Christmass Ale (Read 72 times)

Christmass Ale
Dec 15th, 2024 at 4:14pm

LOL, Christmas is nearly here.

In the shop, about April or so I would make the “Christmass Ale” Pack. A 3Kg part mash (made some all-extract Packs but not nearly as good as the partmash) with complex mix of grains—want a nice dark color in the Ale. A hop Pack with only bittering and flavoring additions—the ale had to be aged 6 months to remove the alcohol heat so aroma would be gone anyway. Hops were chosen to give a fruity flavor.

There was extract—dry extract gave me much more profit than a can of liquid malt.

Told the buyers of this great Pack to top the fermenter to 18L or even 15L for nice strong ale.

I didn’t make a spice pack to go with the Pack but described what spices could be used and warning against cinnamon, to use cassia instead.

This Pack wasn’t cheap and would have taken 4 hours to brew. Yet it was a popular Pack, never stayed long on the shelf!

No customer brought a stubby in to give me a taste tho, drat it!

The idea behind the Pack that at Christmass lunch when the Christmass pud—heavy, dark, spicy and fruity—took its place there was a beer there to match it, equally dark, strong, spicy and fruity  Grin

Re: Christmass Ale
Reply #1 - Dec 15th, 2024 at 4:25pm

This beer would have drunk even better in the winter after the Christmas. Some said, yes, flavors melded nicely, bitterness slightly less so a smoother drink. Success!

You know what? Come April I am going to make myself a batch of Christmass Ale! Part mash is only 4 hours compared to a 7 hour or longer full mash brewday, much less material—grain and water—involved. Might even add some ground wattle seed to the spice mix!

Just need to find a decent 15L esky with a tap in one end, make a simple manifold.

Be good!

Reply #2 - Dec 15th, 2024 at 4:30pm

Christmas beer - gotta love it  Smiley

Keep brewin', Monk.

Sadly, though, this will be my first Christmas as an orphan - I'll have an extra beer for mum & dad.

Reply #3 - Dec 15th, 2024 at 4:34pm

Recipe, some thoughts:

Grain—4Kg, a really nice base malt, some Munich malt—lightly toasted pale malt. Hmmm amber and brown to get the gorgeous dark brown color? Depends on what specialty malts are available, maybe just add 50g chocolate malt.

Hops. Will need to look this up, see what is available these days. Modern hops are very high alpha acid meaning only a small amount needs to be added. I want LOW alpha acid hops, add a lot and really get some hop flavor. Plain old East Kent Goldings with Fuggles as the late addition would be fine. Two late additions—30 minutes into the boil and again 45 minutes into the boil i.e. 15 minutes before the end of boil, build up that flavor.

Spices—cassia, coriander, cardamon, star anise, maybe some other spice and maybe ground wattle seed? Cloves and allspice. To “fix” the spice flavor/aroma we add spices at 15 minutes before the end of the boil and when turning the heat off.

Buy spring water. Tap water sky high with calcium, nah, will make hop bitterness harsh and it needs a lot of hops to balance all that malt. Maybe 1Kg blue gum honey to reduce the final gravity else drinking the ale will be like drinking golden syrup!

The ale will be 7–8% abv. Maybe aim for 6.5–7% abv from grain and 1%abv from the honey. The honey I add by taking the lid off the bucket then adding the bucket to the wort—the hot wort will dissolve all the honey. Will explain the need in the next post.

Hmmm need a gas burner and a gas bottle.
« Last Edit: Dec 16th, 2024 at 6:50am by Jovial Monk »  

Reply #4 - Dec 15th, 2024 at 4:35pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Dec 15th, 2024 at 4:30pm:
Christmas beer - gotta love it  Smiley

Keep brewin', Monk.

Sadly, though, this will be my first Christmas as an orphan - I'll have an extra beer for mum & dad.

Know what you are going through! Keep that chin up!

Reply #5 - Dec 16th, 2024 at 7:04am

Why add honey to the ale?

Your “normal” beer tends to finish with a final gravity around 1.0012 to 1.0010 (water is 1.0000 gravity units) (aka 10-12 gravity units.) With a big beer tho that final gravity will be rather higher.

My Russian Imperial Stouts at 14%abv finished their main ferment with a gravity of 1.033—a HUGE amount of residual sugar. Two weeks in the fridge did nothing much to gravity. I racked the stout into a steel corny keg, lowered that into my little “cellar.” Fished it out 12 months later—FG 1.0019—and bottled without adding any priming sugar.

High alcohol is not healthy for yeast.

An 8% beer would finish with residual sugar still present.

FG ≈ OG/4 as a rough calculation so an OG 1080 beer would finish with a FG of 80/4 = 20 gravity units—too high! So use malt to get the beer to say 70GUs and add 10GUs as sugar—“dextrose” or honey which is an inverted sugar basically and so does not add a nasty “tang” to the finished beer.

Thinking back I think I may have sold a 500g packet of muscovado sugar—a cane sugar with all the molasses still in there. Any sucrose tang just gets lost in the malt-hop-spice flavor. The molasses adds yet more flavor.

Hmmm something else to think about.

Reply #6 - Dec 16th, 2024 at 7:28am

Using this brew calculator: https://www.brewersfriend.com/homebrew/recipe/calculator

I get 4Kg base malt gives me an OG of 1051 and an FG of 1013 (51/4 = 12.75)

Now I could repeat this the next day and get an 8% beer. Too hard so I will use malt extract to beef up the beer.

A 1.5Kg can of Coopers light liquid malt extract (buy one with two years before the “best before” date to not get a nasty extract tang) will give me 21 gravity units so OG becomes 51 + 21 = 72GU.

What if no fresh liquid malt is available? Turn to dry extract reluctantly—no idea how old that extract is and dry extract never ferments completely so we can use 75% dry extract + 25% dextrose. Nah, strictly last resort.

Finally, 1Kg honey gives an OG of 16GU.

So our Christmass Ale has an OG of 51 + 21 + 16 = 88GU. Perfect! The expected FG would be 88/4 = 22 but with the honey would be a bit lower than that. To get the FG down a tad more I would use a yeast like Lallemand Nottingham Ale Yeast.

Nottingham works pretty hard, ferment more than the usual amount of sugar. Rehydrate in 120ml 40°C water and pitch. Then 24 hours later I would run the fermenting beer from one fermenter into another fermenter placed below it. This hugely aerates the wort-turning-into-beer helping the yeast ferment cleanly and completely. A week later when the ferment is complete I would pitch another packet of Nottingham—clean up any off flavors and ferment another point or two.

Nottingham is a clean, neutral yeast. It adds the fruitiness ale yeasts add but not much. It also ferments at lower temperatures, again aiding cleanness in the finished beer. Good for Tassie autumns!

With malt, hop and spice flavors who cares if the yeast is neutral?

This beer would be fine for a couple of years—the extract could add off flavors after that. Be a nice winter drink the winter following Christmass and then at the next Christmass.

Reply #7 - Dec 16th, 2024 at 12:56pm

Ummm liquid malt should be fine, never had much experience with it, doesn’t cause off flavors over time—just checked that on Google  Grin

It is only worth buying the light liquid malt—get color and flavor steeping specialty grains or part mash like my proposed Christmass Ale..