Re: foundations
Reply #120 - Mar 4th, 2024 at 3:41pm

MeisterEckhart wrote on Mar 4th, 2024 at 3:39pm:
Bobby. wrote on Mar 4th, 2024 at 3:30pm:
We have to start somewhere -
make it 100,000 then - no more.

What's the alternative - bring in 2 million rickshaw drivers?

Do you know anything about the Australian immigration process?

Ask an immigrant.

No - but 1.6 million people came into this country over the last 4 years
and that is only what they've admitted to.

That's equivalent to a city the size of Adelaide.

Where are they living?

Reply #121 - Mar 4th, 2024 at 3:42pm

Brian Ross wrote on Mar 4th, 2024 at 3:40pm:
Oh, dearie, dearie, me, Bobby is proving too much of a Conspiranut for even Freediver to stomach.  Poor, poor, Bobby, you know you can get help for your condition?  Real help.  Tsk, tsk, tsk...  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

Hi Brian,
see any yawning symbols lately?

thegreatdivide

Australian Politics<br
/>

Reply #122 - Mar 4th, 2024 at 3:44pm

freediver wrote on Mar 4th, 2024 at 3:34pm:
All ideas can be rorted - subject to fraud.

It's not a rort Bobby. It's market forces.

Market forces, and the famous "invisible hand", are the ultimate rort. 'The market' isn't an entity separate to the players in it, it's the result of all the interactions between the players, obeying certain rules.

There is no such thing as a fixed number of available jobs.

But there is such as thing as ugly mainstream NAIRU dogma. The fool Bullock reckons unemployment has to hit 4.5% to 'control' inflation.

Deplorable. 

MeisterEckhart

Reply #123 - Mar 4th, 2024 at 3:46pm

Bobby. wrote on Mar 4th, 2024 at 3:41pm:

Ask an immigrant.

Where are they living?

Given nearly all of them will possess high-end required skills, in middle-class to upper-middle-class houses, I'd bet.

Should people in rural Australia go without doctors, healthcare workers, police etc... due to curbing immigration for its own sake?

thegreatdivide

Australian Politics<br
/>

Reply #124 - Mar 4th, 2024 at 3:46pm

freediver wrote on Mar 4th, 2024 at 3:35pm:
thegreatdivide wrote on Mar 4th, 2024 at 3:33pm:
Bobby. wrote on Mar 4th, 2024 at 3:09pm:
freediver wrote on Mar 4th, 2024 at 3:01pm:
Do you understand the concept of intersubjective reality?

https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/abs/10.1002/9781405165518.wbeosi067.pub2

Intersubjectivity

Intersubjectivity refers to a shared perception of reality between two or more individuals. The term presupposes that we, as human beings, cannot know reality except through our own senses: sight, hearing, smell, taste, or tactile feeling. Accordingly, each individual's reality is necessarily subjective and it is impossible for one person to know how anyone else perceives the world.

Thanks for this excellent description of the term. 

My one quibble so far: surely 'reality', and perception of the world, also involves abstract thinking, as well as feeling via the senses. 

However, people assume that the world and social interactions follow rules that are outside the control of any one person.

...which is true, aka rule of law.

This presumed consensus allows us to co-ordinate our activities in the expectation that others share our views about what is normal, right, healthy, expected behavior. This pair of opposite truths presents a problem for anyone studying how people view their worlds; neither objectivity nor subjectivity is sufficient to explain the life experiences of the individual. Sociologists study intersubjectivity as an intermediate position people use to navigate this problem.

Indeed. Navigate, but not solve this problem; only rule of law - whatever its content - can adjudicate between self-interested individuals. 

You are way off the mark.

Please explain?

Reply #125 - Mar 4th, 2024 at 3:51pm

MeisterEckhart wrote on Mar 4th, 2024 at 3:46pm:

Ask an immigrant.

Where are they living?

Given nearly all of them will possess high-end required skills, in middle-class to upper-middle-class houses, I'd bet.

Should people in rural Australia go without doctors, healthcare workers, police etc... due to curbing immigration for its own sake?

Come on - most of them are in the big cities and
many are living 6 at a time in one bedroom flats.   Roll Eyes

Reply #126 - Mar 4th, 2024 at 3:51pm

thegreatdivide wrote on Mar 4th, 2024 at 3:46pm:
freediver wrote on Mar 4th, 2024 at 3:35pm:
thegreatdivide wrote on Mar 4th, 2024 at 3:33pm:
Bobby. wrote on Mar 4th, 2024 at 3:09pm:
freediver wrote on Mar 4th, 2024 at 3:01pm:
Do you understand the concept of intersubjective reality?

https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/abs/10.1002/9781405165518.wbeosi067.pub2

Intersubjectivity

Intersubjectivity refers to a shared perception of reality between two or more individuals. The term presupposes that we, as human beings, cannot know reality except through our own senses: sight, hearing, smell, taste, or tactile feeling. Accordingly, each individual's reality is necessarily subjective and it is impossible for one person to know how anyone else perceives the world.

Thanks for this excellent description of the term. 

My one quibble so far: surely 'reality', and perception of the world, also involves abstract thinking, as well as feeling via the senses. 

However, people assume that the world and social interactions follow rules that are outside the control of any one person.

...which is true, aka rule of law.

This presumed consensus allows us to co-ordinate our activities in the expectation that others share our views about what is normal, right, healthy, expected behavior. This pair of opposite truths presents a problem for anyone studying how people view their worlds; neither objectivity nor subjectivity is sufficient to explain the life experiences of the individual. Sociologists study intersubjectivity as an intermediate position people use to navigate this problem.

Indeed. Navigate, but not solve this problem; only rule of law - whatever its content - can adjudicate between self-interested individuals. 

You are way off the mark.

Please explain?

You do not know what the term means.

MeisterEckhart

Reply #127 - Mar 4th, 2024 at 4:05pm

Bobby. wrote on Mar 4th, 2024 at 3:51pm:

Ask an immigrant.

Where are they living?

6 at a time in one bedroom flats. eh!

And you know that because...?

If your region had a shortage of doctors, healthcare workers, police etc... would be ok with those kinds of immigrants in your area?

How do immigrants affect you personally?

Reply #128 - Mar 4th, 2024 at 4:13pm

MeisterEckhart wrote on Mar 4th, 2024 at 4:05pm:

If your region had a shortage of doctors, healthcare workers, police etc... would be ok with those kinds of immigrants in your area?

I don't want to give out personal information about myself -
needless to say it has affected me personally.

Reply #129 - Mar 4th, 2024 at 4:29pm

Bobby. wrote on Mar 4th, 2024 at 4:13pm:

crap. You choose to hide under your bed, no one is making you

Reply #130 - Mar 4th, 2024 at 4:40pm

Bobby. wrote on Mar 4th, 2024 at 3:42pm:
Brian Ross wrote on Mar 4th, 2024 at 3:40pm:
Oh, dearie, dearie, me, Bobby is proving too much of a Conspiranut for even Freediver to stomach.  Poor, poor, Bobby, you know you can get help for your condition?  Real help.  Tsk, tsk, tsk...  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

Hi Brian,
see any yawning symbols lately?

I see a sniveling little coward who believes in Conspiracies, Bobby.  Guess who?  Tsk, tsk, tsk...  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

Reply #131 - Mar 4th, 2024 at 4:43pm

Bobby. wrote on Mar 4th, 2024 at 4:13pm:

Too long a line down the Centrelink Office, Bobby?  Tsk, tsk, tsk...  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

Reply #132 - Mar 4th, 2024 at 4:57pm

Ask an immigrant.

Where are they living?

its doubtful that , of the 300,000 immigrants, there are more then a few hundred doctors and police.

Reply #133 - Mar 4th, 2024 at 4:58pm

Ask an immigrant.

Where are they living?

Ummm --- sure... we need water engineers to handle the Murray-Darling since governments and Aborigines can't do the job... we need more airline pilots....

Send the doctors and healthcare workers immediately to the country, then.... apprentice citizens must spend their time in the Country Corps before full admission .... how many years ya reckon?

Reply #134 - Mar 4th, 2024 at 5:06pm

Bobby. wrote on Mar 4th, 2024 at 3:51pm:

Ask an immigrant.

Where are they living?

indians and chinese feel within their comfort zone when crowded

my sister had a lot of chinese uni srudents stay with her over the time and they often would move out of having their own bedroom to kick in with 20 or so other chinese students , 5 to a room.

and there are an indian family i know of with 4 families in a house and 3 taxis and the guys run those cabs 24/7.  they change shifts like supercar drivers change drivers at bathurst .

i'm all for it

i admire the work ethic of the chinese and the indians

i dont think the samoan and tongans and maori are in the same cohort, work wise
and a lot of them are very fat, get diabetes and then spend 40 years clogging up hospitals .

albo needs to connect with the stud manager at coolmore stud and think about what sort of bloodstock we should be importing to improve the national herd.

i would be going all out to get people from singapore, malaysia, south korea, (and china and india) as these places are aspirational and industrious

and like dubai , i would import phillipinos and pakistanis on working visas , on $3 an hour ( a fortune for these guys) and they would build good quality affordable housing

the current slack fat sloppy white trash in most of our cities have probably never held a hammer in their hands and would probably faint the first time the temp hit 30 degrees  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

Pages: 1 ... 7 8 9 10 11 ... 84