Pages: 1 ... 10 11 12 
Socks (Read 10085 times)

Re: Socks
Reply #165 - Oct 8th, 2024 at 7:23am

Doubt it would be someone outside and that would more likely provoke growling.

Some insecurity most likely.

Shouldn’t happen tonight and if it does I will put her back in her bed and cover her with the “blankets” which should give her the security if that is what she craves.

Reply #166 - Oct 8th, 2024 at 10:42am

Btw, that photo of the dog you have as an avatar is a near match for a dog named "Ruby". "Lost forever" they said.

Reply #167 - Oct 8th, 2024 at 2:41pm

That photo is my last dog before Socks—she died like 4 years before Mum so I could not get a new puppy until after Mum died.

Demi was a Jack Russell/Maltese terrier cross. 8.5Kg of character.

Jack Russell—Demi was all terrier, all predator in the backyard, sniffing to find rats or lizards or whatever, driving the critter from cover then biting it behind its head to kill it. Three rats and one big lizard was the bag we saw.

Demi was all lapdog at night in the lounge. Even when stretched luxuriously in front of the gas fire she would never omit to come to us wanting petting etc.

On my penultimate trip to George Town the people in the holiday house across the street from me had a Maltese Terrier, a male but not obvious with all the fur. So similar to Demi tho bigger. I had a real shock seeing that dog, like Demi reincarnated.

Demi was ALL TERRIER even tho the Maltese terrier is classed in the lapdog group: she loved fetching the ball and would climb a tree if the ball landed up in the branches. The sight of a 8.5Kg dog 2m above ground on a narrow branch and looking unhappy but determined was something else! Terriers don’t back down and will move heaven and earth to achieve whatever they set their hearts on. Headstrong.
« Last Edit: Oct 8th, 2024 at 2:56pm by Jovial Monk »  

Reply #168 - Oct 8th, 2024 at 2:53pm

I have another photo of Demi. She is sitting just off the track along the Torrens River while I explored the historic Hindmarsh Cemetery (a bit further along is the West End Brewery, the end point of our walk.)

You can see her eyes are blazing “Let’s go!” but there she sits, rock solid. Adelaide’s busiest road, South Rd, is ten metres behind her. That is what obedience training does. I would not dare think about doing that with Socks at present tho she stays when I tell her—in the house or fenced dog park!

Another photo I have, somewhere, is Demi sitting with cyclists whizzing past her at speed while I take some photos of the King William Rd bridge in the City of Adelaide.

In obedience trials I knew Demi was rock solid in the stays, 1 minute sit-stay and 3 minute drop-stay. Knew that but still had to tell myself to breathe while standing 20m away from the bitch waiting for the order “return to your dogs.” (even then the suspense is still there: the dog has to remain sitting/dropped while you walk to it, turn behind the dog then move up—if the dog gets up in greeting that fails the stays—and the trial! No movement until the judge intones “exercise complete.”
« Last Edit: Dec 1st, 2024 at 7:56am by Jovial Monk »  

Reply #169 - Oct 9th, 2024 at 5:49am

Demi's doppelganger, "Ruby" died tragically 34 years ago. Having witnessed the dog die in front of me, just seeing that photo you post triggers replays of the event. That was only superseded by witnessing an even more tragic circumstance.

It is a good thing that I received army instruction training, back before I was an adult.

Reply #170 - Oct 22nd, 2024 at 6:07pm

Ah, another Maltese or Maltese cross was it?

Reply #171 - Nov 11th, 2024 at 6:05am

The dog was some kind of little dog.

Reply #172 - Nov 23rd, 2024 at 5:17pm

WHAT DO YOU THINK OF MY DOG NOW!

Only runner up Lure Coursing Hound Coursing Ability dog! Number 2 dog in the state!

Pretty good for a dog from the pound, eh?

Today, second run, the lure was pulled faster than I have ever seen it pulled before! At the end Socks needed like 10m to slow down and stop!  BIG applause for her!

So proud of the bitch!

Reply #173 - Nov 23rd, 2024 at 10:59pm

Only sight coursing hounds can really win. They course—chase or hunt—by sight not scent. Their build—long legs with a deep chest with a big heart inside—also helps keep the lure in sight and to run very fast. Few as fast as Socks tho!

Any dog with a reasonable amount of prey drive can take part in a fun run. Terriers have plenty of prey drive but not the speed of sight coursing hounds.

Not all hounds, not even all whippets have enough prey drive. Neither do most puppies. Funny to see a young dog go chase the lure then suddenly realise it has run say 50m from its owner and runs back, not liking being alone out there  Grin

But most dogs will chase the lure and have fun doing so, running and barking as loud as they want, really good to see. Herding dogs DO have a tendency to try and round up the lure but some do well.

I don’t think a chihuahua would chase the lure but one meeting somebody had a chi with them and it got loose. Took half an hour to corral it again  Grin Grin

There are health aspects—for the dogs—to take into account. Overweight or injured dogs won’t be allowed to take part. We need to stretch our mutt’s muscles: straddle the dog and turn its head to right and then left to stretch the muscles in its necks then all four legs are stretched forwards then to the back. Socks HATES all this and resists.

Then we walk to warm the dogs up just before their run and give them a shorter, slower walk to cool the dog back down. After a run the dog can drink a bit of water, later can take a bigger drink. No food in the dog’s belly—food in the belly when running fast for a few hundred metres can cause torsion bloat. No food for like half an hour after the dog’s last run.

But today, that second run by Socks—
SPECTACULAR!
« Last Edit: Nov 24th, 2024 at 7:58am by Jovial Monk »  

Reply #174 - Nov 24th, 2024 at 12:07pm

Wow that’s awesome! Good on Socks… what a champion!

Reply #175 - Nov 25th, 2024 at 7:56pm

Should see the photo of Socks I posted in my fine forum (can’t do it here—thieves around.)

Reply #176 - Nov 28th, 2024 at 1:30pm

Heh, Socks sure has changed. In 2022, on the way back from Tassie to Adelaide I stopped in Nhill for a break in driving. Walked the mutt on the big grassed median strip and both had a toilet break.

We then crossed the right hand part of the road to where there was a bakery. I tied Socks up and went into the bakery.

Well, the bitch screamed the place down while I waited to be served, pie and a drink for me, cold sausage roll for Socks. Screaming like someone possessed.

Then we come to today. Socks is relaxed on her bed. “Staying here or coming with me?” I asked. Well, seems the bitch couldn’t be stuffed getting up so I drove to the supermarket 20 minutes away. Came back, bitch was still in the same position!

Guess she is used to being left alone for extended (over 5 mins) periods. That took some work by me but I am just glad that it worked.

Reply #177 - Dec 12th, 2024 at 5:56pm

Visit to the vet today, annual checkup.

Vet LOVED Socks! Her nature, her perfect condition, the opposite of obese and her friendliness/sweet character.

One thing a bit unusual: she needed only one vaccine. I thought the vet was examining her nose but NO! He squirted the vaccine up her nose!

????
The Protech Bronchi-Shield III intra-nasal vaccine provides protection against Bordetella bronchiseptica and Parainfluenza virus (which make up the “canine cough complex”).

Vaccinations - University Veterinary Teaching Hospital Sydney

The University of Sydney

I said she does occasionally cough softly—of no concern.

Visit cost only $88. I was expecting $200.

Reply #178 - Dec 26th, 2024 at 2:49am

Ha, she did well.

Friends nearby invited me to have Christmass lunch with them. Fine by me. I made the chocolate cake with star anise and the coffee cream that goes with it. Now, they have a German Shepherd male and I was urged to bring Socks. OK.

So wondered around, soft esky with cake, cream and bottle of nice Tassie Sauvignon blanc and Socks on her lead.

Max the German Shepherd, I noticed, tried some dominance moves with Socks—his bulk helping I suppose, and putting a foreleg on Socks’ back. Also noticed this didn’t last long! Socks ended up chewing the toy he got as a chrissy present and even growled a bit at one stage—feisty bitch, eh?

The meal was fine, rather 1970s with prawn cocktail then the main but nothing wrong with it. I did explain I don’t eat pumpkin LOL.

Then we had my cake—the remainder, it was stated definitely, would be kept there! Hey, sincere compliment on my baking skills!

Reply #179 - Yesterday at 1:11pm

Had to go to a town a fair distance away to do a bit of banking business. Bought a couple things while I was there.

Went to this park where there is a stream and Socks could be let off lead. Well, ran to the stream, soon boldly running to the other bank near where some ducks were swimming. Ducks vacated hurriedly!

Took her walking, easy to encourage the bitch to run. Big enough and clear of obstacles she really ran, likely not top gear but not first gear either.

Wow, miracle of miracles:  Socks came to me twice when called and let me put the lead on. Have to be back there in 2 weeks, will definitely take her back there—she LOVES running in water, loves running.

Dunno if she was motivated by the cold sausage roll I showed but did not give her? Good positive reinforcement—I tossed the sausage roll to her as soon as she was in the car. Do that in 2 weeks too.

Took some video, not going to post it here, sorry, but Booby is a fucking thief and I have no idea what he wants with photos/videos of Socks. Something sick no doubt.

Pages: 1 ... 10 11 12