again..... you have no case.... change your name to Brittany...

I don't give a crap about symbolism you silly old wanker....You are the one who puts so much weight in symbolic crap....I will will call you Crappler from now on....You represent an Australia that no longer exists Crappler....The White Australia policy is dead and burries as you will be soon....In Australia everyone is allowed to argue their point even if you don't like it....You are a dickhead mate!!!

Smiley Smiley Smiley

Nah ... you're the dickhead... an unoriginal dickhead to boot. What you've written there is proof positive.

Reply #183 - Dec 29th, 2022 at 10:13am

philperth2010 wrote on Dec 21st, 2022 at 12:37pm:
Frank wrote on Dec 21st, 2022 at 12:20pm:
philperth2010 wrote on Dec 21st, 2022 at 11:22am:
As the date represents the decleration that Australia is now a colony of Mother England, don't you accept that our first Australian's and immigrants from other countries do not feel the date is appropriate....The date is symbolic and means nothing too me!!!

Smiley Smiley Smiley

It is insecure, resentful and mindless wankers who always look to problematise every aspect of life, history, customs, landmarks, red letter days, everything. 

"Oh, it's symbolic!", they say idiotically, as if WANTING TO MOVE IT wasn't just as symbolic, or even more so.  What does MOVING Australia Day symbolise for you, resentful old duffer?  What does your resentment symbolise?   

I don't care if the date is moved but I can accept the argument made by those who feel the date does not represent them....If history customs and landmarks matter then why should Aboriginal people celebrate English settlement....Out of respect for their ancestors they have a right to object to the date they were invaded....Symbolism matters or you would not object to the date being moved Fwank....Olay!!!

Well accept it & STFU ..... others ... & more than some others do not.

Grappler Deep State Feller

Reply #184 - Dec 29th, 2022 at 10:59am

I don't give a crap about symbolism ...
You're the one crying about the symbolism of Australia Day ...
You are the one who puts so much weight in symbolic crap......
You are the one who puts so much weight in symbolic crap like changing the day - the Abos tried to push Whitey out and killed women and children - they lost and are the minority
  The White Australia policy is dead and burries
nothing to do with Australia Day - everything to do with your stupidity
as you will be soon 
so will you once you go too far with this insanity of yours
....In Australia everyone is allowed to argue their point even if you don't like it
so why are you the one trying to shout everyone down you abusive fickwit?

When has anyone not allowed you to shout and abuse your opinions? You do it every day... but clearly you are paranoid and most likely brain-damaged from FAS or something, so you screech at any opposing view every time....

Pretty clear who is the idiot here, son.

thegreatdivide

Australian Politics<br
/>

Reply #185 - Dec 29th, 2022 at 1:06pm

Gnads wrote on Dec 29th, 2022 at 10:05am:
But I would say there are many more Australians than your "some" who want to change the date that are very proud of their convict history.

Why on earth do we need to be "proud" of our history?

Could be that we have some awfully dark secrets to hide from ourselves.....

Convict or otherwise.

Certainly blacks have adopted the same impetus, with the endless appeal to being proud such and such peoples.

Boris

Reply #186 - Dec 29th, 2022 at 1:15pm

Reply #187 - Dec 29th, 2022 at 1:24pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Dec 21st, 2022 at 1:32pm:
Boris wrote on Dec 21st, 2022 at 1:25pm:
OK curious. They do of course ...

Ah.

Selectively editing again to try and make your point Peccar?

Reply #188 - Dec 29th, 2022 at 1:26pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Dec 21st, 2022 at 1:34pm:
Grappler Deep State Feller wrote on Dec 21st, 2022 at 1:29pm:
Well - Abos kill and rape children and one another at a hugely higher rate than All Others... (note that careful choice of words).. out of one woman a week =52 a year roughly - around 48 are most likely to be Indigenous women... their kids are in care at a massively higher rate.. they occupy prisons at a huge rate.... their hospital and emergency care for injuries from violence are massively higher ......great figures for 3% of the population.

Ah, I see.  You're not happy with their figures.

You seem to be fine with non-indigenous figures though.  Never seen you complain about those.

So you've never seen him complain about the increasing criminal activities of peoples across the board?

I'd say after the years you have been here you'd be handling any truth carelessly.

Then again you're not a man of your word are you?

Reply #189 - Dec 29th, 2022 at 1:35pm

thegreatdivide wrote on Dec 21st, 2022 at 4:52pm:
Grappler Deep State Feller wrote on Dec 21st, 2022 at 4:31pm:
thegreatdivide wrote on Dec 21st, 2022 at 3:25pm:
Grappler Deep State Feller wrote on Dec 21st, 2022 at 2:11pm:
Yes - Ridiculous..... that's the word.... the issue under discussion here is ABOS and their activities.... not anyone else's ... and if you can't handle the official figures take it up with the relevant authorities, children.

Most of us can't  'handle' (ie, we are horrified by) the official figures re black crime and incarceration, that's why a strong majority (c.80%) of Australians DO want to close the gap, whereas apparently the desire to change  (or maintain)  the Oz day date (on 26th Jan)  doesn't command the same clear majority.

Facts and figures don't give a damn what your paint job is....

True, but note the above facts and figures; what is your paint job?

It is, however, a CLEAR majority - and frankly - WGAF about the views of the uninformed and ring-ins and self-interesteds and there is NO reason to change it at all... try reading down a bit to keep up.

Are the highlighted among the overwhelming majority who want to close the gap?

While I agree  there is no real reason to change the date, the reasons for the hurt feelings of those who want to change the date need to be examined and addressed.

What would an Indian, a Paki, an Afghan, a Chinese, a MEaster etc - all recently arrived and with zero idea of our (thunder approaching)....CULTURE, know about Australia Day and what it actually means?  Jesus - even some of those dopey Greek etc sheilas (the motor's racing but the gearbox is broken) who've been here a generation or so are on the hate trail for Australia... while enjoying the sweet life from it.....

Hmm.... a fair point, the new arrivals are likely less committed to the historical significance of Oz day, and more likely to be attracted to a change the date campaign, out of sympathy for the plight of blacks in Oz. 

Maybe we need to give provisional citizenship dependent upon learning the ropes for ten years before they are allowed to vote on anything and limit election and appointment to public office to - say - third generation people ONLY .... sounds like the only way to keep the uninformed and culturally illiterate from following some ridiculous idea pushed by a tiny minority of people out of their tiny minds... if they despise the country so much that they want to change its national day - why are they here?

Addressed above. So does one need to learn about the history of a nation, warts and all, before one can receive citizenship....

Clearly if we went to their country and wanted to change their national day they'd have a very short and sharp answer..

Indeed.

Yes ... it's why they have a citizenship test.

Also if you are going to migrate to another country wouldn't you research it before you upped roots lock, stock and barrel and moved there?

Would one of the main reasons they don't is because they know 1 thing .... and that is the country has a generous social welfare safety net?

I'm sure I wouldn't move to a foreign country without extensive research.

Remember it's expected of migrants to other countries as it should be here ... "when in Rome" or pack up & piss off.

Reply #190 - Dec 29th, 2022 at 1:48pm

thegreatdivide wrote on Dec 29th, 2022 at 1:06pm:

Convict or otherwise.

Certainly blacks have adopted the same impetus, with the endless appeal to being proud such and such peoples.

Their convict history I was referring to ... I didn't say all of their or our history.

So you have nothing in your ancestral line to be proud of or at least look at in some positive light?

Is it all full of shame/guilt for you? Roll Eyes

Try non- Aboriginal people saying I'm a proud Anglo - Saxon man/woman - a proud strong Celtic man/woman, a proud German/Franco-Prussian etc etc.

you'd be howled down as a white extremists by the loony lefty dickhead brigade some of which frequent here.

thegreatdivide

Australian Politics<br
/>

Reply #191 - Dec 29th, 2022 at 1:59pm

Gnads wrote on Dec 28th, 2022 at 10:51am:
Men work in  child & aged care as well as women .... they are paid the same as there female counter parts...

I already conceded to Graps on the 'gender pay gap' issue, but the fact is 90% of workers in child and age  care are women. 

being a low paid job has nothing to do with women being paid less then men i.e. gender pay gap ....

but it does relate to low value being placed on traditional female roles. 

it's just that they require a pay rise across the board.  Roll Eyes

bingo.

It's an hypocrisy to call it a "gender" pay gap anyway .... in light of the fact that gender is classed as a social construct.

Traditional roles are partly 'social construct', partly based on the different capacities of men and women; problems are arising as women want greater freedom from traditional roles.   

It should be - if it actually existed - a female pay gap.

Addressed above; changing attitudes to traditional gender-based roles. 

200 yrs of dispossession & discrimination? Perrlease .... there's not a Black or white Aboriginal alive today that is suffering either.

Wrong: black aboriginals still have double the unemployment rates of non blacks, with all the associated individual, social, and family dysfunction. 

In the last 70 years there has been hundreds of billions spent on Aboriginal specific programs of housing, health & education & in the last 2 decades vast swathes of land have been handed back control to Aboriginal groups all over the country.

Where have you been?

Too busy with your ideologue rhetoric?

Considered intervention?  Grin Grin Don't make me laugh.

I meant SUCCESSFUL 'considered intervention', not the intervention we have seen thus far which is based on a confused mish-mash of cultural ideology and systemic economic failure, eg, forcing blacks to compete in a neoliberal job market in which the least competitive are forced onto the unemployment scrap heap - including the least competitive whites, for that matter. 

There was a considered intervention policy implemented in the NT which involved banning of grog in communities & the cashless debit card.

It was whinged about as discriminatory by the very people whom it was designed to assist & the moment Labor won the Territory elections they rescinded the policy. Roll Eyes Starving/neglected kids & the rates of DV & child sexual abuse started to increase.

You should already know I agree with J. Price on this point. But 'welfare' itself is the ultimate copout, an indication of a dysfunctional system which fails to employ everyone of working age.

Jacinta Price is not "black" as soot like her mother but she is still very brown ....she doesn't look white at all. Did you ever consider she wears make up that makes her look a bit paler?

Funny you mention Price after I mentioned her above;
I agree with her on grog but not on the neoliberal free market economy which forces the least competitive onto 'welfare' aka the unemployment scrap heap.

Great for employees of the 'poverty industry' which deals with the symptoms of unemployment, not the causes.   

Emma King is a shyte load whiter than Jacinta Price & much more European featured.

You linked to  Emma King, did I miss the point? Neither Price or King are black aboriginals without ANY white cultural heritage in their backgrounds. 

You're all piss & wind ... how come you didn't mention the job guarantee & the CDEP - again? Grin

They were implied in my term successful (also implied...) considered intervention.

You might want to reconsider the relative quantum of "piss and wind" in either of us......

Reply #192 - Dec 29th, 2022 at 1:59pm

Gnads wrote on Dec 29th, 2022 at 1:48pm:
you'd be howled down as a white extremists by the loony lefty dickhead brigade some of which frequent here.

What crap. One can be proud of their heritage without being a bigot. Maybe once you learn how to do that you might not have anyone howling down at you for being proud of your heritage. Cheesy

Reply #193 - Dec 29th, 2022 at 2:10pm

thegreatdivide wrote on Dec 29th, 2022 at 1:59pm:
Gnads wrote on Dec 28th, 2022 at 10:51am:
Men work in  child & aged care as well as women .... they are paid the same as there female counter parts...

I already conceded to Graps on the 'gender pay gap' issue, but the fact is 90% of workers in child and age  care are women. 

being a low paid job has nothing to do with women being paid less then men i.e. gender pay gap ....

but it does relate to low value being placed on traditional female roles. 

it's just that they require a pay rise across the board.  Roll Eyes

bingo.

It's an hypocrisy to call it a "gender" pay gap anyway .... in light of the fact that gender is classed as a social construct.

Traditional roles are partly 'social construct', partly based on the different capacities of men and women; problems are arising as women want greater freedom from traditional roles.   

It should be - if it actually existed - a female pay gap.

Addressed above; changing attitudes to traditional gender-based roles. 

200 yrs of dispossession & discrimination? Perrlease .... there's not a Black or white Aboriginal alive today that is suffering either.

Wrong: black aboriginals still have double the unemployment rates of non blacks, with all the associated individual, social, and family dysfunction. 

In the last 70 years there has been hundreds of billions spent on Aboriginal specific programs of housing, health & education & in the last 2 decades vast swathes of land have been handed back control to Aboriginal groups all over the country.

Where have you been?

Too busy with your ideologue rhetoric?

Considered intervention?  Grin Grin Don't make me laugh.

I meant SUCCESSFUL 'considered intervention', not the intervention we have seen thus far which is based on a confused mish-mash of cultural ideology and systemic economic failure, eg, forcing blacks to compete in a neoliberal job market in which the least competitive are forced onto the unemployment scrap heap - including the least competitive whites, for that matter. 

There was a considered intervention policy implemented in the NT which involved banning of grog in communities & the cashless debit card.

It was whinged about as discriminatory by the very people whom it was designed to assist & the moment Labor won the Territory elections they rescinded the policy. Roll Eyes Starving/neglected kids & the rates of DV & child sexual abuse started to increase.

You should already know I agree with J. Price on this point. But 'welfare' itself is the ultimate copout, an indication of a dysfunctional system which fails to employ everyone of working age.

Jacinta Price is not "black" as soot like her mother but she is still very brown ....she doesn't look white at all. Did you ever consider she wears make up that makes her look a bit paler?

Funny you mention Price after I mentioned her above;
I agree with her on grog but not on the neoliberal free market economy which forces the least competitive onto 'welfare' aka the unemployment scrap heap.

Great for employees of the 'poverty industry' which deals with the symptoms of unemployment, not the causes.   

Emma King is a shyte load whiter than Jacinta Price & much more European featured.

You linked to  Emma King, did I miss the point? Neither Price or King are black aboriginals without ANY white cultural heritage in their backgrounds. 

You're all piss & wind ... how come you didn't mention the job guarantee & the CDEP - again? Grin

They were implied in my term successful (also implied...) considered intervention.

You might want to reconsider the relative quantum of "piss and wind" in either of us......

So what? ..... perhaps we need to have quotas for men in those industries ... & give them preferential selection for the positions? Roll Eyes

And there are no traditional low value jobs men do? Roll Eyes

They have that choice as does anyone else & have for a long time.... it's a non issue.

Their choice .. to live remotely - which the tax payer foots the bill for.... how they live & coexist with others in their group is also their choice. As long as it doesn't break the law.

Rubbish .... it's an equal playing field - equality for all.... aint it?

Yeah Nah ... you have much more than me.  Tongue

thegreatdivide

Australian Politics<br
/>

Reply #194 - Dec 29th, 2022 at 2:16pm

Gnads wrote on Dec 29th, 2022 at 1:48pm:
thegreatdivide wrote on Dec 29th, 2022 at 1:06pm:

Convict or otherwise.

Their convict history I was referring to ... I didn't say all of their or our history.

But obviously you feel the need to "proud" of your history, whether family or national.  Lot's of 'dumb luck' there... like Hitler's children being proud....

So you have nothing in your ancestral line to be proud of or at least look at in some positive light?

Dunno , don't care. Someone in Scotland owned a castle, according to family mythology ...but the savagery of Scottish history is something to behold....

Is it all full of shame/guilt for you? Roll Eyes

er...don't study history too closely, if you want to be "proud" of your forebears.

Try non- Aboriginal people saying I'm a proud Anglo - Saxon man/woman - a proud strong Celtic man/woman, a proud German/Franco-Prussian etc etc.

Sounds ridiculous, doesn't it.....

maybe so.

Pages: 1 ... 11 12 13 14 15 ... 29