Pages: 1 ... 16 17 18 19 20 
He Applied For 472 Rental Properties (Read 7052 times)

Re: He Applied For 472 Rental Properties
Reply #255 - Mar 20th, 2023 at 4:11pm

Carl D wrote on Mar 20th, 2023 at 3:24pm:
Frank wrote on Mar 20th, 2023 at 10:42am:
Care and maintenance of social housing stock would improve as neighbourhoods would apply social pressure on recipients to take care of their dwellings.

If this "social housing stock" in the rest of Australia is anything like a lot of the ones I've seen in the suburbs of Perth then "social pressure" needs to applied to State governments to start spending some money to improve the appearance of the outsides of the properties.

Some of them look like they haven't had a single fresh drop of paint applied to the outsides (gutters, downpipes, etc.) since they were built decades ago.

Same applies to the condition of the roofs for most of them and the common area gardens for a lot of the complexes comprising several houses or units are a disgrace (these common areas are supposed to be maintained by the government departments responsible for social housing).

Form a cooperative, get organised, get some local tradies, businesses, citizens involved. Pool resources, offer your own charity work - visit the old, do their shopping, read  a book for them, sit and talk to them - form a community and be part of it and your gutters will soon me mended.
Act like you are involved and participating and not just wait and wait for someone else to take responsibility for every aspect of your own life.

Civil society. Community. Mutual assistance. Social solidarity.

Reply #256 - Mar 20th, 2023 at 4:13pm

aquascoot wrote on Mar 20th, 2023 at 4:03pm:
Carl D wrote on Mar 20th, 2023 at 3:52pm:
aquascoot wrote on Mar 20th, 2023 at 3:45pm:
wouldnt it be nice if some of the tenants took 'personal responsibility' and painted the place.

what we of the noble right call "giving something back
or "not always being a floating turd who only knows how to take"

Wouldn't it be nice if they could afford to paint the place?

But they probably wouldn't be living in social housing in the first place if they could.

You really do come up with some silly comments, don't you?

(I don't know what the rules are regarding social housing in Perth or the rest of Australia but it would probably be a pretty safe bet to assume that since we're talking about government departments here the tenants wouldn't be allowed to paint the places anyway).

of course they arent carl.

by getting contractors in to paint them and having OH and S rules and making sure the contractors have a blue card and are fully immunised and have an ABM, the organising public servant gets to "build the emopire"
he is in control of a bigger budget and more staff.

he is value adding (to his own salary that is).

he is more effectively 'farming" his "herd' of poor people.

he may move up the public service ladder because of such inefficiency.

a wage rise is possible (money which could have been spent buying the householder 20 litres of paint ) Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

Hahaha, growth hormones, fertilisers, pesticides, machinery, fencing.
Definitely NOT organic, free range.

Reply #257 - Mar 20th, 2023 at 4:20pm

Great post Frank and Aqua's response is also great in the flip side - which is also true.

A lot of these houses are also 'contaminated' by Ice and other toxic drugs. The next person that moves in has Leukemia in a few years as these Houses only get 'repainted'. When it's been proved that contaminated houses have to have their walls removed and replaced for want of just tearing the ruined piece of taxpayer grace for the so-called 'poor'.

It's true also in that no-one has the guts to 'discriminate' between the Battlers and the Bludgers. The Battlers are a short term thing, because although with faults - it's still one of the best Welfare systems in the world and it works!
But the Bludgers don't want it to work, they'll destroy it if they could like a drowning person thrashing around in panic - they'll take you down with them unless you 'discipline' by punching them out or just leaving them to drown.

The idea that there would be a more 'desperate' underclass of earning a living by nefarious means because they no longer 'deserve' Welfare? In most countries, this is indeed the case - but these countries also bring in a lot of these kinds of people who incorporate the nefarious crime way of life and don't want to be disciplined to rise above it.

Aqua is right in that many will 'exploit' such a rotten lazy nefarious underclass. Is this so bad? Yes. There are many rotten countries ruled like that and if they take 'power' over the Battlers and the Good Wealthy... well then. Roll Eyes A tree that has rotted from within will fall for all.

We must start 'discriminating'! Rewarding the Battlers with a good Welfare system that works. Punishing the Bludgers who just want to exploit.
And if those Bludgers on their drugs and alcohol get all violent like and threatening blah blah blah. Then Australia needs to get some guts and slap them back into line with hardcore discipline until they 'get it' or submit to some extent. Like I said - their threat of violence is the thrashing they make when drowning in panic. Some will change for the better with a good smacking on their bottoms. Others would rather die!
...and it's their deaths, when all has been done or could be done for them - that has to be accepted by all in this country as 'their own choice' and just the way it is. There will be a death, but a death by someone who deserved it, is better than a death by someone who didn't.

The main point is 'discrimination' - the right to tell the good from the bad and not turning a blind eye to it all just to 'appear' like you are being virtuous and goodly (wash your hands of the 'responsibility' to discern).

In a Lifeboat for 90 days at sea. We learn to make the hard choices no-one wants to make.

Why is it that there are people out there like the Lefties, Media, the Woke, etc - who do not want the responsibility of telling the good from the bad for fear of discrimination or racism cliches?
A 'Black' in Oceania will tell you a Black in N.America is a 'Wanker' Beta compared to himself and others around the world. There is no Racism about it all - at all.
If a Black wants to act like a Wanker and the size of his dick in one part of the World, but is a highly educated Academic in another - well then that's 'choice' and if you want to be a Wanker (or just a Labourer) - then just accept that is what other Races will treat you as. Calling it racism just to deny and fraudulate the cultural perception is - well, no different than a Bludger exploiting the system to ride on the back of the Battlers. That in itself is far worse than Racism.
That's right Black American - you poked the pooch and thus you bombed out compared to your more Academic Asian version who toes the line for the bigger picture, etc.

F*uck man (and women). I could write essays on this. Oh that's right I have.  Cheesy I've covered so many 'options' available about Societies, Races, Cultures, Colonisation - etc.

Really though - this country will one day get the guts to discriminate between those doing their best (and even Rich have to be Battlers for the greater good against Rich who try to corrupt this country and society and 'bludge' off it to attain their wealth) and those who are trying to ruin it.
This will eventuate into Civil War in this country because eventually there is a breaking point where people have just had enough of those who want more than they deserve.

I guarantee you that this Country will have a Civil War long before any War of Independence from Britain.  Wink
With the main reason that this country will no longer be able to 'afford' to keep supporting the Bludgers who only burn that money away or with 'destruction' cost the Taxpayers even more and more each year... until BREAK!!!
The system gets broken by them.  Tongue

Reply #258 - Mar 20th, 2023 at 4:25pm

Frank wrote on Mar 20th, 2023 at 4:11pm:
Form a cooperative, get organised, get some local tradies, businesses, citizens involved. Pool resources, offer your own charity work - visit the old, do their shopping, read  a book for them, sit and talk to them - form a community and be part of it and your gutters will soon me mended.
Act like you are involved and participating and not just wait and wait for someone else to take responsibility for every aspect of your own life.

Great ideas there, Frank.

But, again... I don't know the rules regarding social housing maintenance but I'm fairly certain the State governments (as the owners of these properties) would not allow tenants (or tradesmen asked to do the job by the tenants) to paint the outsides (and the insides too probably) of the properties or do any other external maintenance like repairing/replacing gutters, etc.

Reply #259 - Mar 20th, 2023 at 4:38pm

aquascoot wrote on Mar 20th, 2023 at 3:45pm:
wouldnt it be nice if some of the tenants took 'personal responsibility' and painted the place.

I've seen houses painted by tenants. I've had to mediate between morons like you who want tenants to pay, then cry if it goes wrong. I don't want tenants anywhere near my place with a brush. Who pays to fix it up when they get splatter all over your carpet and curtains? Who pays to strip the wall or windows back when they paint acrylic over enamel?

When I rent a car i don't service it. When I fly on a plane I don't service the plane first. I don't paint walls in houses I rent. Painting the property is the landlords responsibility and only tight arse whinging wankers wanting to play at being landlord ever ask for them to do so.
« Last Edit: Mar 20th, 2023 at 4:59pm by John Smith »  

Reply #260 - Mar 20th, 2023 at 4:40pm

(I don't know what the rules are regarding social housing in Perth or the rest of Australia but it would probably be a pretty safe bet to assume that since we're talking about government departments here the tenants wouldn't be allowed to paint the places anyway).

In NSW there were no such rules. I've been out of that game for almost 20 yrs now so that may have changed, but i doubt it.

Reply #261 - Mar 20th, 2023 at 4:45pm

Carl D wrote on Mar 20th, 2023 at 4:25pm:

Great ideas there, Frank.

But, again... I don't know the rules regarding social housing maintenance but I'm fairly certain the State governments (as the owners of these properties) would not allow tenants (or tradesmen asked to do the job by the tenants) to paint the outsides (and the insides too probably) of the properties or do any other external maintenance like repairing/replacing gutters, etc.

Well, the welfare system is totally fkked then, isn't it, if it is against the 'rules' to get together and help ourselves.  But rules can be changed. A grassroots civil organisation can contact MPs, the media, even the ABC and highlight the absurdities and achieve change.

In any case, it is not as statist as you imagine it :
The NSW Land and Housing Corporation (LAHC), through the Asset Maintenance Services contract, maintenance is undertaken by local contractors who engage directly with residents and see the job through from start to finish.

We partner with contractors to deliver this high volume of maintenance work within strict timeframes, and to meet stringent requirements. That’s why we have compliance officers in the field every day checking the work of our contractors.

We’re committed to maintaining our properties, with most of the maintenance work being undertaken by local tradespersons and local disability providers, as well as Aboriginal-owned businesses, who play an important role in the delivery of property maintenance and garden services.
https://www.dpie.nsw.gov.au/land-and-housing-corporation/maintenance#:~:text=To%...

Reply #262 - Mar 20th, 2023 at 8:00pm

Care and maintenance of social housing stock would improve as neighbourhoods would apply social pressure on recipients to take care of their dwellings.

If this "social housing stock" in the rest of Australia is anything like a lot of the ones I've seen in the suburbs of Perth then "social pressure" needs to applied to State governments to start spending some money to improve the appearance of the outsides of the properties.

Some of them look like they haven't had a single fresh drop of paint applied to the outsides (gutters, downpipes, etc.) since they were built decades ago.

Same applies to the condition of the roofs for most of them and the common area gardens for a lot of the complexes comprising several houses or units are a disgrace (these common areas are supposed to be maintained by the government departments responsible for social housing).

Frank you’re starting to sound like a socialist. You’ve just described what’s known as “community development” in left wing academic circles.

Reply #263 - Mar 20th, 2023 at 8:31pm

Has Mothra and 5-dogs Smith apologised yet?
Forget about Peccary, he's run away.

Maybe they hope by 'crawling' their way back into this Topic, we'll be 'morons' and forget? Grin

Reply #264 - Mar 20th, 2023 at 8:35pm

Jasin wrote on Mar 20th, 2023 at 8:31pm:

Maybe they hope by 'crawling' their way back into this Topic, we'll be 'morons' and forget? Grin

😂🤣😆😂🤣😆😂🤣😆😂🤣😆😂🤣😆😂🤣😆😂🤣😆😂🤣😆😂🤣😆

Reply #265 - Mar 22nd, 2023 at 7:55am

Lisa Jones wrote on Mar 20th, 2023 at 8:35pm:

😂🤣😆😂🤣😆😂🤣😆😂🤣😆😂🤣😆😂🤣😆😂🤣😆😂🤣😆😂🤣😆

And yes you were right! That’s exactly what did happen.

Reply #266 - Mar 22nd, 2023 at 8:15am

John Smith wrote on Mar 20th, 2023 at 4:40pm:

In NSW there were no such rules. I've been out of that game for almost 20 yrs now so that may have changed, but i doubt it.

As a long term Housing client in NSW you are the word on the street!

Reply #267 - Mar 22nd, 2023 at 8:16am

Lisa Jones wrote on Mar 20th, 2023 at 8:00pm:

Frank you’re starting to sound like a socialist. You’ve just described what’s known as “community development” in left wing academic circles.

The very opposite of socialism.

Burke follows Aristotle and precedes Tocqueville in identifying associations as fundamental to human flourishing. For Burke, the best life begins in the “little platoons”—family, church, and local community—that orient men toward virtues such as temperance and fortitude. It is in the local and particular that we are able to live justly. In seeing political life as best conducted within an order of particular habits and presumptions—specifically, the order of the British Constitution—Burke resisted the attempts of some of his contemporaries to study man as if he could be viewed in isolation, apart from all the trappings of society. This type of political speculation, which for Burke is most dubiously practiced by Rousseau, postulates an original “state of nature,” in which “man is born free,” but is everywhere in chains.

Burke thought on the contrary that men are born constrained by the traditions of their forbears; ill-considered reforms that stem from abstract theoretical designs are therefore dangerous. The proponents of a new age of “light and reason” who fomented the French Revolution are likely to harm us by tearing away “the decent drapery of life.” In doing so they deny the presumptive excellence of ruling gentlemen, the implicit contract among the present, past, and future, a proper place for the exceptional prudence of men such as Burke himself, and a decent appreciation of religion. The speculative and theoretical proponents of political revolution fail to see themselves and us as indebted to a larger tradition that includes the art, literature, ritual, and customs established over the course of millennia. Without these way stations, which are “necessary to cover the defects of our naked, shivering nature,” it is difficult to endow men with greater dignity—itself a central aim of the Enlightenment. Burke’s often highly rhetorical attacks on the French Revolution and other harmful political projects were in the service of these basic structures of excellence and stability.

https://thegreatthinkers.org/burke/introduction/

Reply #268 - Mar 22nd, 2023 at 8:21am

Apologise for what you lunatic?

For asking questions and refusing to accept statement of "fact" built out of absolute prejudice so as to avoid the subject matter?

For repeatedly trying to steer the conversation away from gotcha crap towards the very real problem of homelessness in our country?

Of course. Why would i expect a far right leaning forum to discuss homelessness when they can eviscerate a man they know nothing about except wht they've managed to glean from Facebook.

Reply #269 - Mar 22nd, 2023 at 11:19am

On a somewhat related note.

Today's The West Australian.

Cry me a river. If Australians can no longer get affordable housing (buying or renting) then it's tough luck for the international students as far as I'm concerned.

Mind you, seeing as international students are a 2 billion dollar plus 'industry' I'm sure the pollies will make an effort to do something about it (ordinary Australians will still have to struggle, of course).

Pages: 1 ... 16 17 18 19 20