Since this is The Tavern... (Read 1592 times)

Re: Since this is The Tavern...
Reply #15 - Nov 24th, 2023 at 7:22pm

Well for starters. Having lived in both Melbourne (Mogadishu) and Sydney (Shang-hai).

I can honestly say that although Melbourne gets more people to their footy than Sydney does to its and is known as the 'Sports Capital' of Australia.
Sydney's Entertainment Venues crap on the Melbourne ones.
Hell, it even has a Opera House (looks more like a Palestinian Mosque). Sydney is definitely more of a Party than Melbourne.

I guess my favourite was the humble White Cockatoo Hotel in Petersham when I lived in Petersham.
https://www.whitecockatoohotel.com.au/

Entertainment Venue Rankings.
1. Sydney
2. Adelaide
3. Hobart
4. Darwin (Backpacker Capital of Australia)
5. Perth
6. Brisbane
7. Canberra
8. Melbourne
9. Alice Springs

Reply #16 - Nov 24th, 2023 at 7:34pm

Setanta wrote on Nov 24th, 2023 at 7:20pm:
greggerypeccary wrote on Nov 24th, 2023 at 7:17pm:
Setanta wrote on Nov 24th, 2023 at 6:32pm:
greggerypeccary wrote on Nov 24th, 2023 at 5:16pm:
SadKangaroo wrote on Nov 24th, 2023 at 2:45pm:
Without doxxing yourself, do you have a favourite tavern or pub you like to go to, either locally or when you travel?

As someone living in QLD, I miss the old-style taverns and pubs that are/were everywhere in Melbourne.

Everything around here has no soul, they just feel like a converted office space with a pokies room off to the side.

One of the great things about Perth - no pokies   Smiley

Hard to say what my favourite pub is here, but The Cottesloe Beach Hotel would come close.

I usually sit right here, watching the sun setting over the ocean on a Saturday or Sunday afternoon.

Great beer, great food, fantastic view, and no pokies.

Oh, and a bit of trivia: when Heath Ledger died they held the wake at The Cottesloe Pub and scattered his ashes in the ocean across the road.

Changed a bit since I was there last before the America's Cup. Went there quite often although the Scarborough was the best Sunday session. My wife lived at 10 Marine Parade I think before she moved in with me.

Well, that's freaky - my girlfriend back then (early '80s) lived at number 16 (?) Marine Parade with her parents.

I used to play in a few bands at the Scarborough Beach Hotel on Sundays, with my dearly departed friend John Meyer.

Great days, and great memories.

Here's John.  I miss him heaps   Cry

Saturday night at the White Sands was good too.

Yep.  Sure was.  Small, but always fun.

John used to play there on Thursday nights, from memory.

I used to get up and jam with him there, and my friends played there on Tuesday nights, I think.  They were called MI5 and then changed their name to ... damn, can't remember right now.

John lived up the road a bit, on the top of the hill of Scarborough Beach Road.

This is a clip we recorded just when I suspected he might be getting sick.

I bought a new 1963/1964 reissue Strat and I took it to John so he could give it a workout.

He was an awesome guitarist, but above all, he was such a lovely guy.

From memory, this song is called 179 Hoedown (he loved old Holdens - owned an immaculate EJ).

Reply #17 - Nov 24th, 2023 at 7:42pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Nov 24th, 2023 at 7:34pm:
Without doxxing yourself, do you have a favourite tavern or pub you like to go to, either locally or when you travel?

As someone living in QLD, I miss the old-style taverns and pubs that are/were everywhere in Melbourne.

Everything around here has no soul, they just feel like a converted office space with a pokies room off to the side.

Hard to say what my favourite pub is here, but The Cottesloe Beach Hotel would come close.

I usually sit right here, watching the sun setting over the ocean on a Saturday or Sunday afternoon.

Oh, and a bit of trivia: when Heath Ledger died they held the wake at The Cottesloe Pub and scattered his ashes in the ocean across the road.

Changed a bit since I was there last before the America's Cup. Went there quite often although the Scarborough was the best Sunday session. My wife lived at 10 Marine Parade I think before she moved in with me.

Well, that's freaky - my girlfriend back then (early '80s) lived at number 16 (?) Marine Parade with her parents.

I used to play in a few bands at the Scarborough Beach Hotel on Sundays, with my dearly departed friend John Meyer.

I used to get up and jam with him there, and my friends played there on Tuesday nights, I think.  They were called MI5 and then changed their name to ... damn, can't remember right now.

I bought a new 1963/1964 reissue Strat and I took it to John so he could give it a workout.

From memory, this song is called 179 Hoedown (he loved old Holdens - owned an immaculate EJ).

I sold an emaculate gold coloured EJ Premier out the front of my then girlfriends place on Marine Parade because of the traffic that'd see it. I used to work on Stirling HWY near the railroad crossing just around the corner from Marine Parade.

Reply #18 - Nov 24th, 2023 at 7:51pm

Setanta wrote on Nov 24th, 2023 at 7:42pm:
greggerypeccary wrote on Nov 24th, 2023 at 7:34pm:

I sold an emaculate gold coloured EJ Premier out the front of my then girlfriends place on Marine Parade because of the traffic that'd see it. I used to work on Stirling HWY near the railroad crossing just around the corner from Marine Parade.

I actually think I remember seeing that.

John's EJ was light blue, and had the white Venetian curtains in the back window.

I think it went to his step-daughter after he died (not sure).

I tried to buy it off him many times, but he'd never sell.

That song in the last video might be called 454 Stomp.

This is actually 179 Hoedown:

https://www.facebook.com/LostPerth

Reply #19 - Nov 24th, 2023 at 7:51pm

My wife's doctor used to go to WA surfing and attended these venues back then too, hit it off because he had posters of WA bands like Chain, Matt Taylor Band in his surgery. Unfortunately he lost them in the flood last year.

Reply #20 - Nov 24th, 2023 at 7:59pm

Setanta wrote on Nov 24th, 2023 at 7:51pm:
My wife's doctor used to go to WA surfing and attended these venues back then too, hit it off because he had posters of WA bands like Chain, Matt Taylor Band in his surgery. Unfortunately he lost them in the flood last year.

Ouch!   Cry

My friend John Meyer was in Chain  Smiley

Man, they were a good live band.

I used to go see Matt play all the time.

John was in Rose Tattoo too - I got to know Angry (Gary) Anderson through him.

He was actually there when we recorded that earlier video - 454 Stomp.

https://www.guitargods.com.au/guitarists/john-meyer.html

Reply #21 - Nov 24th, 2023 at 8:04pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Nov 24th, 2023 at 7:59pm:

Ouch!   Cry

Matt Taylor Band was what made Saturday nights at the Sands so good. Meh, It could have been Friday nights. It was 40 years ago.

Reply #22 - Nov 24th, 2023 at 8:12pm

Setanta wrote on Nov 24th, 2023 at 8:04pm:

Ouch!   Cry

Matt Taylor Band was what made Saturday nights at the Sands so good. Meh, It could have been Friday nights. It was 40 years ago.

Yeah, long time ago. Damn, 40 years!!!   Shocked

I remember I'd meet John at his house first for a few drinks (and a smoke), then we'd drive down to the White Sands (less than a kilometre away - probably less than 500 mtrs, actually) and he'd get up on stage and wail with Matt.

Afterwards we'd go back to Perth and spend the rest of the night/morning in the Muso's Club with Mark Lizotte (Diesel) and his band The Innocent Bystanders.

Great days, great pubs, and great bands.

Reply #23 - Nov 24th, 2023 at 8:24pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Nov 24th, 2023 at 8:12pm:

Ouch!   Cry

I remember I'd meet John at his house first for a few drinks (and a smoke), then we'd drive down to the White Sands (less than a kilometre away - probably less than 500 mtrs, actually) and he'd get up on stage and wail with Matt.

Afterwards we'd go back to Perth and spend the rest of the night/morning in the Muso's Club with Mark Lizotte (Diesel) and his band The Innocent Bystanders.

Went to Scarborough High, now gone like the Scarborough Hotel. A few years after me though.

Reply #24 - Nov 24th, 2023 at 8:36pm

Setanta wrote on Nov 24th, 2023 at 8:24pm:
greggerypeccary wrote on Nov 24th, 2023 at 8:12pm:

Ouch!   Cry

Went to Scarborough High, now gone like the Scarborough Hotel. A few years after me though.

Hard to believe Mark is 57 years old.

I haven't talked to him for 30 years, so I always remember him as being in his 20s.

To describe him as a chick-magnet back in the '80s would be an understatement.

We'd all meet up at the Muso's Club after the pubs had closed, and we'd stick close to Mark in order to get his rejects.

As soon as he walked in the door, the women would just swarm over him.

Strangely enough, he was always very shy and didn't really take advantage of his female fans.

He'd be polite and say hello, but I never actually saw him take one of them home.

I always suspected (just slightly) that he preferred the company of other gentlemen (not that there's anything wrong with that), but he has a wife (Jimmy Barnes' wife's sister, I think) so I guess he's straight. It's not important.

Oh, and I have a good story about him and a very popular female news reader   Wink

Nice guy.  Very nice guy. I always remember him as being very polite, respectful, and surprisingly shy and quiet.

Reply #25 - Nov 24th, 2023 at 8:46pm

Gnads wrote on Nov 24th, 2023 at 6:47pm:

I was down in Melb not so long ago for a work trip and went exploring near the Hotel and found this place,

https://www.thecharlesdickenstavern.com.au/

https://theblock.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/13.jpg

It was great for a nice relaxing ale or two.

I try not to travel much because I hate the time away from the family, but if I have to go, it would be good to have a list of places to check out, depending on where I am.

You know the answer to that ey? Maybe move back?

That's the sad thing about sad Dicktorians now living in QLD they are either trying to change where they've chosen to live into where they've come from or whinging about where they've chosen to live because it's not like where they've come from.

Seems your moniker is apt.

Oh & btw .... your photo .... too many people.

I just go down the street 3 blocks ... little sports club ... no pokies or meals anymore ....

but a good bar, good beer, good barmaid & a great bunch of regulars .... nearly like family.

I'll take a photo in the next few days. Club isn't open Saturdays.

You must be meaning the SE corner of Queensland? When was the last time you came to the Gold Coast? Why it’s increasing with more and more people migrating from other states here is beyond my understanding, it’s over crowded, and Surfers not so Paradise is boring and trashy and the traffic is congested …so over commercialised now… it’s nothing like it was, which was worth coming to back in the 60s and 70s.
The only part of the Gold Coast I can tolerate is the Northern Coast—-Runaway Bay/Coombabah/Holllywell/Paradise Point areas. It’s a slower pace, and better traffic conditions. It actually feels “normal”.
But weekends I avoid going anywhere…. too many people.

Reply #26 - Nov 25th, 2023 at 7:54pm

Sophia wrote on Nov 24th, 2023 at 8:46pm:

I was down in Melb not so long ago for a work trip and went exploring near the Hotel and found this place,

I try not to travel much because I hate the time away from the family, but if I have to go, it would be good to have a list of places to check out, depending on where I am.

That's the sad thing about sad Dicktorians now living in QLD they are either trying to change where they've chosen to live into where they've come from or whinging about where they've chosen to live because it's not like where they've come from.

I just go down the street 3 blocks ... little sports club ... no pokies or meals anymore ....

but a good bar, good beer, good barmaid & a great bunch of regulars .... nearly like family.

You must be meaning the SE corner of Queensland? When was the last time you came to the Gold Coast? Why it’s increasing with more and more people migrating from other states here is beyond my understanding, it’s over crowded, and Surfers not so Paradise is boring and trashy and the traffic is congested …so over commercialised now… it’s nothing like it was, which was worth coming to back in the 60s and 70s.
The only part of the Gold Coast I can tolerate is the Northern Coast—-Runaway Bay/Coombabah/Holllywell/Paradise Point areas. It’s a slower pace, and better traffic conditions. It actually feels “normal”.

I lived on the GC when I was a kid. 1965 to 1967.

It was a great place.

I have been back quite a few times over the years, probably 3 year since the last time.

I wouldn't go there for the very reasons you stated.

The Sunshine Coast is just about the same...

& we have our own mini SSC down at Hervey Bay.

Only go if it can't be avoided.

But you must admit the only good thing to come out of Victoria has been the road north??? Grin

So many have moved up here ... & Cockroaches too.

And yeah a lot move up here for the lifestyle ... then commence to try & change it to the lifestyle/place they left behind.

The push for DLS up here is mostly driven by ex-pat southerners.

Reply #27 - Nov 25th, 2023 at 8:43pm

Gnads wrote on Nov 25th, 2023 at 7:54pm:

It was a great place.

I have been back quite a few times over the years, probably 3 year since the last time.

But you must admit the only good thing to come out of Victoria has been the road north??? Grin

And yeah a lot move up here for the lifestyle ... then commence to try & change it to the lifestyle/place they left behind.

Yeah even the Sunshine Coast has become busy.
Still a bit classier than Goldy.

I know why there’s so many coming to the coast… it basically because of  lockdowns … a lot of Victorians leaving. I actually don’t blame them.
I’m divided about whether to settle and live in qld or stay in Vic.
Sigh…. It’s hard to leave a place where we know everyone.

Reply #28 - Nov 25th, 2023 at 10:50pm

Sophia wrote on Nov 25th, 2023 at 8:43pm:

It was a great place.

I know why there’s so many coming to the coast… it basically because of  lockdowns … a lot of Victorians leaving. I actually don’t blame them.

The move to se qld from Sydney and Melbourne started long before covid. 

It has more to do with property prices and lifestyle than lock downs

Reply #29 - Nov 25th, 2023 at 10:58pm

John Smith wrote on Nov 25th, 2023 at 10:50pm:
Sophia wrote on Nov 25th, 2023 at 8:43pm:

It was a great place.

The move to se qld from Sydney and Melbourne started long before covid. 

It has more to do with property prices and lifestyle than lock downs

Absolutely, but since COVID more people Exodus from Victoria was reported.