LOL (Read 518 times)

LOL
Oct 10th, 2024 at 2:06pm

Travel agents are openly marketing holidays – including visits to Disneyland in Japan and helicopter plus mini-golf tours in the Barossa Valley – to people on the National Disability Insurance Scheme, in what registered providers say is a major rort of the taxpayer-funded program.

A Senate estimates committee was told this week the NDIS was funding trips of $10,000 and $20,000, as part of damning testimony from the scheme’s integrity chief that the $44 billion system was rife with fraud.

Travel offerings to disabled using NDIS funds are common online. One recent Instagram post spruiked a nine-day Japan trip with stops in Tokyo, Kyoto, Mount Fuji and Disneyland tagged with #ndisservices #NDIS.

Others offer European cruises, camel trips to Oman and remote Whitsunday island stays. Brochures tout trips where it is claimed the NDIS will pay the bulk and sometimes all the costs of the travel or event.

Re: LOL
Reply #1 - Oct 10th, 2024 at 2:59pm

The Gospel according to Saint Aquascoot:

Disabled people shouldn't be able to take holidays and have some enjoyment in life like everyone else does.

Disabled people should stay inside their homes 24/7/365 (366 for leap years) to avoid being infected and possibly dying from Covid and other illnesses while everyone else parties on and takes holidays, etc.

Perhaps the Gospel according to Saint Aquascoot should include a chapter about the pollies and their huge taxpayer funded rorts and pensions, etc.?

Reply #2 - Oct 10th, 2024 at 3:07pm

Speaking of travel and rorts.

Does the Gospel according to Saint Aquascoot have anything to say about this?

WA Ombudsman Chris Field to resign after Corruption and Crime Commission issues 'serious misconduct' finding

WA's controversial globetrotting Ombudsman says he will resign in the wake of a damning Corruption and Crime Commission report that found he had created a sham process to allow him to bypass the premier's approval for his lavish international travel that cost taxpayers more than $200,000 in a single year.

Chris Field, who has been Ombudsman for 17 years but was on leave since May, caught the attention of the CCC as he jetted across the world while also serving as the president of the International Ombudsman Institute, racking up a $223,429 travel bill in 2022-2023 alone.

This was also on the front page of yesterday's The West Australian with a 2 page story inside.

And I'll bet this guy is just the 'tip of the iceberg' when it comes to these rorts.

Reply #3 - Oct 10th, 2024 at 3:11pm

Carl D wrote on Oct 10th, 2024 at 2:59pm:

Disabled people shouldn't be able to take holidays and have some enjoyment in life like everyone else does.

Disabled people should stay inside their homes 24/7/365 (366 for leap years) to avoid being infected and possibly dying from Covid and other illnesses while everyone else parties on and takes holidays, etc.

Perhaps the Gospel according to Saint Aquascoot should include a chapter about the pollies and their huge taxpayer funded rorts and pensions, etc.?

So tell me Carl why should taxpayers fund holidays to the tune $10k & $20k?

Why should they fund "cuddle therapy".

There's a bloke down the road from me who crashed a motorbike, injured a leg because he was high as kite & wanting to kill himself after a blue with his girlfriend.

Ended up losing the leg below the knee 2 yrs later. He has a prosthetic leg now. He's had carers for the past 4 or 5 years but he can do for himself.. drive cars, still ride a motorbike.

The NDIS paid for a $165,000 renovation to his bathroom which now includes an automated bidet.

Currently there is another major renovation going on to upgrade wheelchair ramps from outside into house at gawd knows what cost.

Self inflicted injuries - he can walk with a prosthetic and he gets a monster NDIS budget as well as carers and a pension. Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

Reply #4 - Oct 10th, 2024 at 3:11pm

hi carl

helicopter tours of the whitsundays put your pensioner bus discount to shame Grin Grin

Reply #5 - Oct 10th, 2024 at 3:24pm

I shall let my mother know that she expects me to stay indoors 24/7/365 days a year, given that she thinks I should go on the NDIS.

Reply #6 - Oct 10th, 2024 at 3:50pm

I do agree that rorts are going on with the NDIS.

Rorts are happening everywhere.

And, yes - something should be done about the rorts.

Then perhaps there might be more money available for things like the care package I've been waiting for since April for my 94 nearly 95 year old aunt.

If/when the package is approved then I may be able to get important things done like getting ramps for our front and back doors so I will no longer need to use the current (and dangerous) method of lifting my aunt's 4 wheel stroller over the doorstep (while she holds the handles and steps over the doorstep) every time we leave and return to the house.

But, I strongly suspect (as do a few other people in the same situation) the delay in approving Aged Care Packages doesn't have so much to do with lack of money but more to do with the government hoping the elderly will "drop off the perch" before the packages are approved.

It's the same as the government apparently couldn't care less about the ongoing disgrace of Covid deaths in aged care (894 so far this year and 7020 siince the start of the pandemic).

And I'll bet there's a chapter in the Gospel according to Saint Aquascoot about that (with a preface saying something like "I approve of this").

Reply #7 - Oct 10th, 2024 at 4:55pm

Carl D wrote on Oct 10th, 2024 at 3:50pm:
I do agree that rorts are going on with the NDIS.

Rorts are happening everywhere.

And, yes - something should be done about the rorts.

Then perhaps there might be more money available for things like the care package I've been waiting for since April for my 94 nearly 95 year old aunt.

If/when the package is approved then I may be able to get important things done like getting ramps for our front and back doors so I will no longer need to use the current (and dangerous) method of lifting my aunt's 4 wheel stroller over the doorstep (while she holds the handles and steps over the doorstep) every time we leave and return to the house.

But, I strongly suspect (as do a few other people in the same situation) the delay in approving Aged Care Packages doesn't have so much to do with lack of money but more to do with the government hoping the elderly will "drop off the perch" before the packages are approved.

It's the same as the government apparently couldn't care less about the ongoing disgrace of Covid deaths in aged care (894 so far this year and 7020 siince the start of the pandemic).

And I'll bet there's a chapter in the Gospel according to Saint Aquascoot about that (with a preface saying something like "I approve of this").

hi carl

the government spend 46 billion on the ndis

if they scrapped it and spent it on the old age pension, you would get a pension rise of $9000 a year or $180 a week

clearly they dont care about the old age pensioner

clearly they want to solve their housing crisis by not supporting people like your aunt to stay at home and putting her in a nursing home , so a new residence can go on the market.

clearly the people running the NDIS are like the people running the job network

they are way better at sucking on the government titty then you

the solution?

wean yourself and take some "personal responsibility"  Wink

Reply #8 - Oct 11th, 2024 at 7:43am

aquascoot wrote on Oct 10th, 2024 at 4:55pm:
they are way better at sucking on the government titty then you

Let's see.

I worked and paid tax from February 5th, 1974 until June 29th, 2019. And, during all of those years I was under the impression that when I reached the age of 65 I would be able to access the Age Pension. As did everyone who worked and paid tax during those years.

I then spent 5 years living on my superannuation to look after my elderly aunt and to also deal with my own medical issues - prostate cancer and thyroid surgery.

Now that my superannuation is almost exhausted I have applied for the age pension (and it's been approved) which I am legally entitled to, even though I had to wait 2 more years (67 instead of 65 thanks to the government increasing the pension eligibility age) than I had expected to during all the years I worked and paid tax.

So, please enlighten me as to how you consider this to be "sucking on the government titty". I'm all ears.

If you really want to go on about "sucking on the government titty" perhaps you should look no further than WA's former Premier, Mark "Sneakers" McGowan who retired from politics last year claiming he was "exhausted" and is now claiming a $275,000 a year taxpayer funded pension on top of working 4 (or is it 5 now?) part time private sector jobs.

And there's many, many more pollies just like him.

Where's your outrage about that?
« Last Edit: Oct 11th, 2024 at 10:49am by Carl D »  

Reply #9 - Oct 11th, 2024 at 9:49am

Well - such munificence should then be extended to all without heaps in the bank, eh?

SadKangaroo

#FightStupid

Mianjin (Brisbane)
Reply #10 - Oct 11th, 2024 at 1:21pm

I would not normally do this, but perhaps it would be nice for those being so critical of those on the NDIS to have to experience the suffering that some of these people go through.

As we've seen with the folk in Florida, it's all "socialism bad!" until they need government assistance after a natural disaster, then it's "you're not giving me enough!".

Perhaps before you judge you should have to walk a mile in their shoes/prosthetic/wheelchair/bedridden.

Reply #11 - Oct 12th, 2024 at 7:12am

You, sir/madam, would not 'normally' do anything!!

SadKangaroo

#FightStupid

Mianjin (Brisbane)
Reply #12 - Oct 12th, 2024 at 7:49am

Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Oct 12th, 2024 at 7:12am:

Feel better?

R U Ok?

Reply #13 - Oct 13th, 2024 at 12:33am

SadKangaroo wrote on Oct 12th, 2024 at 7:49am:

https://gifdb.com/images/featured/burn-399k5ky5rkip95fq.gif

Feel better?

R U Ok?

Gotcha, slick.... so easy...

SadKangaroo

#FightStupid

Mianjin (Brisbane)
Reply #14 - Oct 13th, 2024 at 8:24am

Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Oct 13th, 2024 at 12:33am:
SadKangaroo wrote on Oct 12th, 2024 at 7:49am:

https://gifdb.com/images/featured/burn-399k5ky5rkip95fq.gif

Feel better?

R U Ok?

Gotcha, slick.... so easy...

Sarcasm?