Pages: 1 ... 4 5 6 7 8 ... 79
People are still dying of Covid19 in Australia (Read 41839 times)

Re: People are still dying of Covid19 in Australia
Reply #75 - May 19th, 2023 at 2:13pm

Lisa Jones wrote on May 19th, 2023 at 11:27am:
2 people (a neighbour and a relative) both died recently because of Covid19. Both were fully vaccinated too.

Not to be disrespectful of your loss. But were the deceased elderly and/or had other health problems? People die of influenza. Most of them have some other health issues that led them to their death, whilst they had influenza.

Reply #76 - May 19th, 2023 at 3:48pm

UnSubRocky wrote on May 19th, 2023 at 2:13pm:
Lisa Jones wrote on May 19th, 2023 at 11:27am:
2 people (a neighbour and a relative) both died recently because of Covid19. Both were fully vaccinated too.

Not to be disrespectful of your loss. But were the deceased elderly and/or had other health problems? People die of influenza. Most of them have some other health issues that led them to their death, whilst they had influenza.

You’re not being disrespectful at all UnSub.

Well the neighbour was around 80. Super fit though. But yeah ... old. My aunt was in her 60’s. No health issues from what I can tell.

Hang on ..... both had arthritis. They complained about arthritis to me.

Both were fully vaccinated too.

I don’t know what to make of it.

Reply #77 - May 19th, 2023 at 3:59pm

Covid deaths reported for Australia this week.

Could possibly be 20 or 30 more if Queensland hadn't stopped reporting Covid deaths for the past 2 weeks.

https://covidlive.com.au/

Actually, Tasmania haven't reported their weekly numbers yet (they're always last for some reason?).

Edit: Tasmania numbers now added. 3 deaths and 1,252 new (reported) cases

5,674 (reported) cases higher than last week for the whole of Australia (38,754 this week, 33,080 last week).

Meanwhile, looks like it isn't just Queensland not reporting Covid deaths anymore.

https://twitter.com/SMpwrgr/status/1659421494613786624

Good news everyone, according to @healthgovau
there were no Covid deaths this week ⬇️ 😳

Genuine condolences to families of those Australians who died from Covid

I’m sorry for your loss & also for govt sweeping it under the rug instead of acknowledging it 😞

They all matter

Yes, they do.

In reality, there were 38 deaths in aged care alone in the past week.

https://twitter.com/Lyn60139787/status/1659429877387509760

More money saved on pensions and healthcare costs as far as our governments are concerned. Absolutely disgraceful.

And, the usual chirping crickets from the Prime Minister and State Premiers.

But, that's not surprising anymore... even if we had just one honest politician in this country who stood up and told the truth about Covid it would be seen as an admission that the "vaccines only then let it rip" approach that was used by our governments was (and still is) a failure.

And it's not like they didn't know that would happen... there were plenty of examples of this failure in other parts of the world where they tried the same thing before Australia followed down the same tragic path.

« Last Edit: May 19th, 2023 at 5:29pm by Carl D »  

Reply #78 - May 22nd, 2023 at 10:07am

Yes.

Congratulations to Anthony Albanese and the ALP.

One year in government as of yesterday. And what a score.

(image credit: Sue J on Twitter).

Reply #79 - May 22nd, 2023 at 10:58am

The number of deaths cited in this image appear to be suspect,
considering "only" 20K deaths since the pandemic started.  What's
the source for 12,583 deaths in the past 12 months?

The actual figures are here:

https://covid19.who.int/region/wpro/country/au

In Australia, from 3 January 2020 to 5:43PM,  17 May 2023,
there have been 11,299,954 confirmed cases of COVID-19 with
20,553 deaths, reported to WHO.

Reply #80 - May 22nd, 2023 at 11:01am

Carl D wrote on May 19th, 2023 at 3:59pm:
Covid deaths reported for Australia this week.

Could possibly be 20 or 30 more if Queensland hadn't stopped reporting Covid deaths for the past 2 weeks.

https://covidlive.com.au/

Actually, Tasmania haven't reported their weekly numbers yet (they're always last for some reason?).

Edit: Tasmania numbers now added. 3 deaths and 1,252 new (reported) cases

5,674 (reported) cases higher than last week for the whole of Australia (38,754 this week, 33,080 last week).

Meanwhile, looks like it isn't just Queensland not reporting Covid deaths anymore.

https://twitter.com/SMpwrgr/status/1659421494613786624

Good news everyone, according to @healthgovau
there were no Covid deaths this week ⬇️ 😳

Genuine condolences to families of those Australians who died from Covid

I’m sorry for your loss & also for govt sweeping it under the rug instead of acknowledging it 😞

They all matter

Yes, they do.

In reality, there were 38 deaths in aged care alone in the past week.

https://twitter.com/Lyn60139787/status/1659429877387509760

More money saved on pensions and healthcare costs as far as our governments are concerned.

Bingo!

And that's why they don't mention it anymore - it's just killing off the old people who - in their view - take from society but give nothing back.

Reply #81 - May 22nd, 2023 at 3:22pm

AusGeoff wrote on May 22nd, 2023 at 10:58am:
The number of deaths cited in this image appear to be suspect,
considering "only" 20K deaths since the pandemic started.  What's
the source for 12,583 deaths in the past 12 months?

https://i.postimg.cc/8zJBmpMB/Screenshot-2023-05-22-at-10-48-38-Fwq-Jqt-VX0-AQpp...

The actual figures are here:

https://covid19.who.int/region/wpro/country/au

In Australia, from 3 January 2020 to 5:43PM,  17 May 2023,
there have been 11,299,954 confirmed cases of COVID-19 with
20,553 deaths, reported to WHO.

Yeah, I've been trying to find some 'official' source which shows Australia's Covid deaths month by month since the start of the pandemic but our governments are (deliberately) making it more and more difficult to find this (and other) information.

Queensland has even stopped reporting deaths altogether for the past 2 weeks (even though the deaths haven't stopped).

Covid Live only shows (weekly) deaths back as far as April 7th.

https://covidlive.com.au/deaths

If it wasn't for Covid Live I'm sure I could spend all day navigating my way through Australia's Health Department websites and I probably still would not be able to find what I was looking for.

I'll keep looking but I know a few people on Twitter have been keeping monthly totals since last May's Federal election and even before that. Several people commented a month or so back that there were now more Covid deaths since Anthony Albanese became PM than there were during the two and a half years of the pandemic when Scott Morrison was PM.

Meanwhile...

https://twitter.com/BigBadDenis/status/1660468552183463936

"Canberra silenced posts on COVID"

A FOI request by Senator Alex Antic has revealed the federal government intervened at least 4213 times to restrict or censor posts about the Covid-19 pandemic on digital platforms.

Click on the images of the article to read (because it's paywalled as usual).

Hope it was only the antivaxxer and conspiracy nutters who were being censored but I have a strong suspicion it wasn't just them.
« Last Edit: May 22nd, 2023 at 4:20pm by Carl D »  

Reply #82 - May 22nd, 2023 at 4:13pm

Still looking for that needle in a haystack.

Best I've come up with so far:

https://tradingeconomics.com/australia/coronavirus-deaths

The 'default' view appears to be 3 months, click on MAX at the top left of the graph which then gives the attached image that now shows from the start of 2020 until today.

(The rise in deaths in 2022 also appears to coincide with the reopening of borders and the removal of the last remaining Covid protections like mandatory masks in places like aircraft, airports,  public transport, hospitals and healthcare settings Australia wide).
« Last Edit: May 22nd, 2023 at 5:58pm by Carl D »  

deaths_004.jpg (69 KB | 5 )
deaths_004.jpg

Reply #83 - May 22nd, 2023 at 8:20pm

Here's another one which shows pretty much the same thing.

https://twitter.com/LettersfromTim/status/1660582497514823680

Reply #84 - May 23rd, 2023 at 5:16am

yes carl

you are a FOOL to trust the authorities.

they will throw you under the bus whenever it suits them

all those premiers needed to weep crocodile tears in 2020 for each and every nursing home patient who died.

now, they are tasering you and ordering health care staff to not wear masks and come to work even if they might carry the bug.

i'm glad you have finally arrived at aquascoots position.

you have to take personal responsibility for your affairs.

no authority is there to save you.
in fact, if they think there are more votes in sacrificing you, thats exactly what they will do.

your premier is probably more concerned with the west coast eagles being thrashed by 100 points on the weekend. fans tend to vote out the incumbent when their footy team is doing poorly

Reply #85 - May 23rd, 2023 at 8:06am

aquascoot wrote on May 23rd, 2023 at 5:16am:
yes carl

you are a FOOL to trust the authorities.

they will throw you under the bus whenever it suits them

all those premiers needed to weep crocodile tears in 2020 for each and every nursing home patient who died.

now, they are tasering you and ordering health care staff to not wear masks and come to work even if they might carry the bug.

i'm glad you have finally arrived at aquascoots position.

you have to take personal responsibility for your affairs.

no authority is there to save you.
in fact, if they think there are more votes in sacrificing you, thats exactly what they will do.

your premier is probably more concerned with the west coast eagles being thrashed by 100 points on the weekend. fans tend to vote out the incumbent when their footy team is doing poorly

I was saving this one for Sir Nail but right here will do instead.

Reply #86 - May 23rd, 2023 at 8:29am

Wow... just wow.

Anne and her family have now caught COVID 14 times. Here's the latest advice

Some people in Australia have now had COVID-19 three or more times each. With cases set to rise during Australia's winter and booster rates dropping off, here's the latest advice.

Anne Fletcher and her family have come down with COVID-19 a total of 14 times between them.

“I've had it three times confirmed, my husband's had it four, I have two children who had it three times each, and a baby who's had it once confirmed,” she said.

Professor Stuart Tangye is a faculty and lab head at the Garvan Institute of Medical Research, and a conjoint professor with the Faculty of Medicine and Health at UNSW.

He said it’s hard to pin down exactly why some people seem more susceptible to COVID-19, but there are some clues.

According to Professor Tangye, people who lack B cells which produce antibodies, for example, didn't necessarily suffer from severe COVID-19, but they had prolonged infections and often experienced recurrent infection more frequently.

"Basically what that told us was, antibodies were really important," he said.

"They weren't directly necessary to give you that early protection against infection. Your T cells probably did a very good job of that. But the antibodies were really important for maintaining protection, controlling the viral infection and giving you that longer tail of protection."

Here's another clue: How about our governments do their job for once and tell people just how dangerous it is to be constantly infected with a Level 3 Biohazard virus and start reinstating protections like mandatory masks in all healthcare settings for starters?

And... again... should anyone be surprised that vaccination rates have dropped off when the messaging from our governments has been "everything's back to normal like it's 2019 again... off you all go back to work and shopping and spending"?

No wonder they're starting to 'hide' the weekly Covid deaths, starting with Queensland a couple of weeks back, and the rest of Australia will soon follow no doubt.

Our current crop of useless pollies had better hope they're long gone by the time the majority of the population finally wake up to the fact that their health (and in a lot of cases, lives) have been - and are still being - sacrificed for the economy.

Reply #87 - May 23rd, 2023 at 9:21am

Yes... exactly this.

https://twitter.com/DALupton/status/1660777182954942464

"Happy days" indeed.

And make sure you read the replies.
« Last Edit: May 23rd, 2023 at 10:39am by Carl D »  

Reply #88 - May 23rd, 2023 at 10:38am

I guess those expensive (for the Australian taxpayer) "Top Up Your Protection" ads (which are back on TV again I've noticed) are not having the desired effect?

I wonder why?

Actually, I had no idea the Covid vaccination rates were so poor until I saw this.

Where's that "personal responsibilty" I keep hearing about?  Roll Eyes

https://twitter.com/RageSheen/status/1660798941733199872

When you have a vax-only pandemic strategy, and then don't vaccinate. Anybody who performed this well in their job would be fired. Politicians just have to win an election, which they can game easily with bribes and propaganda.

The messaging failed almost completely, because it was supposed to. Politicians wanted it out of their in-trays, so encouraged everybody to think it was just like catching a cold.

Sue J
@SMpwrgr
·
39m
They’re prob savings heaps of $ by denying vaccination to anyone infected in the last 6 months 🤨

people will lurch from infection to infection and never get to their mirage-like booster

but accumulating long term health issues instead.

Yep. And that's possibly the main reason why vaccination rates have dropped so dramatically.
« Last Edit: May 23rd, 2023 at 12:18pm by Carl D »  

Reply #89 - May 23rd, 2023 at 10:48am

aquascoot wrote on May 23rd, 2023 at 5:16am:
yes carl
you are a FOOL to trust the authorities...

Can I ask you where you draw your information from detailing
the actual number of COVID deaths in Australia?  You claim that
the official government data can't be trusted, and/or is bogus.

So... you know that to be so how exactly?  What data can you
cite that unequivocally proves the governments are lying
?

Or is that just your baseless personal guess?

Pages: 1 ... 4 5 6 7 8 ... 79