Fireblight! (Read 1250 times)

Re: Fireblight!
Reply #30 - Jan 12th, 2024 at 5:24pm

Nearly 30°C still at 1830 today!

Antarctica  Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

Hoses running to water the trees, prevent heat stress.

Reply #31 - Jan 13th, 2024 at 10:08am

Seven cherry trees planted!

Two Kentish Sour preserving cherries—preserve, country wine, melomel

Stella—modern big purple sweet and, errr, that is about it. It and the Kent Sour will pollinate the sweet cherries.

Older varieties—Napoleon Biggarow and Early Burlat sweet cherries. No idea which is which, labels lost over time/moving. Once I get some fruit I will know which is which.

Also planted 3 pear trees and a hydrangea. Busy morning.

Cherries are in mounds of bought soil on what was a driveway—very compacted by cars etc driving over it. Am planting ground covers incl strawberries to stabilise the mounds.

Will also plant plum trees on the nature strip in front of the second block. Why not? 20 x 15m of ground growing just grass. Eat, preserve, country wine and mead.

Reply #32 - Jan 13th, 2024 at 5:02pm

Off-Topic replies have been moved to this Topic.

Reply #33 - Jan 13th, 2024 at 3:52pm

Taking pity on the friendless catfished idiot:

In front of the bag of blood and bone you can see one of the groundcovers I planted on the mound.

Cherry1.jpeg (219 KB | 11 )
Cherry1.jpeg

Reply #34 - Jan 13th, 2024 at 3:55pm

By Larry. You poor little lowlife  Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

Cherry photo 2.

Quite pale the Kentish.

Means I can add a few Kg of cherries to a Belgian beer. Might even try to make a lambic and/or Flanders Brown.

Cherry_2.jpeg (179 KB | 9 )
Cherry_2.jpeg

Reply #35 - Jan 13th, 2024 at 4:00pm

Photo 3, the Stella cherry.

Need it for pollination (of Napoleon Biggarow and Early Burlat sweet cherries)

Cherry_3.jpeg (183 KB | 7 )
Cherry_3.jpeg

Reply #36 - Jan 13th, 2024 at 5:03pm

Off-Topic replies have been moved to this Topic.

Reply #37 - Jan 14th, 2024 at 8:40am

Strawberries.

Planted mainly as ground cover, bind the raised mound together. Guess I will eat whatever berries happen  Grin

IMG_1203.jpeg (212 KB | 10 )
IMG_1203.jpeg

Reply #38 - Jan 14th, 2024 at 8:49am

You can see the one thick green wire hanging over the main branch.

When I lifted trees in the block I later sold some of the nursery tags had disappeared. Had to lift the trees because I had to vacate the block—got a good price and quick settlement.

I knew which were the sweet cherries from their position on the block, just didn’t know if they were Napoleon or Early Burlat. Having only garden supplies with me I made do.

Thick green wire ==> sweet cherry.

There is a tree with two thick green wires—I know it is a cherry but there is no note in my notebook for that visit what TWO thick green wires means  Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin. I think it means the same as one green wire.

Reply #39 - Jan 14th, 2024 at 8:58am

Had to buy two advanced (>1 year old) Kentish sour cherry trees. Bought them, planted them, lifted them—were in good condition. Never arrived here! Ditto my delicious Doyenne du Comice pear.

Reply #40 - Jan 14th, 2024 at 11:16am

The garage will eventually be turned into a cidery/meadery/brewery. Well, the brewery will be on the drive in front of the garage (assuming I do manage to create a brewery.)

Thinking of a five metre long mechanics pit as cellar. Will need to beef up flood defences—rainwater does manage to seep into the garage somehow.

Make it 1.6 or 1.7m deep, it is not as if I am going to work on my car.

At the far end from the ladder/staircase—bottles of maturing beer/cider/mead. Along the length, demijohns and carboys of cider etc, corny kegs of beer maturing over 12 months.

Dunno how viable the idea is—I know there is like a foot or so of hard soil, under that??? Solid rock? Loose gravel making forming a space too difficult? Will read up on the geology here and ask those that might know—builders, plumbers etc.

Need to cover the cellar—20mm thick multiply or chipboard sitting in a lip 20mm deep, 100mm wide? Paint with a sealing paint.

Reply #41 - Jan 14th, 2024 at 11:29am

A couple non-working washing machines were left behind by the previous owner. Could bury them so I have a small, 2 compartment root cellar?

Know someone here with a small earthworking machine, get him to dig the holes? Because some idiot powered the garage with an underground cable running diagonally across the front bit of ground no one will dig forward of the back of the garage where the power cable enters. Some Booby–level idiot of an electrician I suppose?

I can put the holes in the 4m wide strip where the chooks will go, even dig them into the slope.

Instead of dumping the old washing machines, put them to use!

Will get electrician to check the wiring of the garage. Reckon my chest freezer will go in there—store cider apples until needed. Present fridge will go into the rumpus room for use by guests—will make it a place to accommodate people for a few weeks. Water and HWS are nearby—kitchen sink, vanity, shower can be arranged. No income from this but can hold parties in it.

Reply #42 - Jan 16th, 2024 at 12:31pm

Not fireblight—no twig curled into a shepherd’s crrok BUT some leaves on Moorcroft perry pear and a couple other varieties had black tips.

Sprayed there with copper yesterday, just removed the affected leaves, will burn them in fireplace. See how it goes. A couple nice warm dry weeks be good—rain forecast for this week, dammit!

Re the idea with the old washing machines—not sure.

Like the idea of the mechanics’ pit/cellar in the garage much more.

Reply #43 - Jan 16th, 2024 at 8:43pm

Planted the bay tree in a big pot, one that one of the trees I planted came in.

Don’t need a giant bay tree, one that spreads!

Worked out where to put the three buddlea.

Tomorrow off to the big smoke, buy some supplies and look into an irrigation system. Watering 100 trees with a hose is. . .inefficient.

Reply #44 - Jan 17th, 2024 at 2:03pm

While I was in Bunnings sourcing irrigation fittings earlier today it was pissing down outside. In the big vege shop, pissing down outside., driving home, yup, pissing down. Think it has pretty well stopped now.

Can wait with trying out the irrigation system  Grin