Pages: 1 ... 9 10 11 12 13 ... 29
• Weekly Supermarket Bill • (Read 7603 times)

Re: • Weekly Supermarket Bill •
Reply #150 - Mar 14th, 2023 at 12:00am

Grocery bill came to $229 for the fortnight.

Reply #151 - Mar 14th, 2023 at 6:30am

Soon as I finish the unpacking (about 98% done) and do some rearranging of furniture I will start on the garden, veges, herbs and some flower beds that will feature tansy prominently! plus the trees—5 cherry and 3 peach trees and HUGE raspberry bed!

Reply #152 - Mar 14th, 2023 at 6:37am

UnSubRocky wrote on Mar 14th, 2023 at 12:00am:

Did that include all fruit, veg and meat?

Re: ••• Spending To Save •••
Reply #153 - Mar 14th, 2023 at 6:40am

Lisa Jones wrote on Mar 7th, 2023 at 2:12pm:
Lisa Jones wrote on Mar 7th, 2023 at 10:35am:
Ok let’s get back to the topic.

(Hopefully Drunk, Methra and Frodo will ping off as they struggle to cope with buying anything AFTER wasting their dole hand out on their alcohol/drug addictions)

For those who may not know ... I’m essentially charting our monthly expenses so as to check out how much it costs to get a family consisting of mum n dad, 4 kids (2 older and 2 younger) as well as 2 pets (a canary and a golden retriever who are treated and respected as much loved members of our family) across the line wrt the typical stuff a family would buy at both Woolworths and Big W. I get that other families might prefer Coles and Target but I don’t. I guess my previous experiences as a professional shopper with the Woolworths brand has left me somewhat biased.

Note : I do grow a lot of vegetables and herbs and fruit and so do my neighbours. (Thanks to Covid19 lockdowns we developed a bond which has helped us relate to each other as much more than just neighbours so we share/exchange our organically grown produce. Some of us are better at producing certain veges compared to others so we exchange those types of veges. I’m the person who always has plenty of cherry tomatoes, chokos, passion fruit, red grapes, healthy grape leaves for making dolmades of course and leeks, onions, garlic and all herbs. Oh and amaranth (the fresh leaves are cooked up like spinach) oh and spinach, silver beet, potatoes and sweet potatoes too. Winter cos lettuce and beetroot are more easy to grow veges here. Essentially these veges which I’ve just listed JUST GROW with ease and I do believe it’s because of position wrt sun, the quality of the soil and the right amount of water. These are hand picked my me and the kids as they slowly ripen and we blend them into our weekly lunch/dinner menu.

Ok so with all this background info (for context of course) ...let’s jump into SPENDING AND SAVING! It’s possible to do both if you’re clever.

For me this involves :

• THINKING & PLANNING ahead ie medium to long term

• SMART SPENDING ie buying what you need and will definitely use when on sale/clearance.

• SAFELY STORING what you can wherever possible.

This was my last Woolworths shopping spend (refer post 👇)

Today I’m going to finalise my Big W spend for the month.

Remember THINKING & PLANNING?

My Plan

1. Woolworths shopping - every fortnight.
2. Big W shopping - every month.

At this point I’m only PLANNING to do my very best at maximising my after tax dollar because inflation is still rising so it’s hard to stick to a definite budget right now. Very soon though I will get a fair idea of just how much money leaves our domestic budget each month just on Woolworths and Big W UNDER current inflation/stagflation conditions.

Lisa Jones wrote on Mar 6th, 2023 at 10:00pm:
Hubby and I went shopping yesterday. Our Woolworths supermarket bill came in at approx $361 yesterday. (It was around $401 but I get a 10% discount because I hold 1 car insurance policy with Woolworths as I found I could get an awesome excess/premium deal with them).

Anyway ...that filled up 2 shopping trolleys with everything we would need for a fortnight. Groceries/fruit/veg/meat/pantry/cleaning products/bathroom products/laundry products .. everything.

* The rule we stuck by was this : anything we placed into our trolleys had to be something we definitely knew we needed and used PLUS it had to be on sale or the cheapest in its product category.

* Re meat - we stuck to the cheaper meats ie whole chooks were on sale so we grabbed a few to roast up plus some gourmet sausages plus some lamb loin chops were also on sale. So we bought up those sale items.

* Re milk and bread - we stuck to sliced bread on sale and 5 loaves are in the freezer. We buy long life milk to use up after our 3 litre full cream fresh milk has finished.

Now.... the challenge is this : Let’s see if we can stay away from Woolworths for 2 weeks. 

Just picked up my 4 wheel drive (scheduled service as per warranty requirements) : $1200

Hubby called to say his dentist’s appointment involved fillings : $550

I just paid the gas bill : $350

So all up that’s around $2500 gone in 48 hrs.

That Big W shop can wait until tomorrow.

Actually no! That’s not happening either as our fortnightly mortgage repayments come out tomorrow.  That’s another $3000 gone!

I honestly do not know how long term nasty global cyber junkie trolls like Methra, Frodo and Drunk cope with just their Centrelink handouts. I guess their respective long term drug and alcohol addictions help them cope with their well deserved misery as bona fide lonely failures.

Nope still can’t find where I said that I shop every fortnight and only spend $400. It’s just not there! It was merely an objective. To see if it can happen.

So where is my apology Manic Methra?

Up for the Meth Head!

Reply #154 - Mar 14th, 2023 at 6:52am

I have to do a Big W shop today. There’s no escaping that reality. Unfortunately I’ll have to sneak a few items in the list which I’d normally grab from Woolworths.

My objective? Stick to a budget of $100. It’s not going to happen of course esp once I click on sales items/clearance items etc. The tab will probably come in at around $200.

(For those of you who know me and are alert - you will have realised that my topic is really about trying to work out how other people on fixed incomes are coping given the current economic climate - rising interest rates and rising inflation rates).

Reply #155 - Mar 14th, 2023 at 6:53am

Reply #156 - Mar 14th, 2023 at 6:53am

Reply #157 - Mar 14th, 2023 at 7:00am

Will visit the wholesale butcher today. Not sure HM you get but he used to sell a pack of beef—various steaks, mince etc—for $60 or so. Want to see if I can get more blade/chuck steak or even beef cheeks for stews and curries for the standard price.

Have found a better recipe for hachee so need some beef soon! Meantime might make beef stock—the bought stuff is flavorless!

https://www.daringgourmet.com/hachee-dutch-beef-onion-stew/

Red cabbage, braised, is the veg to use with this. Suits me, I love it!
« Last Edit: Mar 14th, 2023 at 9:55am by Jovial Monk »  

Reply #158 - Mar 14th, 2023 at 9:54am

Woolworths, blade steak, $25.83/Kg, $51.66 for 2 kilos. Less 10%, $46.94/2Kg

https://www.woolworths.com.au/shop/search/products?searchTerm=blade%20steak

I got 2Kg blade for $39, $14.5/Kg

Woolworths, minced beef, lean, $16/Kg, $32/2Kg. Less 10% $28.8

https://www.woolworths.com.au/shop/productdetails/577862/woolworths-lean-beef-mi...

I got 2Kg lean beef mince, $20.

And the dog got a big beef bone, must have been 1/4Kg meat on it, gratis.

Bulk butcher can supply me a small pigs head or half a bigger pigs head with a little bit of notice. No other cut of pork gives a stock as thick and tasty for pea soup than a pigs head.

Supermarkets are for losers.
« Last Edit: Mar 14th, 2023 at 10:00am by Jovial Monk »  

IMG_0368.jpeg (177 KB | 8 )
IMG_0368.jpeg

Reply #159 - Mar 14th, 2023 at 10:10am

That Global cleaver cut 1.1Kg of steak into cm cubes no trouble. Not the best shape for slicing, I will order a Global chef’s knife I reckon. $100 but makes prep so easy.

Reply #160 - Mar 14th, 2023 at 4:44pm

Lisa Jones wrote on Mar 14th, 2023 at 6:37am:

The groceries all totaled $229. I was trying to find the receipt as I was unpacking the goods, last night. I think it was only the fabric softener and the two packs of citronella tea lights that were not food related. $200 for food for the fortnight.

Reply #161 - Mar 14th, 2023 at 5:29pm

UnSubRocky wrote on Mar 14th, 2023 at 4:44pm:

The groceries all totaled $229. I was trying to find the receipt as I was unpacking the goods, last night. I think it was only the fabric softener and the two packs of citronella tea lights that were not food related. $200 for food for the fortnight.

larry can do $600 for 6  Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy

Reply #162 - Mar 14th, 2023 at 6:48pm

John Smith wrote on Mar 14th, 2023 at 5:29pm:

larry can do $600 for 6  Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy

👆 Five Foot Five Frodo’s well known nick name on the streets of Kings Cross 😂🤣😆

Reply #163 - Mar 14th, 2023 at 6:49pm

So far so good. Let’s see if you need to do any top up shopping. Keep as posted.

Reply #164 - Mar 14th, 2023 at 6:50pm

Pages: 1 ... 9 10 11 12 13 ... 29