Since this is The Tavern... (Read 1590 times)
SadKangaroo

#FightStupid

Mianjin (Brisbane)
Since this is The Tavern...
Nov 24th, 2023 at 2:45pm

Without doxxing yourself, do you have a favourite tavern or pub you like to go to, either locally or when you travel?

As someone living in QLD, I miss the old-style taverns and pubs that are/were everywhere in Melbourne.

Everything around here has no soul, they just feel like a converted office space with a pokies room off to the side.

I was down in Melb not so long ago for a work trip and went exploring near the Hotel and found this place,

https://www.thecharlesdickenstavern.com.au/

It was great for a nice relaxing ale or two.

I try not to travel much because I hate the time away from the family, but if I have to go, it would be good to have a list of places to check out, depending on where I am.

Re: Since this is The Tavern...
Reply #1 - Nov 24th, 2023 at 3:12pm

O'Lunneys in Times Square - they are clan ...  it's the biggest mix-up, that you have ever seen - me father he was Orange and me mither she was Green ...

Reply #2 - Nov 24th, 2023 at 3:30pm

OMG Mr. k ! You must’ve read my mind! I was just thinking about putting up my fave tavern… it’s in Runaway Bay Qld.  Smiley I’m just up the road from it now, until Sunday when we hit the road again.
A couple years ago, I was in the Tavern at RB and playing pokies (no surprise there!) and I wanted to go to the machine next to me but the whole place had a lot of people, anyway, I hear certain sounds emulating from the machine next to me and that woman she won $15,000 jackpot!
She looked up puzzled and I said “wow you just won $15,000, congratulations!”
Anyway, I don’t forget that and I always tell anyone playing near me that machines next to me always win  Grin

Reply #3 - Nov 24th, 2023 at 4:06pm

Rosebud RSL is a great place on the Mornington Peninsula that we go to a fair bit.   I also like Rainbow Bay Surf Life Saving Club in Coolangatta, Currumbin RSL and Caloundra RSL

Years ago, I went to a pub in Brisbane called "Sports" or something like that, but had to leave because I kept getting my bum fondled and pinched by other "patrons".

Reply #4 - Nov 24th, 2023 at 4:20pm

Vic wrote on Nov 24th, 2023 at 4:06pm:
Rosebud RSL is a great place on the Mornington Peninsula that we go to a fair bit.   I also like Rainbow Bay Surf Life Saving Club in Coolangatta, Currumbin RSL and Caloundra RSL

Years ago, I went to a pub in Brisbane called "Sports" or something like that, but had to leave because I kept getting my bum fondled and pinched by other "patrons".

Ha, ha - yes, a mate and I booked into a hotel in Sydney for Anzac Day once and only later realised, when we went down for a quiet one, that it was a gay pub.... all those strange looks... might go home a day early, eh?

SadKangaroo

#FightStupid

Mianjin (Brisbane)
Reply #5 - Nov 24th, 2023 at 4:50pm

Sophia wrote on Nov 24th, 2023 at 3:30pm:
OMG Mr. k ! You must’ve read my mind! I was just thinking about putting up my fave tavern… it’s in Runaway Bay Qld.  Smiley

My grandparents used to take me and my sister there every Saturday night when it was called The Blue Bayou (at least the bistro) like decades ago...

That's unlocked some really amazing memories, thank you!

Belgarion

Reply #6 - Nov 24th, 2023 at 5:12pm

The Melbourne pub scene is excellent compared to the other states, much as it pains me to say it.  It has been a long time since i was a regular at any pub, but in Sydney I do like the Observer,  even though it has been yuppified since I used to frequent the place. As well there are other nice pubs in the Rocks like the Habour View,  Lord Nelson and the Hero of Waterloo

"I may not agree with what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it."

Voltaire.....(possibly)

Reply #7 - Nov 24th, 2023 at 5:16pm

SadKangaroo wrote on Nov 24th, 2023 at 2:45pm:
Without doxxing yourself, do you have a favourite tavern or pub you like to go to, either locally or when you travel?

As someone living in QLD, I miss the old-style taverns and pubs that are/were everywhere in Melbourne.

Everything around here has no soul, they just feel like a converted office space with a pokies room off to the side.

One of the great things about Perth - no pokies   Smiley

Hard to say what my favourite pub is here, but The Cottesloe Beach Hotel would come close.

I usually sit right here, watching the sun setting over the ocean on a Saturday or Sunday afternoon.

Great beer, great food, fantastic view, and no pokies.

Oh, and a bit of trivia: when Heath Ledger died they held the wake at The Cottesloe Pub and scattered his ashes in the ocean across the road.

Reply #8 - Nov 24th, 2023 at 6:28pm

Who has tasted a Farmhouse Ale, a saison?

Paljas Saison 330ml
ABV 6.0%
by Brouwerij Henricus
$10.00

Paljas Saison is an unfiltered and high fermented Ale with refermentation in the bottle. The use of a certain percentage of wheat and the little use of dry-hopping gives the beer a very nice flavour and fresh aroma. Specific yeast makes sure almost all sugars are fermented which makes it a dry and fluent drinkable beer for nice summer days.

About this beer
ABV 6.0%
Belgium
Saison / Farmhouse / Grisette

Dunno about that beer, similar grist to the one I brewed that was good.

Reply #9 - Nov 24th, 2023 at 6:32pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Nov 24th, 2023 at 5:16pm:

Hard to say what my favourite pub is here, but The Cottesloe Beach Hotel would come close.

I usually sit right here, watching the sun setting over the ocean on a Saturday or Sunday afternoon.

Oh, and a bit of trivia: when Heath Ledger died they held the wake at The Cottesloe Pub and scattered his ashes in the ocean across the road.

Changed a bit since I was there last before the America's Cup. Went there quite often although the Scarborough was the best Sunday session. My wife lived at 10 Marine Parade I think before she moved in with me.

Reply #10 - Nov 24th, 2023 at 6:47pm

I was down in Melb not so long ago for a work trip and went exploring near the Hotel and found this place,

https://www.thecharlesdickenstavern.com.au/

https://theblock.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/13.jpg

It was great for a nice relaxing ale or two.

I try not to travel much because I hate the time away from the family, but if I have to go, it would be good to have a list of places to check out, depending on where I am.

You know the answer to that ey? Maybe move back?

That's the sad thing about sad Dicktorians now living in QLD they are either trying to change where they've chosen to live into where they've come from or whinging about where they've chosen to live because it's not like where they've come from.

Seems your moniker is apt.

Oh & btw .... your photo .... too many people.

I just go down the street 3 blocks ... little sports club ... no pokies or meals anymore ....

but a good bar, good beer, good barmaid & a great bunch of regulars .... nearly like family.

I'll take a photo in the next few days. Club isn't open Saturdays.
« Last Edit: Nov 24th, 2023 at 6:54pm by Gnads »  

Reply #11 - Nov 24th, 2023 at 6:58pm

Vic wrote on Nov 24th, 2023 at 4:06pm:

That's the Sportsmans Hotel/Bar in Springhill.

Been a Gay Bar for decades now.

So you weren't a  good sport then?  Grin Grin

Long time since I was at the Caloundra RSL but it was a good venue back then too.

Reply #12 - Nov 24th, 2023 at 7:17pm

Setanta wrote on Nov 24th, 2023 at 6:32pm:

Changed a bit since I was there last before the America's Cup. Went there quite often although the Scarborough was the best Sunday session. My wife lived at 10 Marine Parade I think before she moved in with me.

Well, that's freaky - my girlfriend back then (early '80s) lived at number 16 (?) Marine Parade with her parents.

I used to play in a few bands at the Scarborough Beach Hotel on Sundays, with my dearly departed friend John Meyer.

Great days, and great memories.

Here's John.  I miss him heaps   Cry

Reply #13 - Nov 24th, 2023 at 7:20pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Nov 24th, 2023 at 7:17pm:
Setanta wrote on Nov 24th, 2023 at 6:32pm:

Well, that's freaky - my girlfriend back then (early '80s) lived at number 16 (?) Marine Parade with her parents.

I used to play in a few bands at the Scarborough Beach Hotel on Sundays, with my dearly departed friend John Meyer.

Great days, and great memories.

Here's John.  I miss him heaps   Cry

Saturday night at the White Sands was good too.

Reply #14 - Nov 24th, 2023 at 7:22pm

Not a tavern, but a really nice restaurant in a winery:

Gorgeous food:

Harry’s Verandah Restaurant is in the D’Arenberg winery in the Southern Vales in SA.

Another verandah restaurant is in Paulette’s Winery in the Clare Valley in SA. Also partly on a verandah, Skillogalee winery restaurant across the main road from Paulettes. Worth a trip.