Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 29
Opportunity To Ditch Australia Day Public Holiday (Read 8665 times)
Black Orchid

Re: Opportunity To Ditch Australia Day Public Holiday
Reply #45 - Dec 21st, 2022 at 11:14am

philperth2010 wrote on Dec 21st, 2022 at 11:08am:
Black Orchid wrote on Dec 21st, 2022 at 10:54am:
philperth2010 wrote on Dec 21st, 2022 at 8:20am:
Boris wrote on Dec 21st, 2022 at 7:52am:
It sits well with most Australians except a handful of Crackpots.

Stop speaking English if you feel that way you moron.

Bullshit Boris....Why post crap when it is so easily debunked....You have NFI do you???

* 59.8 per cent collectively support changing the date of Australia Day, compared with 31.6 per cent who do not

*59.9 per cent indicated it was likely Australia Day would be moved from 26 January in the next ten 10 years

Dickhead!!!

https://councilmagazine.com.au/survey-shows-support-for-changing-australia-day-d...

https://www.deakin.edu.au/research/research-news-and-publications/articles/60-of...

https://www.roymorgan.com/findings/nearly-two-thirds-of-australians-65-say-janua...

https://www.9news.com.au/national/australia-day-date-change-nearly-50-per-cent-o...

Apart from your first link of only Melbournians, your other links actually support the fact that the majority of Australians do not want Australia Day changed.

Like I said....I informed the debate I do not advocate any particular position....Why anyone accept those who believe the date doesn't represent them gives a toss is vauge....There Argument seems to be if you want to change the date you are un-Australian and those that believe they are not represented can go back to where they came from....It is symbolic bullshit anyway which has no significance accept pumped up patriotism and an excuse for a piss up!!!

Smiley Smiley Smiley

I haven't read the whole thread and I imagine it's just more of the same but as far as I am concerned we are ALL (or should consider ourselves to be) Australians and should celebrate accordingly (or not) so constantly advocating for the change of date and/or name is just partisan identity politics and as such should be treated as same.

Smiley Smiley Smiley

Reply #46 - Dec 21st, 2022 at 11:22am

Black Orchid wrote on Dec 21st, 2022 at 11:14am:

Bullshit Boris....Why post crap when it is so easily debunked....You have NFI do you???

* 59.8 per cent collectively support changing the date of Australia Day, compared with 31.6 per cent who do not

*59.9 per cent indicated it was likely Australia Day would be moved from 26 January in the next ten 10 years

Dickhead!!!

https://councilmagazine.com.au/survey-shows-support-for-changing-australia-day-d...

https://www.deakin.edu.au/research/research-news-and-publications/articles/60-of...

https://www.roymorgan.com/findings/nearly-two-thirds-of-australians-65-say-janua...

https://www.9news.com.au/national/australia-day-date-change-nearly-50-per-cent-o...

Apart from your first link of only Melbournians, your other links actually support the fact that the majority of Australians do not want Australia Day changed.

Like I said....I informed the debate I do not advocate any particular position....Why anyone accept those who believe the date doesn't represent them gives a toss is vauge....There Argument seems to be if you want to change the date you are un-Australian and those that believe they are not represented can go back to where they came from....It is symbolic bullshit anyway which has no significance accept pumped up patriotism and an excuse for a piss up!!!

Smiley Smiley Smiley

I haven't read the whole thread and I imagine it's just more of the same but as far as I am concerned we are ALL (or should consider ourselves to be) Australians and should celebrate accordingly (or not) so constantly advocating for the change of date and/or name is just partisan identity politics and as such should be treated as same.

Smiley Smiley Smiley

As the date represents the decleration that Australia is now a colony of Mother England, don't you accept that our first Australian's and immigrants from other countries do not feel the date is appropriate....The date is symbolic and means nothing too me!!!

Smiley Smiley Smiley

Grappler Deep State Feller

Reply #47 - Dec 21st, 2022 at 11:25am

Smiley Smiley Smiley

Very twisted non-reasoning there - so what if a few don't think Australia Day represents them?  Their loss and they can always hand back their citizenship and all benefits including refunds for past payments etc.

Why should a nation bow down to the stupid demands of a few people who simply 'feel' the national day doesn't represent them?  Tough titties.  WGAF how they feel?  THEIR problem!  Like that Papadopoulos sheila mayor of something or other down there in Occupied Victoria... doing well out of a country she chooses to sh
i
t on .. maybe she should try it on in Greece..... WOULDN'T CROSS HER MIND THERE FOR ONE SECOND, RIGHT - GREEK NATIONAL DAY IS SACRED, RIGHT??

As usual, you get everything back to front.  Is that... like .... a Western Australian thing or something?  The water or the education system or maybe the fact that it's on the wrong side of Australia?

Nobody has to argue to keep the date - and nobody has yet produced a solid argument as to why it should be changed... feelings don't count .... and it is they who have the need to justify their position, not those happy with the status quo.

Weird, son - just plain weird.  You are like Lefty - come here doing all the attacking and then try to make out you are the victim... same as some young terrorist can go to Mt Warning to smash cars of visitors and then be the victim for being arrested or prevented from the crime .... it's a sheila thing, you know... the kind of thing that has taken over Australia and turned it into a wasteland of whining ball-less losers.

Reply #48 - Dec 21st, 2022 at 11:32am

No 'ditching' of a public holiday there - just an idea ....a mind balloon - that maybe some people would rather work and take another day off.... nobody is stopping them refusing penalty rates for working on a public holiday... though you'd think AlboCorp would object to that kind of sneaky end-run by 'management'.... but then - it's not in their agenda, eh?

Stupid idea anyway.... only a few would want to do that including the very few malcontents and WGAF about them?

Yadda

A cat with a view
Reply #49 - Dec 21st, 2022 at 11:33am

"Opportunity To Ditch Australia Day Public Holiday"

Aboriginal political activism.........

It is boring, it is so, so predictable, and it is RACIST ['hate those who are not us' AND, 'rise up'].

....i.e. it is exactly the same M.O. as the U.S. BLM political activism clique - 'hate those who are not us'.

....i.e. 'We must tear down and destroy the existing society, ......only then we can build a fairer and 'equal' society in its place.'

It is a [destructive] trap !!!

'They' want revolution and mayhem, NOT equality.

modus operandi = = a way of doing something.     the way in which something works.

"....And he said unto him, If they hear not Moses and the prophets, neither will they be persuaded, though one rose from the dead."
Luke 16:31

Reply #50 - Dec 21st, 2022 at 11:40am

OOPS!!!

"Western Australia Day or simply WA Day (formerly known as Foundation Day) is a public holiday in Western Australia (WA), celebrated on the first Monday in June each year to commemorate the founding of the Swan River Colony in 1829. Because of the date of Western Australia Day, WA does not have the King's Official Birthday public holiday in June, as do the other Australian states; it is held in September or October instead. "

"In 1832, Stirling decided that an annual celebration was needed to unite the colony's inhabitants, including both settlers and Aboriginal Australians and "masters and servants". He decided that the commemoration would be held on 1 June each year (or if a Sunday, on the following Monday), the date originally planned by Stirling for Parmelia's arrival in recognition of the first and greatest British naval victory over the French in 1794, the "Glorious First of June"."

Let's bring it on home, boys..... see how they like it when the shells are landing in their backyards .... bloody Pom invasion over there..... cancel the lot!!

Reply #51 - Dec 21st, 2022 at 11:47am

Grappler Deep State Feller wrote on Dec 21st, 2022 at 11:40am:
OOPS!!!

"Western Australia Day or simply WA Day (formerly known as Foundation Day) is a public holiday in Western Australia (WA), celebrated on the first Monday in June each year to commemorate the founding of the Swan River Colony in 1829. Because of the date of Western Australia Day, WA does not have the King's Official Birthday public holiday in June, as do the other Australian states; it is held in September or October instead. "

"In 1832, Stirling decided that an annual celebration was needed to unite the colony's inhabitants, including both settlers and Aboriginal Australians and "masters and servants". He decided that the commemoration would be held on 1 June each year (or if a Sunday, on the following Monday), the date originally planned by Stirling for Parmelia's arrival in recognition of the first and greatest British naval victory over the French in 1794, the "Glorious First of June"."

Let's bring it on home, boys..... see how they like it when the shells are landing in their backyards .... bloody Pom invasion over there..... cancel the lot!!

Who cares....Go back to Mother England if the place means so much too you....Most Australian's don't give a crap about the old country accept when we flog them in the Ashes???

Smiley Smiley Smiley

Boris

Reply #52 - Dec 21st, 2022 at 11:49am

Australia has the British system.

Show me a better system

Reply #53 - Dec 21st, 2022 at 11:52am

"Proclamation Day in South Australia celebrates the establishment of government in South Australia as a British province. The proclamation was made by Captain John Hindmarsh beside The Old Gum Tree at the present-day suburb of Glenelg North on 28 December 1836."

"Queensland Day is a celebration of Queensland's birthday and its official separation from New South Wales as an independent colony on 6 June 1859."

"We celebrate the Anniversary of the Separation of Victoria and New South Wales which occurred on 1 July 1851. On that day, Victoria achieved not only its separate geographic boundaries, but also Responsible Government with the formation of the Victorian Parliament."

"In 1803, Lieutenant John Bowen, with the British Royal Navy, chose Risdon Cove on the eastern shore of the River Derwent in the south-east for the first settlement of Europeans. In 1804 Lieutenant-governor David Collins moved the settlement across the river and Hobart was founded."

"Territory Day is a holiday widely celebrated in the Northern Territory of Australia on 1 July that commemorates the territory achieving self-government in 1978."

Black Orchid

Reply #54 - Dec 21st, 2022 at 11:53am

philperth2010 wrote on Dec 21st, 2022 at 11:22am:
Black Orchid wrote on Dec 21st, 2022 at 11:14am:

Dickhead!!!

Smiley Smiley Smiley

As the date represents the decleration that Australia is now a colony of Mother England, don't you accept that our first Australian's and immigrants from other countries do not feel the date is appropriate....The date is symbolic and means nothing too me!!!

Smiley Smiley Smiley

I accept that Australia Day is a celebration for ALL Australians to give thanks for all the things we love about Australia. 

To acknowledge and celebrate the contribution that every Australian makes to our beautiful nation.  It's an acknowledgement of our history not a celebration of it nor should it be changed.

As for immigrants, didn't they come to Australia for these very reasons?

Smiley Smiley Smiley

Reply #55 - Dec 21st, 2022 at 11:57am

philperth2010 wrote on Dec 21st, 2022 at 11:47am:
OOPS!!!

Who cares....Go back to Mother England if the place means so much too you....Most Australian's don't give a crap about the old country accept when we flog them in the Ashes???

Smiley Smiley Smiley

I'm Indigenous - families have been here since the 1850's as free settlers and only a minority have been English.... I'm staying right here in MY country, thanks.... the one I am content to leave as it is and never to surrender to whining groups of losers and malcontents.

Not ready to cancel all those State days yet?  Didn't think so - like that Papadopoulos sheila - no way will they want to stop Greece Day or whatever it is - even if in pharken Victoria every year.... wanna put a bet on that one?  Will they cancel Greek day down there or any other?  Or is it only Australia Day they have a problem with? Doesn't represent them?  Well, Greek day or Ramadan or National Samoan Day or whatever don't represent us, either, and we're happy to see them enjoy it.... and they are minorities in an established country so they can eat it and offer to us the same respect and courtesy.

You lose... time and again..... you have no case.... change your name to Brittany...

Reply #56 - Dec 21st, 2022 at 12:05pm

Grappler Deep State Feller wrote on Dec 21st, 2022 at 11:57am:
philperth2010 wrote on Dec 21st, 2022 at 11:47am:
OOPS!!!

Smiley Smiley Smiley

I'm Indigenous - families have been here since the 1850's as free settlers and only a minority have been English.... I'm staying right here in MY country, thanks.... the one I am content to leave as it is and never to surrender to whining groups of losers and malcontents.

Not ready to cancel all those State days yet?  Didn't think so - like that Papadopoulos sheila - no way will they want to stop Greece Day or whatever it is - even if in pharken Victoria every year.... wanna put a bet on that one?  Will they cancel Greek day down there or any other?  Or is it only Australia Day they have a problem with? Doesn't represent them?  Well, Greek day or Ramadan or National Samoan Day or whatever don't represent us, either, and we're happy to see them enjoy it.... and they are minorities in an established country so they can eat it and offer to us the same respect and courtesy.

You lose... time and again..... you have no case.... change your name to Brittany...

I don't give a crap about symbolism you silly old wanker....You are the one who puts so much weight in symbolic crap....I will will call you Crappler from now on....You represent an Australia that no longer exists Crappler....The White Australia policy is dead and burries as you will be soon....In Australia everyone is allowed to argue their point even if you don't like it....You are a dickhead mate!!!

Smiley Smiley Smiley

Boris

Reply #57 - Dec 21st, 2022 at 12:08pm

Australia has the British system.

Show me a better system.

You live happily under the system and speak English and enjoy the freedom

But you whine like a Mule

Yadda

A cat with a view
Reply #58 - Dec 21st, 2022 at 12:13pm

Black Orchid wrote on Dec 21st, 2022 at 11:53am:

I accept that Australia Day is a celebration for ALL Australians to give thanks for all the things we love about Australia

To acknowledge and celebrate the contribution that every Australian makes to our beautiful nation.

It's an acknowledgement of our history not a celebration of it nor should it be changed.

Smiley Smiley Smiley

Black Orchid,

Good post, response.

And imo, the more people who hold such views of appreciation, of what we all possess in this nation, the better.

i.e.
THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA

....that is how our Australia political circumstance, used to be described.
....a name/description, which encouraged personal appreciation for all of the good things [like personal liberty] that we have.

IMO, we should always be grateful, for every good thing which we have 'possession' of/have experience of.

Be grateful !

Don't be like the idiot-child, who simply discards [is 'bored' with] his last gift,   .....and wants more, more, more gifts - so as to sate his wish for a constant feeling of 'excitement'.

"....And he said unto him, If they hear not Moses and the prophets, neither will they be persuaded, though one rose from the dead."
Luke 16:31

Reply #59 - Dec 21st, 2022 at 12:14pm

Black Orchid wrote on Dec 21st, 2022 at 11:53am:
I accept that Australia Day is a celebration for ALL Australians to give thanks for all the things we love about Australia. 

To acknowledge and celebrate the contribution that every Australian makes to our beautiful nation.  It's an acknowledgement of our history not a celebration of it nor should it be changed.

Smiley Smiley Smiley

Careful - to phil and the others that is clearly racist.... he likes to see racism instead of reality...

I said the exact same things and added that if the malcontents didn't like it here they could pack their bags... off he went from stage one in the discussion on his worn-out 'racism' screeching..... another fourteen year old in an adult body....

How many times must I say we are all Australians, all recognised in the Constitution, and all have the same Rights before someone stops screaming at me that I'm racist for simply stating those simple truths?

Of course the immigrants came here to find a better life - mine left Scotland, Ireland and Germany during the dark days of the mid 1800's when there were real prohibitions on the activities of the Irish, Scottish and Jews in Germany including discriminatory laws and even abject poverty and disempowerment for those of English/Welsh/Cornish extraction - you don't see our Abos or immigrants suffering under any different laws and restrictions here - though Peccary would have it they are all oppressed in Australia... so oppressed here that given their essentially patriarchal family structures in the case of many ethnics, where they are guided by parents and are obedient, they end up becoming doctors and lawyers and such instead of date pickers or rice paddy fillers fighting off their neighbours and hoping the government won't decide to genocide their group, etc.

Nobody kicks your door down at 3AM and carts you off to a show trial and a firing squad for speaking out against the government etc... nobody hangs you from a crane or throws you from a high place for being gay or whatever here ... many Greeks came here during their bloody civil war... Italians came here to get away from impoverished Italy and all its problems.... Euros came here to escape the eternal internecine wars and strife ... all were welcome and many prospered and prosper mightily.... yet some of them want to bring the place down and reduce it to a Third World sh
i
t-hole where they can climb the remaining dung heap .....

Stoopid is as stoopid does.... pack your bags then ...

Some people are so stupid.....

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 29