UN rights of 'Indigenous' people (Read 1185 times)
Grappler Deep State Feller

UN rights of 'Indigenous' people
Jul 26th, 2024 at 1:37pm

https://humanrights.gov.au/our-work/un-declaration-rights-indigenous-people

This'll get interesting since we've arbitrarily - in keeping with such things as handing out land claims and similar by government departments under their party mate appointed heads obeying orders direct while being online with The Agenda anyway or they wouldn't cop the gig with the freebies for life, eh? -  determined that multi-generational Australians are Indigenous and Aborigines are Aborigines.

Aside:-  ain't it just a bastard when some prick comes along and just says - "Nah - that's how it is from now on, and don't bother with your representations - it's already decided the other way."  Right you 148 land owners on Fraser Island - piss off with your  representations against this absurd takeover nonsense by a group of non-local Aborigines.... we'll let you know when we've decided against you .... so piss off...

This will be fun - so many words here - and so little that indicates anything really special for our Aborigines as they were hunting for with the voice.... land title.... (heh, heh, heh)....

Let's see now - I'll be able to launch an attack North in two days....... with two divisions....  George S Patton.

Re: UN rights of 'Indigenous' people
Reply #1 - Jul 26th, 2024 at 1:56pm

Article One needs no comment - they've already got all equal rights here and then some, just like women.... similar attitudes, too... gimme, gimme, gimme ...

Article Two is fine in theory - the very few REAL occasions where our Aborigines are pointed out as bad-asses etc they are just being bad-asses etc... no problem.  76 out of 81 can't be wrong, eh?  When discussing 'rights' such as employment fairly etc, you need to look at every individual case... and that would be a forever war.

Article Three - yup they can determine who they vote for and why, and do like everyone else and pursue their own prosperity and such here under the limitations.  Not that much work - not for everyone - up here for example... plenty of 'em up here who are civilised etc have jobs.

Article Four - now this gets a bit tricky - it sounds like this is saying they don't have to abide by the laws of the land but make up their own ... well - that dingo ain't gonna hunt anywhere... they can hold a council meeting - and already do - and put their views forward - but they cannot remain citizens and be independent and they can't refuse to abide by the law of the land.  That dingo don't hunt, neither... you're either in or out, but you don't get to pick the best bits and leave the rest.  Australian or Not??  Decide now and forever.

Article Five - sure - they can have their political affiliations and even their own party(ies), same as anyone else - they can participate as much as their circumstances allow - if someone lives in Yukapandapoo in Faraway Province, far from the madding services and jobs... they cannot expect to be slotted into the best paid jobs in the land...unless elected to Parliament of course - but when jobs etc are not available that's it.... you can always move... including away from the Seven Intersectional Groups Violence at Wadeye... why stay if it's that bad?  You reckon one day one group will win the fight?

Nobody forces anyone to move or change - circumstances do and must, same as for everyone else - you don't see cities springing up at Maralinga, do you .... or nothing will change for the better - and with their personal sovereignty, it is up to them to make the moves..... and make them the right moves.

Article Six - They are Australians or they are not - time to choose... but you don't get to choose half way or the best of both worlds.

Gotta go - be back to slice and dice yez over the rest later...... this should give you a little bit to hoist your absurd arguments on - I'll just do an Aboriginal Affairs department thing and simply reject your views unless you are onside with mine... nasty stuff, eh?  Terrible when people do that to you - The Albo Way - the people voted it down - they'll push it in the states .... maybe you'll learn if I do it often enough.  We'll soon see about that!!

Reply #2 - Jul 26th, 2024 at 4:14pm

Article Seven:-

Well - they're doing just fine there as long as they can stop trying to kill one another in various ways.

Article Eight:-

Well - circumstances may force them to alter their ways - they can't expect to just be handed the big house on the hill looking over the ocean etc without doing something for it... they can't just expect a$200k pa income without working for it, can they?  So change is forced on them - not by individuals or governments, but by their own increased requirements for the same as others.  Can't just rely on some cargo cult to come along and do a dividie and pay them to mow their own lawns... the end of that is that everyone will be on a state salary, all the same for whatever work they do, unless they are part of the 'ruling elite clique' - a return to Feudalism and the kind of despotism that went with it.  That's why there is such an assault on the rules of law here and has been since the advent of affirmative action.....

Interesting part here:- "Any action which has the aim or effect of dispossessing them of their lands, territories or resources;" ... WELL, so it's all right to dispossess the majority re national parks and Open Range land under the Crown, but not the minority... in their eyes only (not Sheena Eeston - For Your Eyes Only).... and a pig's ear ...

Article Nine:-

No problem exists there - nobody is stopping them unless their way does harm to others or otherwise contravenes the law of the land..

Article Ten:-

Doesn't happen.

Article Eleven:-

Ongoing process for years.... but at some point a line must be drawn - you can't just say everything is a 'sacred site' to gain control over it.  Yabbying in the creek doesn't make that creek a sacred site... saying there are spirits in it doesn't do that either.... not your business to tell the spirits when to be upset or anything... they can handle it themselves.

Article Twelve -

No problem these days and for a long time ... not ever in most cases... but they can't just say it's all ceremonial spots etc.. you can't just claim the whole land as sacred.  Since Parrot's Tits closed off White etc access to Mt Warning - what 'ceremonies' have ever taken place anywhere there?  What about Ayers Rock?  No climbing so no "hey - what a view" ceremony from the summit, eh?  You can't just call everything in sight a sacred site - specify them NOW or that's it.... cite how, when and where you do these 'ceremonies' and prove to us that you do.  A ceremony isn't just one person saying - "What a climb!  Phew - but what a view!"  (YARDLE, YARDLE)

Article Thirteen -

No problem - they can pass on their lingo - same as we do.... nobody is stopping them.... most of us would take a shillelagh to them if anyone tried to .... damn - that's Irish Gaelic.... same as sreed (street), loch (lake),  scallywag ... you know....

Just another one of those whinges that nobody is standing in the way of.

Article Fourteen -

No problem - they can teach their kids outside normal school hours etc... a small part of school time could be utilised to teach them those things and to bring other kids up to speed on the differences... no problem at all.  Nobody is stopping them... the Alice
Springs Method - OK, you kids - you've missed school for the day so go into town and learn the outlaw ways.... go on - give me some peace ...

Article Fifteen -

No problem - every second street and town is named using one of their words.... etc... etc... etc... you bloody pack of Gulargambones, as an example ...Coonamble (Cheeramble) ... Coonabarabran (Cheerabarbran), Koonawarra (Cheerawarra) ... you know....

Article Sixteen -

Again nobody is stopping them.

Article Seventeen -

No problems again - nobody is exploiting Aboriginal children as child labour etc - they're ot abused in jobs any more than anyone else - when you can get them to go to one or travel to a major centre to even find one .... Bugarabagapoo, remember - in Isolaland ...at least until dividie gets his hands on the reins....

Article Eighteen -

No problem - countless bodies offer their views - others get none.... Black Privilege, eh?

Article Nineteen -

Same as governments consult fully with us, eh?  Equality, innit - this sounds like a demand for special privilege - Black Privilege again.

Article Twenty -

No problem - they can dot paint all they like and sell 'em... whatever ....  When was the last time one was deprived of any traditional way of earning a living here in Australia?

Article Twenty One -

They have opportunities for schooling etc same as everyone else..... and then some ... nothing more needs to be said.

Article Twenty Two -

Disabilities - that applies to everyone, not just one group.  States do their best to control the internal violence in that community...... despite the opposition from those they are trying to help .... and from their running dogs .. just like here....

Article Twenty Three -

Anyone here reckon they are not consulted when a nurse arrives in town to set up a clinic etc?  Not consulted about their specdific needs?  Do they want a witch doctor in the surgical suite during operations?

Article Twenty four -

Nobody here stops them from using their traditional medicines and cures.

Reply #3 - Jul 29th, 2024 at 4:04pm

Article Twenty Five

No problem there - nobody stands in the way of their spiritual connection to the land, any more than they stand in the way of anyone else's spiritual connection to the land etc.

Article Twenty Six

Reads like a declaration of war by the UN - far too vague ... having the 'right' to the lands etc.  This one needs a long look since it sounds like a demand to just hand it all back to a group of wandering nomads.  Let's just say that the proviso here is 'under the new rules pertaining'.  So they have the right to use land they actually own etc, and simply enjoy the rest of Open Range.

Article Twenty Seven

Well - due recognition is given to their laws - subject to the common laws of the land.  They get plenty of representation.... all this guff needs to be settled once and for all and then all those paid for bodies abolished and the money put to better uses.

Article Twenty Eight

Redress for any fixed camp taken over?  Already paid for over and over again.  You can't claim redress for losing the ability to just walk around.

Article Twenty Nine

No worries there..... the mistake is in the assumption that what they reckon was their past stamping ground is 'their land'.

Article Thirty

Careful - this one could mean military intervention into the Alice.  Anyway - if a mad Arab Mullah or African chieftain decides to charge across 'traditional lands' and wage war ... who exactly is going to stop him?  UN didn't do too good so far with Gaza and the vile invasion of Israel, or anywhere else much for that matter.  Give 'em another broadside of harsh language...
Does this included lawfare?

Article Thirty One

No problems - but this could require isolation in a zoo or something.  Nobody goes out of his/her way to change any 'Aboriginal culture' - circumstances change is all.  2024 - not 1787.

Article Thirty Two

Already happens.  The only problem is the assumption that the old Imperial lands held vastly in the past by Abomandias still apply.  Tell it to the Persians etc.... does the British Empire still apply?  The French?  The German? the Roman?  You can't hold back the flood tides of historical change.  2024 - not 1787.

Article Thirty Three

No problem with their identity here.  At the same time they are required to function in the general society and by the laws of the land.

Article Thirty Four

Fine as long as its within the laws of the land... no cannibal parties and such... no ritual killings of women who don't listen etc... no exposing sickly babies to the elements..... you know.

Article Thirty Five

No problem

Article Thirty Six

No problem here

Article Thirty Seven

No problem - we have no treaties here and that is the thorn of the argument at this time - or more appropriately - what should be INCLUDED in and what should be EXCLUDED from 'treaties'.  Make the Australian people a FAIR offer and stop going behind their backs with stupid government assistance to go for some ridiculous and short-live one-sided 'we want it all' 'treaty'.  Like all those Aboriginal groups who felt the 'voice' did not represent them - we the people are not represented by stupid government lackeys signing up to deals behind our backs.

That'll get 'em going for a while, Igor - Oh - Frankenstein's assistant wasn't Igor ... nor was his name Viktor.i

Reply #4 - Jul 29th, 2024 at 4:08pm

So far the only problem seems to be the UN's vague and undefined idea of what constitutes land ownership... so the activists figured that meant the UN would enforce their demand for total ownership of Australia - while everyone else said NO - but if you ask nicely we might give you a piece of it for free... just not huge swathes you demand without reason....  the good old days of caveman style Aboriginal Imperialism are gone - it's 2024 - not 1787.

Word for Today:-

'activisit' - an event of a FIFO agitator coming in and getting out of Dodge while the shot-storm erupts..

'activisitor' - a FIFO agitator ... see Albo .... Ross Mayo... Fish Eyes Langton... Burney-Out....

Reply #5 - Jul 30th, 2024 at 6:32am

Grappler Deep State Feller wrote on Jul 29th, 2024 at 4:08pm:
So far the only problem seems to be the UN's vague and undefined idea of what constitutes land ownership... so the activists figured that meant the UN would enforce their demand for total ownership of Australia - while everyone else said NO - but if you ask nicely we might give you a piece of it for free... just not huge swathes you demand without reason....  the good old days of caveman style Aboriginal Imperialism are gone - it's 2024 - not 1787.

Word for Today:-

'activisit' - an event of a FIFO agitator coming in and getting out of Dodge while the shot-storm erupts..

'activisitor' - a FIFO agitator ... see Albo .... Ross Mayo... Fish Eyes Langton... Burney-Out....

Should that be Thomas Mayo?

Reply #6 - Jul 30th, 2024 at 10:22am

"UN Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples"

Yes, and I'm sure the Australian Government takes as much notice of that (i.e. ignores it) when it suits them (i.e. has a negative impact on the economy) as they do of this (which Australia has been a signatory to for over 50 years):

International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights

Especially...

Article 12 Section 2 (c) and (d).

... in regards to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic (and even the 'yearly' flu).

And don't get me started on Article 11.

These UN "Declarations" and "Covenants" are not worth the paper they're written on.

thegreatdivide

Australian Politics<br
/>

Reply #7 - Jul 30th, 2024 at 1:27pm

Carl D wrote on Jul 30th, 2024 at 10:22am:
"UN Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples"

Yes, and I'm sure the Australian Government takes as much notice of that (i.e. ignores it) when it suits them (i.e. has a negative impact on the economy) as they do of this (which Australia has been a signatory to for over 50 years):

Especially...

Article 12 Section 2 (c) and (d).

... in regards to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic (and even the 'yearly' flu).

And don't get me started on Article 11.

These UN "Declarations" and "Covenants" are not worth the paper they're written on.

Do you mean -  they are not achievable, or they are not desirable?

Let's have a look:

16th Dec 1966.  General Assembly resolution 2200A (XXI)

PREAMBLE

Considering that, in accordance with the principles proclaimed in the Charter of the United Nations, recognition of the inherent dignity and of the equal and inalienable rights of all members of the human family is the foundation of freedom, justice and peace in the world,

Recognizing that these rights derive from the inherent dignity of the human person,

Recognizing that, in accordance with the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, the ideal of free human beings enjoying freedom from fear and want can only be achieved if conditions are created whereby everyone may enjoy his economic, social and cultural rights, as well as his civil and political rights,

Are we all on board with the ideal so far?

(I'm pleased I inspired graps to broach the topic , via his despised 'indigenous rights").

Reply #8 - Jul 30th, 2024 at 1:39pm

Ah, yes, the "ideal".

Certainly desirable and probably achievable if governments wanted to (or even cared).

Which they don't, of course. Especially if it means "the economy" takes a big hit.

As I said, these "Declarations" and "Covenants" are basically worthless, they're just 'feel good' exercises in futility from an organization (the UN) that is pointless and useless, especially these days when money is the most important thing on governments' (and most peoples') minds.

thegreatdivide

Australian Politics<br
/>

Reply #9 - Jul 30th, 2024 at 1:42pm

And here is Article XI which Carl D "doesn't want to get started on":

Article 11
1. The States Parties to the present Covenant recognize the right of everyone to an adequate standard of living for himself and his family, including adequate food, clothing and housing, and to the continuous improvement of living conditions. The States Parties will take appropriate steps to ensure the realization of this right, recognizing to this effect the essential importance of international co-operation based on free consent.

The under-lined: this is why the UN is dysfunctional - you can't have co-operation based on "free consent", among instinctively self-interested individuals.

Cicero told us that 2000 years ago;

"All must submit to rule of law, for all to be free"

I can hear the screaming from here.....

2. The States Parties to the present Covenant, recognizing the fundamental right of everyone to be free from hunger, shall take, individually and through international co-operation, the measures, including specific programmes, which are needed:

Trump is demanding America First, to MAGA; bugger the rest of the world.

(a) To improve methods of production, conservation and distribution of food by making full use of technical and scientific knowledge, by disseminating knowledge of the principles of nutrition and by developing or reforming agrarian systems in such a way as to achieve the most efficient development and utilization of natural resources;

(b) Taking into account the problems of both food-importing and food-exporting countries, to ensure an equitable distribution of world food supplies in relation to need.

Yes, but that will need global financial reform, so the countries with excess food capacity can fund "equitable distribution"...

« Last Edit: Jul 30th, 2024 at 1:49pm by thegreatdivide »  

thegreatdivide

Australian Politics<br
/>

Reply #10 - Jul 30th, 2024 at 1:48pm

Carl D wrote on Jul 30th, 2024 at 1:39pm:
Ah, yes, the "ideal".

Certainly desirable and probably achievable if governments wanted to (or even cared).

Which they don't, of course. Especially if it means "the economy" takes a big hit.

As I said, these "Declarations" and "Covenants" are basically worthless, they're just 'feel good' exercises in futility from an organization (the UN) that is pointless and useless, especially these days when money is the most important thing on governments' (and most peoples') minds.

Thanks for your clarification, and well said. 

Indeed "the economy" (money) is reckoned to be more important than people.

Even though money is created out of thin air.

The money-lenders have pulled the wool over everyone's eyes. 

thegreatdivide

Australian Politics<br
/>

Reply #11 - Jul 30th, 2024 at 6:01pm

Grappler Deep State Feller wrote on Jul 26th, 2024 at 1:56pm:
Article One needs no comment - they've already got all equal rights here and then some, just like women.... similar attitudes, too... gimme, gimme, gimme ...

Actually the problems begin appearing in the preamble to Article 1, and the Article itself.

Article 1

Indigenous peoples have the right to the full enjoyment, as a collective or as individuals, of all human rights and fundamental freedoms as recognized in the Charter of the United Nations, the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and international human rights law.

My comment: so indigenous peoples have the same rights as everyone else, as identified in the UNUDHR.

That should be the end of the story.... but, Article 1 is preceeded by this contradictory nonsense:

Affirming that indigenous peoples are equal to all other peoples, while recognizing the right of all peoples to be different, to consider themselves different, and to be respected as such

Individuals being different is not the same as individuals claiming allegiance to, and sovereignty of, different anachronistic cultures, something many indigenous people do, from a desire to preserve ancient, outmoded ways of life.

Affirming also that all peoples contribute to the diversity and richness of civilizations and cultures, which constitute the common heritage of humankind

Hunter-gatherer cultures don't contribute to solving the problems of the modern world (and nor do 'modern' neoclassical mainstream economists, another story...)

Affirming further that all doctrines, policies and practices based on or advocating superiority of peoples or individuals on the basis of national origin, racial, religious, ethnic or cultural differences are racist, scientifically false, legally invalid, morally condemnable and socially unjust

It's not a matter of the "superiority" of cultural differences (the other differences listed are not relevant for indigenous people), it's acknowledging pre-civilization ancient cultures belong in the past, not the present and future. 

And that's just Article one.

Note how the confused  "freedom rights" people at the UN have tried to improve social  conditions, by agreement as opposed to by implementation by law. 

First,  the UNUDHR in 1948; then the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights in 1966; then this Indigenous Rights nonsense in 2002. 

The original 1948 UNUDHR (though also  containing contradictions) covered everything, but of course little of it was ever implemented, because "freedom" trumps co-operation.

Sad. 

« Last Edit: Jul 30th, 2024 at 6:08pm by thegreatdivide »  

thegreatdivide

Australian Politics<br
/>

Reply #12 - Aug 4th, 2024 at 12:27pm

At least Albo, speaking at the Garma festival,  is moving beyond the "indigenous rights" crap, and now talking about "economic empowerment" to close the gap.

Will be interesting to see if the government can realize that goal; industries related to climate change  have been identified as a possible source of employment,  without much detail provided so far.

But the black (and white) 'cultural' activists are condemning Albo for removing the Federal government from consideraion of  divisive 'land rights', "truth telling"   and 'sovereignty' issues.

Reply #13 - Aug 4th, 2024 at 12:47pm

'economic empowerment' has been tried - like any cargo cult to the Third World, it mostly vanishes into the accounts of the El Presidente's and the Primo Ministers (El Jefe) etc.... sound familiar?  Open your eyes and ears.... leave the bleach in the cupboard.

What is Albo going to build in Arnhem Land?  Crocodile shoe and bag manufacturing plant?  I know - what about we make it into a self-sustaining Homeland.... one-off start-up funding and then turn 'er loose .... oh - wait a minute..... the locals wouldn't like any Invaders coming in and trying to raise the colonial banner over 'their land', would they..... Wadeye on steroids. 

Arnhem Land, being a reservation (The Res) IS their land.... let them develop economic empowerment... no Invasions and Intrusions here!!

Footnote:-  You ALL need to get your heads out of your arses about this idea of 'cargo culting' the Aborigines' way out of trouble... it will not work and only makes them more dependent.  Aborigine - Heal Thyself!!

thegreatdivide

Australian Politics<br
/>

Reply #14 - Aug 4th, 2024 at 1:07pm

Grappler Deep State Feller wrote on Aug 4th, 2024 at 12:47pm:
'economic empowerment' has been tried -

Your mistake first up (well done...); "economic empowerment" means prosperous  participation in the economy.

It's not something a nation "tries", it's something a nation achieves, to close the gap.  Do try to keep up.