Re: Dumb Ambos
Reply #30 - Jan 24th, 2025 at 12:16pm

aquascoot wrote on Jan 24th, 2025 at 10:34am:
freediver wrote on Jan 24th, 2025 at 10:22am:
So which is it scoot? The ambulance travels slower because it "immediately" encounters another car pulling over after each one it overtakes, or the ambulance travels slower because it never catches up to the next vehicle because the traffic is moving so fast?

people cruising at 80 to 85 hear the siren and see the ambo coming up 5 cars back. they immediately hit the anchors looking for a safe place to pull off.
because of the prevalence of deep drainage ditches, concrete culverts and driveways, wheelie bins and other paraphenalia, they are taking quite  while to get off.
further up the road some others come to almost a complete stop, such is their panic.

this allows further traffic waiting in side streets to enter the space in front of the unfolding mess, further congesting the road.

my speedo , as i tailgate the ambo slows to 40.
some people only get 1/2 off the road as their car is nearly in the ditch
then people behind them wait for oncoming traffic to clear before dart around them and join in the nonsense

i actually just googled it and the timesaving is an average of 45 seconds per trip.
and since obviously on  a non congested road, they could save a lot of time, on a congested road, they may be going slower bringing down this average to such a mediocre saving
and a 50 % increase in crashes.

in fact, the researchers say that light and sirens should only be used in rare circumstances

maybe this dumb ambo should enlighten himself as should you. Wink

You are getting angry over something you obviously do not understand Scoot. Just drive safely, make way for emergency vehicles when you can, and enjoy the rest of your day. You ae a busy man with important tasks to do.

people cruising at 80 to 85 hear the siren and see the ambo coming up 5 cars back

So after overtaking 200 cars, is the ambulance trip faster or slower than if it had not overtaken any cars?

BTW, just another technical detail - people do not hear the siren on busy roads, especially in modern cars if the windows are up, air con on and music is playing. They see the lights first. I cannot remember the last time an emergency vehicle past me with both lights and siren on. They often don't even bother with the siren. Maybe they save it for the suburbs where you can't see as far.
« Last Edit: Jan 24th, 2025 at 12:21pm by freediver »  

chimera

Armidale
Reply #31 - Jan 24th, 2025 at 12:31pm

The ambo can do 100kmh on 80k roads. This is in patches between cars where he drops to 40k.

Doing 100k all the way for 20kms saves 3 minutes on 80k.
Staying with 80k traffic saves nothing.
A siren at 40k on congested roads plus 100k patches will eventually reach the 200th car doing 40k. It's low dividend return as 200 cars are worth heaps and injury is possible.  A few seconds plus or minus.

Reply #32 - Jan 24th, 2025 at 12:56pm

freediver wrote on Jan 24th, 2025 at 12:16pm:
aquascoot wrote on Jan 24th, 2025 at 10:34am:
freediver wrote on Jan 24th, 2025 at 10:22am:
So which is it scoot? The ambulance travels slower because it "immediately" encounters another car pulling over after each one it overtakes, or the ambulance travels slower because it never catches up to the next vehicle because the traffic is moving so fast?

people cruising at 80 to 85 hear the siren and see the ambo coming up 5 cars back. they immediately hit the anchors looking for a safe place to pull off.
because of the prevalence of deep drainage ditches, concrete culverts and driveways, wheelie bins and other paraphenalia, they are taking quite  while to get off.
further up the road some others come to almost a complete stop, such is their panic.

this allows further traffic waiting in side streets to enter the space in front of the unfolding mess, further congesting the road.

my speedo , as i tailgate the ambo slows to 40.
some people only get 1/2 off the road as their car is nearly in the ditch
then people behind them wait for oncoming traffic to clear before dart around them and join in the nonsense

i actually just googled it and the timesaving is an average of 45 seconds per trip.
and since obviously on  a non congested road, they could save a lot of time, on a congested road, they may be going slower bringing down this average to such a mediocre saving
and a 50 % increase in crashes.

in fact, the researchers say that light and sirens should only be used in rare circumstances

maybe this dumb ambo should enlighten himself as should you. Wink

You are getting angry over something you obviously do not understand Scoot. Just drive safely, make way for emergency vehicles when you can, and enjoy the rest of your day. You ae a busy man with important tasks to do.

people cruising at 80 to 85 hear the siren and see the ambo coming up 5 cars back

So after overtaking 200 cars, is the ambulance trip faster or slower than if it had not overtaken any cars?

BTW, just another technical detail - people do not hear the siren on busy roads, especially in modern cars if the windows are up, air con on and music is playing. They see the lights first. I cannot remember the last time an emergency vehicle past me with both lights and siren on. They often don't even bother with the siren. Maybe they save it for the suburbs where you can't see as far.

if he overtook 200 cars which had all slowed to snails pace looking for a place to get over the verge , he has overtaken 200 cars doing walking pace.

he has lengthened his journey

this was my "lived experience"

the time meant nothing to me

i just dont like seeing people being mindless numpties

by the way, when only john smith is defending you its time for a radical reappraisal

Reply #33 - Jan 24th, 2025 at 2:16pm

if he overtook 200 cars which had all slowed to snails pace looking for a place to get over the verge , he has overtaken 200 cars doing walking pace.

How do you overtake 200 cars while travelling slower than all 200 of them?

This is you getting angry over something you do not understand.

Reply #34 - Jan 24th, 2025 at 4:21pm

Perhaps he meant to type "livid experience"?

It's probably that pesky phone causing him trouble - again.  Undecided

Reply #35 - Jan 24th, 2025 at 4:38pm

freediver wrote on Jan 24th, 2025 at 2:16pm:

when the ambulance was able to overtake, they had slowed to 20 kph and had 1/2 their car in a ditch.

thats how Smiley

chimera

Armidale
Reply #36 - Jan 24th, 2025 at 5:50pm

freediver has a pedal tricycle

Reply #37 - Jan 24th, 2025 at 6:28pm

I'm with Scoot on this one.

What the Ambo did may have very slightly reduced their over-all travel time but sounds like they greatly increased the risk of an incident for a small saving.

Traveling at a slightly increased speed makes very minimal total savings.
We've all seen the freeway speeder fly past then 20 mins later when you pull into the servo  you can see he got there 90 something seconds before you.

In built up areas, the main thing that saves emergency vehicles time is not going faster, but using their siren to get through red lights and use the opposite side of the road to get thru a blocked section.

In Scoots example, a long line of traffic was moving consistently at 80. If there was good verge on both side then using the siren would make sense but if cars have to pull over into a dangerous area and slow down considerably, sounds like sticking to 80 in this case makes better sense.

Reply #38 - Jan 24th, 2025 at 6:49pm

UnSubRocky wrote on Jan 23rd, 2025 at 4:13pm:
Weird to blame the ambulance driver for something that car drivers should be able to do without much trouble. Drivers are only required to slow down and pull over to the side of the road to let emergency vehicles pass. No matter how good the road may be, any licenced driver should be able to pull over to the side of the road momentarily and let emergency vehicles gets by.

If you're doing 80 and there is no verge with rocky terrain and you're in a car with not much ground clearance and very low profile tyres, you'd need to slow down to nearly 10.

In my car I could put 2 wheels in the dirt at 80, in my wifes car, more like at 20.
My daughter who's only had her Ps for a few months would need longer to safely slow down and would probably need to slow down to 10.

Every combination of car and driver would be very different.

Reply #39 - Jan 24th, 2025 at 7:11pm

Ambos need to have V snow ploughs on them.

chimera

Armidale
Reply #40 - Jan 24th, 2025 at 7:30pm

and 20 ambulances following behind for the injuries.

Reply #41 - Jan 25th, 2025 at 9:12am

I'll get a picture of the road

Reply #42 - Jan 25th, 2025 at 10:02am

aquascoot wrote on Jan 24th, 2025 at 4:38pm:
freediver wrote on Jan 24th, 2025 at 2:16pm:

when the ambulance was able to overtake, they had slowed to 20 kph and had 1/2 their car in a ditch.

thats how Smiley

You are not making any sense Scoot. How does slowing to 20 km/h allow the ambulance to overtake 200 vehicles that are all travelling faster than it? Are you saying all 200 vehicles pull over at the same time?

Gordon wrote on Jan 24th, 2025 at 6:28pm:
I'm with Scoot on this one.

What the Ambo did may have very slightly reduced their over-all travel time

So you are with Scoot, but disagree on his main point?

chimera

Armidale
Reply #43 - Jan 25th, 2025 at 10:11am

freediver wrote on Jan 25th, 2025 at 10:02am:
How does slowing to 20 km/h allow the ambulance to overtake 200 vehicles that are all travelling faster than it? Are you saying all 200 vehicles pull over at the same time?

This is getting worse.

Reply #44 - Jan 25th, 2025 at 12:57pm

huh.

pretend you are the ambulance driver
pretend you are travelling at 80 kph and in front of you is an endless chain of cars doing 80.
pretend there are double white lines'
pretend that there is a dangerous verge with loose gravel, long grass, driveways with concrete bollards, trees and drainage ditches (obscured by the grass).

now you cant overtake as there is an endless stream of oncoming traffic.

so you speed up to 90, come up behind a driver and put on lights and sirens.

what is he supposed to do?
the only way he can clear out of your path is to pull off to the left.
a manouvere which is impossible to do at speed without killing himself
so he slows down to pull over
as gordon said, he may have to slow to a near stop to safely get off the road
an all the time he is slowing, you are stuck slowing as well.

now the next guy up the road sees you running that guy off the road with your lights and sirens and he starts to slow and look off to the left for a possible exit point

so please tell me what you are achieving by having every car in front of you jamm on the brakes , on a road where you cant go across the middle line

please enlighten me on how cars going at 80 which are now braking are speeding up your journey ?

me thinks you are just too stubborn to admit you got it wrong  Cry Cry Cry
s

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6