Food in Tasmania (Read 601 times)

Food in Tasmania
Nov 15th, 2023 at 7:37pm

Some great seafood.

When it comes to smallgoods—ham, prosciutto, salami, bresaola etc not so good.

If coming from the mainland stock up on what you like in the way of ham, prosciutto, pancetta, salami, bocconcini etc.

Good cheese but bocconcini hard to find.

I suggest you find a good restaurant in Geelong and have an early dinner there. Once docked in Devonport do not have breakfast on the ship—just have coffee, drive off the ferry and head to Elizabeth Town Centre and the 24 hour bakery there. Breakfast there, cheaper and better than on the ferry.

I liked to arrive Saturday morning and visit the Launceston Harvest Farmers Market (71 Cimitiere St) and stock up on local goodies and maybe have a second breakfast there.

La Cuccina does a nice breakfast on Sundays.

There is a cider trail but don’t waste your time—ciders are all made from cooking apples, no NARSTY pectins to give some bitterness and mouthfeel.

You can have a tour of the Boags brewery if you can ditch the wife and kiddies.

Also a Hog’s Breath cafe in the brewery compound.

Re: Food in Tasmania
Reply #1 - Nov 17th, 2023 at 9:08pm

I would not be surprised how good the food would taste in Tassy!
Much like I recall how good it was in NZ!

One thing I learnt in my travels… not to order seafood when inland… it’s just lacking something.
And as it’s nowhere near the sea… transported frozen and goodness knows how long it’s kept.
I was in West Wyalong a few months ago and ordered barramundi… I didn’t like the taste and couldn’t eat it.

Reply #2 - Nov 17th, 2023 at 9:12pm

Somewhat overrated and used as marketing. Just like Melbourne says but we have coffee.

Sydney has coffee, and we get the best produce from wherever it's grown.
They put it on an air-ro-plane and it arrives as fresh as people in tassy get it.

Reply #3 - Nov 17th, 2023 at 9:14pm

Salamanca Market on a Saturday morning - best fruit & veges you'll find anywhere.

Reply #4 - Nov 17th, 2023 at 9:24pm

Gordon wrote on Nov 17th, 2023 at 9:12pm:
Somewhat overrated and used as marketing. Just like Melbourne says but we have coffee.

They put it on an air-ro-plane and it arrives as fresh as people in tassy get it.

I’m not surprised as high Sydney prices dictate it should be good!

But lemme tell ya ‘bout Melbourne…. great fashions and shopping!
And today I missed Black Friday Sales coz I’m in a car travelling  Roll Eyes
Oh well… I’m sure that Black Friday sales thingy will go on for another week  Grin

Reply #5 - Nov 17th, 2023 at 9:44pm

Sophia wrote on Nov 17th, 2023 at 9:24pm:

Oh well… I’m sure that Black Friday sales thingy will go on for another week  Grin

It's Friday the 17th today, not the 13th.

It's not a black Friday   Undecided

Reply #6 - Nov 18th, 2023 at 4:21am

greggerypeccary wrote on Nov 17th, 2023 at 9:44pm:

Ah yes but…. It’s Black Friday sales … just the commercialism way it is… what would you men know  Grin
They predict 6 billion dollar sales boost, especially before Xmas!
So much for curbing inflation  Roll Eyes
And I’m trying real hard to resist buying stuff! So brainwashed from it all.
I’m going through a donate or chuck it out stage. Minimising.

Reply #7 - Nov 18th, 2023 at 6:32am

Yup, start early with that.

Why not buy a dozen packing boxes and roll of bubblewrap and start packing what you want to keep, save double handling? Number the boxes and keep an inventory of each—what I learned moving twice last year  Cheesy Grin

Reply #8 - Nov 20th, 2023 at 11:53am

Hey, is there weird fish heads in your Woolies like this in Gold Coast!
Grin never seen it like this before.

Reply #9 - Nov 20th, 2023 at 4:14pm

Fish stock, enriched with a pinch of saffron!

Reply #10 - Nov 21st, 2023 at 9:23am

Sophia wrote on Nov 20th, 2023 at 11:53am:

Farmed salmon heads

for soup stock I'd say.

Reply #11 - Nov 21st, 2023 at 9:24am

greggerypeccary wrote on Nov 17th, 2023 at 9:44pm:

That's what I reckon too

commercialism turns everything traditional on it's ear to mean something else in the push for profits.

Reply #12 - Dec 5th, 2023 at 6:08pm

This is a remote part of Tassie we visited recently

IMG_0733.jpeg (244 KB | 7 )
IMG_0733.jpeg

Reply #13 - Dec 5th, 2023 at 6:53pm

Ohhh that's sooo terrible VIC.
You should be banned for that one.  Tongue
Grin Cheesy

Reply #14 - Dec 5th, 2023 at 6:55pm

Sophia wrote on Nov 20th, 2023 at 11:53am:

Popular with the Phillipino's apparently.
Personally, I think Fish Heads are full of 'toxins' from brain, etc and I wouldn't really want to have a soup made from them.

Some peoples just can't adapt to a better quality of life.