UN rights of 'Indigenous' people (Read 1152 times)
thegreatdivide

Australian Politics<br
/>

Re: UN rights of 'Indigenous' people
Reply #30 - Oct 21st, 2024 at 5:26pm

Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Oct 17th, 2024 at 7:31pm:
Do you actually have any idea what you are talking about?

Yes, which is why I studiously replied to every point you made, in an attempt to open your eyes.

I see your reply is VERY limited, I will break your first sentence into its parts because it doesn't  make sense when read straight through from start to finish:   

Aborigines ARE participating in the economy..

Yes,  like everyone, either in the paid workforce, or subsisting on poverty-level 'welfare' (aka 'sit down money' among blacks)   

... that functions above poverty

The Henderson poverty line is ABOVE the dole; even the BCA says Job Seeker is too low. 

- they are just not contributing enough to themselves BE above poverty.

(I'll assume it should read "TO BE above poverty").

People in generational poverty generally have poor role models in dysfunctional families, making it difficult to "contribute to themselves", while often not even being able to afford good food, let alone practice good living habits.   

Go give them jobs ....  here we go again... round and round.

That's the last bit; dealing with the social dysfunction resulting from generational poverty is the the first step, to get them off the 'merry-go-round'. 

Idiot - I just said that the right to pursuit of happiness did not guarantee happiness - and you come in and pontificate as if I said something different.

I explained the inadequacy of your conception of "the right to pursue happiness"; you can't 'pursue happiness' while entangled in social dysfunction reinforced by poverty. 

Jasin is right!!

Nah - Jasin accepts the ineffectiveness of the current attempt at establishing international law (post WW2), and hence is complicit in all the horrors that stem from acceptance of that ineffectiveness.

Reply #31 - Oct 22nd, 2024 at 11:03am

Good to see you've hit on the 'role modeling' - the cultural aspect of Generationals.

Solution:-  Steal them generations???

thegreatdivide

Australian Politics<br
/>

Reply #32 - Oct 22nd, 2024 at 2:05pm

Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Oct 22nd, 2024 at 11:03am:
Good to see you've hit on the 'role modeling' - the cultural aspect of Generationals.

Solution:-  Steal them generations???

Gawd, the sloppy - or sneaky - thinking on your part is egregious.

I said
People in generational poverty generally have poor role models in dysfunctional families

So you attempt to convert an economic problem  - entrenched generational poverty - to a wholly 'cultural' problem.

Newsflash: poverty - generational or not - has egregious social consequences among whites as well.

Reply #33 - Oct 24th, 2024 at 3:26pm

The UN is currently supporting terrorists.

NEED I SAY MORE.

thegreatdivide

Australian Politics<br
/>

Reply #34 - Oct 25th, 2024 at 9:35am

Valkie wrote on Oct 24th, 2024 at 3:26pm:
The UN is currently supporting terrorists.

NEED I SAY MORE.

Yes, you need to say more.

The ICC (an agency of the UN) has issued arrest warrants for the suspected war criminals Netanyahu and Putin. 

thegreatdivide

Australian Politics<br
/>

Reply #35 - Oct 25th, 2024 at 9:40am

Valkie wrote on Oct 24th, 2024 at 3:26pm:

A world without Islam is one thing; but entrenched poverty, soaring inequality, and disputes between nations resulting in endless wars remains......

Reply #36 - Oct 25th, 2024 at 12:25pm

.. be all right when the vaunted internationalist 'socialists' spread the poverty equally around and the entire world grinds to a halt ... meanwhile, of course, down in Cambra - those self-same 'internationalist socialists' are building up huge nest eggs while being paid to ruin this country economically and socially ...  the looming world disaster will not affect them.... their fellow travelers in 'the opposition' saw to that when Howard and Costello stole $232Bn from treasury to hide in a tax haven and use to generate endless funds for their own retirement and those of their confreres..... and then set about destroying the economy and the livelihoods of the 'lesser classes' so as to install Neo-feudalism and rule by having desperate peasants clawing for a feed and thus totally subservient to and dependent on the good will of their Lords.

But let's not think about that .... let's concentrate on the poor struggling hungry unclothed and abused Abo kid who won't go to school and is shipped off to the re-education camp for repeat serious serial crimes, and then has no real future apart from substance abuse, continuing the cycles of neglect and abuse, and revolving door prison for crimes as an adult and how this is some mythical 'new stolen generation created by entrenched disadvantage etc, etc'..... while his 'betters' - those who are the Silverbacks and are handling all the dough, are living the high life and feathering their own nests in true Cambra Style.....

The African King......

thegreatdivide

Australian Politics<br
/>

Reply #37 - Oct 25th, 2024 at 3:57pm

Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Oct 25th, 2024 at 12:25pm:
.. be all right when the vaunted internationalist 'socialists' spread the poverty equally around and the entire world grinds to a halt ...

You keep repeating that Conservative lie, do try to learn:  eradication of poverty doesn't mean equality of outcome (whether national or international).

I just read this:

(9News.com.au)

What it's really like to live in the happiest country in the world

I live in the happiest country in the world.

Finland is the happiest country in the world, but I found happiness to Finns isn't about smiling and feeling joy.

Most of the time when you mention Finland's happy title to the locals, they say, "who did they survey?"

I moved to Finland at the end of 2022 and often people ask why I would want to leave Australia and move anywhere else, and of all places, Finland.

Well, for love, of course.

I met my Finnish wife, Annika, almost four years ago playing video games online during the coronavirus lockdown.

Our friendship grew and we waited patiently for Australia's international borders to reopen, and I was on one of the first planes out of the country, bound for Finland.

Over that holiday, I fell in love with the country, its nature, its people, its culture and, of course, Annika.

Within a year we were married, I packed up my life, and I was on my way to my new life in Finland.

Today is The International Day of Happiness and there is no better time to tell you why I think Finland is the happiest country in the world.

Finland has so much to offer, and a high quality of life is one of the foundations to Finnish society with a strong social welfare system that supports the population.

Free education, affordable healthcare and childcare, reliable infrastructure and public transport are just a few policies rooted in society - all paid for by high taxes.
But that tax is paid knowing the benefits received in return.

A healthy work-life balance is an integral part of Finnish society, when the workday ends, it ends.

Free time and family time begin.

By law, every child in Finland is entitled to municipal daycare enabling both parents to participate in the workforce.

Finns enjoy order and respect the law leading to a mutual respect between the Finnish government and its citizens.

A free democratic society that has the right to choose.

Finland also has a relatively low crime and corruption rate as well as one of the top countries in the world for press freedom, resulting in one of the safest countries in the world.

It was hard to fit in at first, my English could only get me so far.

It was very difficult to make new friends.

Finns usually don't make eye contact with strangers and small talk is non-existent.

If someone is waiting in a bus shelter, they would rather stand in the rain than share it.

Finns respect each other's privacy and personal space like nothing else and expect the same in return.

There is only one thing Finns love more than their personal space, and that's coffee.

Finns are a proud bunch, but you'll never see them boast about themselves.

They are humble in every sense of the word. Unless their favourite team is playing.

It was a big change from what I was used to at home.

But it didn't take long before I felt I was no longer a stranger and out came the most welcoming, friendly, and loving people I have ever met.

Always up for a chat and willing to help.

Finland is beautiful. Its winters are long and freezing, and its summers are warm and filled with life, but you really can't appreciate one without the other.

Every winter, almost daily, an army of snowploughs and workers ensure that the roads remain open, and many fields are turned into ice rinks.

The Everyman's Rights law gives everyone who visits and lives in Finland the freedom to use and roam its forests and lakes, keeping them free and accessible all year round.

Where you can fill your pockets with berries and mushrooms, catch fish with a simple rod and line and enjoy all the recreational areas they have to offer.

In Finland, the air is fresh, and the water is clean.

While Australians have their beaches, Finns have their summer cottages.

No matter the weather, you can jump in the sauna and sweat the day away!

The last year and a half has been an amazing learning experience.

Though it hasn't been easy.

Finland is an expensive country, and the job market is brutal and increasingly harder for foreigners to find work, especially without Finnish language skills.

I have spent the last eight months as a full-time student studying the Finnish language to help me find work.

But thanks to a strong social welfare system, that education has been free, and I have been supported the entire time, even as an immigrant.

Being the happiest country in the world doesn't mean everyone is happy.

To me, waking up next with my beautiful wife, Annika, having access to welfare and affordable healthcare, feeling safe to walk alone at night, and importantly, knowing that my children – with our first one due in June - are growing up with free education.

It's not only the responsibility of the individual to be happy but it also takes a government and a society to create an environment where its population can thrive.

graps take note...."socialism" or not....

Reply #38 - Oct 25th, 2024 at 4:21pm

Eradication of poverty doesn't mean equality in any way... it merely means eradication of poverty - which is a pipe dream - and until you come to grips with Comparative Poverty as your yardstick, you will never understand reality in that regard.

A Thai car builder makes ฿282,610 (THB)/yr .... the AYE for Thailand is  ฿184,920....... so is the Thai car worker not relatively more prosperous than the overall average?  With over a third more pre-tax income he/she should be able to purchase well... and live a relatively comfortable life...  if the Average is sufficient for all to live reasonably well.... clearly it is the lower end who suffer from poverty.

What is your proposal to remedy that?  More free bags of rice?

thegreatdivide

Australian Politics<br
/>

Reply #39 - Oct 26th, 2024 at 2:12pm

Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Oct 25th, 2024 at 4:21pm:
Eradication of poverty doesn't mean equality in any way...

You just contradicted your previous statement, namely:

" 'socialists' spread the poverty equally"

- which means equality of poverty, surely.

it merely means eradication of poverty - which is a pipe dream - and until you come to grips with Comparative Poverty as your yardstick, you will never understand reality in that regard.

1. In a world which has sufficient resources to supply everyone with the essentials, poverty is a crime committed by the governing authorities (who are blindly beholden to obsolete neoclassical 'scarcity' dogma). 

2.  In Oz, the Henderson Poverty Line defines relative (or comparative) poverty,(in Oz).

(google)

The Henderson Poverty Line is a benchmark income that indicates when a family's income is too low to support their basic needs.

... if the Average is sufficient for all to live reasonably well.... clearly it is the lower end who suffer from poverty.

Yes. And?

The "lower end suffering in poverty" is exactly what Henderson says; do try to keep up. 

Note:  the 'average' income - which is distorted by a relatively few millionaires and billionaires - is not the same as the  'median' income - ie the wage which most people receive.

(or rather, lower-price bags of rice at Woolies...)

Yes, plus adequate public housing, transport, education, healthcare, and essential utilities,  for those who can't afford private.

Paid for by 1.

higher taxes,   

or 2.

Essentials for 'the lower end' to be subsidized by Treasury (who can create money ex nihilo...), limited only by  the nation's productive capacity, not by debt and deficts as in the current  obsolete neoclassical monetary orthodoxy.

And don't forget the responsibility of everyone to particpate in useful work...

« Last Edit: Oct 26th, 2024 at 2:22pm by thegreatdivide »  

Reply #40 - Oct 26th, 2024 at 10:50pm

thegreatdivide wrote on Oct 26th, 2024 at 2:12pm:

it merely means eradication of poverty - which is a pipe dream - and until you come to grips with Comparative Poverty as your yardstick, you will never understand reality in that regard.

1. In a world which has sufficient resources to supply everyone with the essentials, poverty is a crime committed by the governing authorities (who are blindly beholden to obsolete neoclassical 'scarcity' dogma). 

2.  In Oz, the Henderson Poverty Line defines relative (or comparative) poverty,(in Oz).

(google)

The Henderson Poverty Line is a benchmark income that indicates when a family's income is too low to support their basic needs.

... if the Average is sufficient for all to live reasonably well.... clearly it is the lower end who suffer from poverty.

Yes. And?

The "lower end suffering in poverty" is exactly what Henderson says; do try to keep up. 

Note:  the 'average' income - which is distorted by a relatively few millionaires and billionaires - is not the same as the  'median' income - ie the wage which most people receive.

Yes, plus adequate public housing, transport, education, healthcare, and essential utilities,  for those who can't afford private.

Paid for by 1.

higher taxes,   

or 2.

Essentials for 'the lower end' to be subsidized by Treasury (who can create money ex nihilo...), limited only by  the nation's productive capacity, not by debt and deficts as in the current  obsolete neoclassical monetary orthodoxy.

thegreatdivide

Australian Politics<br
/>

Reply #41 - Oct 27th, 2024 at 12:21pm

Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Oct 26th, 2024 at 10:50pm:

(google)

Yes. And?

Paid for by 1.

higher taxes,   

or 2.

https://imagizer.imageshack.com/img641/9394/yawnr.gif

You trying Brian's (non) response?

At least many of his points have substance, you are a merely a blind 'survival of the fittest' ideologue, incapable of defending your stance.

Deplorable. 
« Last Edit: Oct 27th, 2024 at 1:37pm by thegreatdivide »  

Reply #42 - Oct 27th, 2024 at 12:30pm

None so blind - no wonder nobody bothers much with your specious non-arguments.... dear old Skanka lapsed near instantly into personal ad homs and such... the wee champ ... and is still spinning wildly out of control and on fire as hshe plunges to earth....

State after State ..... one at a time..... look at Queenslund..... Greens 0 .... One Nation 0  ...people are frightened of what the fringes will do given the excesses of the mainline parties.... so are desperately stuck with trying to make sense of two equally bad parties and their 'policies' ... nobody knows for certain what the policies of the LNP are going to turn out to be - but they sure as hell knew the didn't want any more of Labor's.

Now then - what about YOUR 'free ride for Aboriginal Supremacists'?  Lay out your entire platform for us.  Don't do a Leftie - sorry - Skanka - both socks - and flood the page leaving no room for response.... just take it slowly one idea at a time for us to dismantle for you.

Reply #43 - Oct 27th, 2024 at 1:04pm

thegreatdivide wrote on Oct 27th, 2024 at 12:21pm:
Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Oct 26th, 2024 at 10:50pm:

(google)

Yes. And?

Paid for by 1.

higher taxes,   

or 2.

https://imagizer.imageshack.com/img641/9394/yawnr.gif

You trying Brian's (non) response?

At least many of his points have substance, you are a merely a blind 'survival of the fittest' ideologue, incapable of defendong your stance.

Deplorable. 

Brian doesn't have or make any points.....

he just posts links to articles about feel good Aboriginal events or programs ....

says nothing ... and waits to either do his yawning emojie or call anyone countering the articles content racist, bigot, Islamaphobe or Transphobe.

thegreatdivide

Australian Politics<br
/>

Reply #44 - Oct 27th, 2024 at 1:56pm

Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Oct 27th, 2024 at 12:30pm:
None so blind - no wonder nobody bothers much with your specious non-arguments....

...while faith in  democracy itself is fast evaporating ...we await Nov. 6th with bated breathe;  don't shoot me I'm merely the messenger. 

State after State ..... one at a time..... look at Queenslund..... Greens 0 .... One Nation 0  ...people are frightened of what the fringes will do given the excesses of the mainline parties.... so are desperately stuck with trying to make sense of two equally bad parties and their 'policies' ...

Occasionally you make a correct statement, but without understanding the REASONS for the electorate's desperation. 

for the  nobody knows for certain what the policies of the LNP are going to turn out to be - but they sure as hell knew the didn't want any more of Labor's.

Correct, while the pollies play ther silly games: "the people want change, and we will give it to them..." ...hoping the people have poor memories....

Now then - what about YOUR 'free ride for Aboriginal Supremacists'? 

Achieve the goal: close the gap; and resist nonsense re black (or white) sovereignty.

Lay out your entire platform for us.

Establish above poverty participation in the economy for all;  apparently it will require nothing less than the re-education of neoclassical economists, but so be it.

The collapse of national economies under the pressure of climate change might do the trick, if, in the meantime,  the US manages to avoid civil war caused by obsolete neoclassical economic orthodoxy.