Union Workers Win After 20 Weeks On Strike (Read 156 times)
whiteknight

Union Workers Win After 20 Weeks On Strike
Nov 8th, 2024 at 11:34am

Unions Tasmania celebrates Saputo mainland pay parity victory   Smiley
06 November 2024
Unions Tasmania
Unions Tasmania is today celebrating the news that Saputo workers in Burnie have won a 21.7% pay rise, achieving mainland pay parity with their Victorian counterparts and ending their epic battle with the company after 20 weeks on strike.   Smiley

We congratulate and pay tribute to the strength and resolve of members of the Australian Manufacturing Workers Union (AMWU) and the Communications Electrical and Plumbing Union (CEPU) who stood firm for the fundamental principle that Tasmanian workers deserve to be paid the same as mainland workers for doing the same job.

“We were proud to stand beside members at Saputo as they took on a multinational for mainland pay parity – and won,” said Unions Tasmania Secretary, Jessica Munday.

“This dispute was a lightning rod for Tasmanian workers all over our state, not only because of the incredible commitment of the workers to take such significant industrial action at great personal cost, but because it caused other workers to look at their own wages and ask whether they were being ripped off too.”

Battles for mainland wages have been increasing in Tasmania as workers in both the private and public sector are demanding an end to being paid less just because of where we live.   Smiley

“We’ve seen workers in the Tasmanian public sector across areas such as child safety, pharmacy, radiography, utilities, and even in our workplace safety regulator take industrial action in support of mainland wages. We’re seeing wins too with pharmacists achieving a market allowance of thousands of dollars to bridge the gap between wages here and interstate.”

“What we know is that one victory in one workplace spurs on workers in others. The Saputo win will absolutely be motivation for Tasmanian workers to continue to work with their unions to win mainland pay parity in their workplace, sector, or industry,” said Ms Munday.

“The community is going to be hearing it more and more from Tassie workers – same job, same pay,” said Ms Munday.

Unions Tasmania is encouraging the community to end the Saputo product boycott and again fill their trolleys with products including Cheer, Cracker Barrell, Devondale, Great Ocean Road, King Island Dairy, Liddells, Mersey Valley, Mil Lel, South Cape, Sungold and Tasmanian Heritage.

Daves2017

Re: Union Workers Win After 20 Weeks On Strike
Reply #1 - Nov 8th, 2024 at 7:21pm

Can someone please find Chris Minns, labor premier of NSW?

Last seen enjoying the “ rorts” of the Qantas chairman lounge?

His probably missed the email while busy engaging in rorts but , NSW Nurses, he might have no idea what or who they are, his so detached from Australian life, but Chris, looking, why are NSW nurse’s paid between $6 and $16 a HOUR less than Qld nurses?

Oh Chris, I voted for you but unless you come down from your free flight rorts and do your job I will flick you at the ballot paper as quickly as I squash a mosquito.

Thomas A. Edison said as early as in 1931, “I’d put my money on the sun and solar energy. What a source of power! I hope we don’t have to wait until oil and coal run out before we tackle that.”

Reply #2 - Nov 10th, 2024 at 11:08am

Anyone found Minns yet?

He's probably still hiding in the Qantas Chairmans Lounge with WA Premier Roger Cook until the heat dies down about Cook's undeclared Chairman's Lounge membership.

Seeing as the pollies are so obsessed with Chairman's Lounge memberships, "upgrades" and "freebies" I wish the lot of them (especially Airbus Albo) would hop onto a plane for a one way trip to anywhere else in the world.

And good riddance.

Reply #3 - Nov 10th, 2024 at 4:38pm

Teachers - 1 hour .....

Nurses - 20 weeks.......

Ah, yes - regular teacher pets they are!!  What gives?  Teachers are not that great these days and many are 'bricks' and ideologically bound to insanities etc that they pass on to children like some sort of social virus.... nurses work all hours and all conditions and often do heavy work - backs etc... often nasty sights... PTSD... assaults from mad patients.... and other lunatics...

Why do nurses have to fight for a pay rise and teachers raise a hand in protest and demand and get?

What's with all these individual pay rises for industries?  More division, divide and conquer?  Distract the people while you make them so poor they can't afford to use their national parks, so you can then declare them unused and hand them off to your old buddies with the whining culture?

Albo... ALBO!!!!!   Ho Chi... HO CHI MINNS!!!!  WTF are you doing?  Rats... I'm surrounded by rats... just when you figure you're getting stronger, along comes.....

Reply #4 - Nov 11th, 2024 at 4:31pm

You see - what I'm getting at here, people, is that AlboCorp has not even begun to repair the division and conquer established by its 'LNP' forerunners, all the way back to Work'Choices' - and instead of having a nation-wide all worker determination on pay rise, is playing the game of one-at-a-time and is literally playing favourites.

I KNOW that these teachers and nurses are state issues - but an over-arching genuine pay/industrial relations network puts a stop to this one-out Workchoices nonsense and the opportunity to play favourites. ..... teachers/propagandists/adherents to the Party line ... are apparently more worthy than nurses.... and are rewarded for teaching children to cut their nuts and tits off etc... adhere to the mad left pro-Hamas line... teach them that boys can give BJs and such and girls can be boys and munch rug ... that the equipment you were born with means nothing compared to what you think your feelings are ... that girls/women are oppressed despite every advantage being handed to them without effort.... (still laughing at that bulldust handed to Newcastle Uni students that 'women used to be yelled at in the workplace by men, and now that places like the PS are dominated by women it's all soooo smooth' etc - that one's on a par with 'women were smaller because they were fed less food to keep them that way... ROFL)....and that being white is filled with privilege and is unworthy due to theft and genocides past.... it's all in the books coming through in the Inclusivity Department... (you could spend all day ROFLing over this bulldust except it's so serious - if you wrote any of that crap into a movie it would just have to be a comedy) .....

Clearly these are far more important and worthy issues for the current crop of international socialists than saving lives....

Cool  Cool  Cool  Cool  Cool  Cool  Cool  Cool  Cool  Cool

Drain The Billabongs!!  Give the People a Voice!!