What is the best wrist watch to buy? (Read 24738 times)

What is the best wrist watch to buy?
Nov 20th, 2010 at 12:20pm

I am amazed by technology.
Crikey - have a look at the watch in this picture.
It uses a Temperature Compensated Voltage Controlled Crystal Oscillator (TCVCXO).

Other watches with dual Xtals etc are at this link:
http://forums.watchuseek.com/showthread.php?t=2087

Soren

Re: What is the best wrist watch to buy?
Reply #1 - Nov 20th, 2010 at 12:57pm

What's the point?? The trains and buses are going to be late, no matter what watch you have.

JC Denton

Reply #2 - Nov 20th, 2010 at 1:19pm

I don't have that problem when I am in Germany.

I'm sure Coral Sea will be able to oblige you with some good advice on this question. He is a wristwatch aficionado. I'll remind him to post here.

Life_goes_on

400kms south of Yobsville, Qld
Reply #3 - Nov 20th, 2010 at 1:35pm

Certainly nothing with an electronic movement.

Something Swiss and with an automatic movement - although the Germans do make a few nice autos.

"You're just one lucky motherf-cker" - Someone, 5th February 2013

Num num num num.

gizmo_2655

South West NSW
Reply #4 - Nov 20th, 2010 at 3:03pm

Depends what you use it for Bobby...

Unless you're Bill Gates, there's no point in wearing a $100,000 Rolex while mowing the lawn or changing the oil in the car..

So something fairly robust and able to keep time...the watch YOU can afford, but one that will not cause heart palpitations if it's lost or broken...

Personally, I always used to buy the $19.95 "no-name" specials from Big W......but that was because it didn't matter if it got smashed while subduing a drunk at the pub...

"I just get sick of people who place a label on someone else with their own definition.

It's similar to a strawman fallacy"
Bobbythebat

Life_goes_on

Reply #5 - Nov 20th, 2010 at 3:42pm

I had a Russian Vostok military auto for years. They still make them and you can pick them up new for around $100 including postage. They come in heaps of different face designs.

Waterproof, shock proof, built like a tank and can take heaps of abuse.
No batteries to buy, but they do need a service every couple of years.

Num num num num.

Reply #6 - Nov 20th, 2010 at 4:12pm

JC Denton wrote on Nov 20th, 2010 at 1:19pm:
I don't have that problem when I am in Germany.

I'm sure Coral Sea will be able to oblige you with some good advice on this question. He is a wristwatch aficionado. I'll remind him to post here.

Thanks - did you read the link to the forum?
see here:

Reply #7 - Nov 20th, 2010 at 4:13pm

Life_goes_on wrote on Nov 20th, 2010 at 1:35pm:

Something Swiss and with an automatic movement - although the Germans do make a few nice autos.

I don't agree.
Read the link I gave & you will see masterpieces which
give such accurate time compared to mechanical only watches.

See link:

Reply #8 - Nov 20th, 2010 at 4:15pm

Gizmo.
Personally, I always used to buy the $19.95 "no-name" specials from Big W......but that was because it didn't matter if it got smashed while subduing a drunk at the pub...

What a bogan you are.  Grin

I think an Omega or Rolex would calm you down
and help avoid pub brawls.

muso

Gladstone, Queensland
Reply #9 - Nov 20th, 2010 at 4:17pm

Bobby. wrote on Nov 20th, 2010 at 4:13pm:
Life_goes_on wrote on Nov 20th, 2010 at 1:35pm:

I don't agree.

See link:

I use my phone. It's accurate to the second and it corrects itself for time zones. It's all I need.

I also have a heart monitor watch which I use for exercise zones.

1523 people like this. The remaining 7,134,765,234 do not 

Reply #10 - Nov 20th, 2010 at 4:21pm

Muso.
heart monitor watch

I bet the rate goes up when you see some babes getting physical in their leotards?

Talking of time - did you notice that freediver never changed
the time on this forum when we went to daylight saving?
It's an hour behind.

gizmo_2655

South West NSW
Reply #11 - Nov 20th, 2010 at 4:30pm

Bobby. wrote on Nov 20th, 2010 at 4:15pm:
Gizmo.

What a bogan you are.  Grin

and help avoid pub brawls.

LOL no bobby, not a 'bogan', just a security guard/crowd controller

"I just get sick of people who place a label on someone else with their own definition.

Bobbythebat

Reply #12 - Nov 20th, 2010 at 4:35pm

Gizmo.
LOL no bobby, not a 'bogan', just a security guard/crowd controller.

OK - Now I understand.
A $20 plastic watch would be perfect for your line of work.

I know someone who used to buy one of those every time the battery went flat.
He said it was easier than trying to muck around replacing the battery.

My watch is 30 years old.
It's a Seiko quartz sports 100.
It still keeps time to better than 2 seconds per month.

gizmo_2655

South West NSW
Reply #13 - Nov 20th, 2010 at 4:42pm

Bobby. wrote on Nov 20th, 2010 at 4:35pm:
Gizmo.
LOL no bobby, not a 'bogan', just a security guard/crowd controller.

OK - Now I understand.
A $20 plastic watch would be perfect for your line of work.

I know someone who used to buy one of those every time the battery went flat.
He said it was easier than trying to muck around replacing the battery.

My watch is 30 years old.
It's a Seiko quartz sports 100.
It still keeps time to better than 2 seconds per month.

Seiko is a good brand...My last 'Big W' special keeps less than 2 minutes per month...but if someone smashes it, or steals it...I really don't care..

Eventually I'll buy a 'flash' one and keep it for special occasions..

Bobbythebat

Reply #14 - Nov 20th, 2010 at 5:09pm

Gizmo.
Seiko is a good brand...My last 'Big W' special keeps less than 2 minutes per month...but if someone smashes it, or steals it...I really don't care..

You really need to upgrade.
Babes go for guys with Rolex or Omega watches.

muso

Gladstone, Queensland
Reply #15 - Nov 20th, 2010 at 5:10pm

gizmo_2655 wrote on Nov 20th, 2010 at 4:42pm:

I have a Seiko kinetic watch in a drawer somewhere. I didn't like the metal wrist band so I gave up wearing it.

It also had time relay. That was plain weird. It must work off wireless time stations or something. When you hop off a flight, the hands whiz around to the right time. At first, I wondered what the noise was. Sometimes it takes an hour or so to adjust.

1523 people like this. The remaining 7,134,765,234 do not 

Life_goes_on

Reply #16 - Nov 20th, 2010 at 5:36pm

I don't agree.

While it's true that quartz watches can be more accurate than any mechanical watch, you'll find that it's the mechanical watches which are the most prized.

Yet you pick two brands who only make mechanical watches?
Omega never have (their Swatch brand aside) and Rolex stopped making them a decade ago.

For a lot of us, there's something about having a miniature mechanical marvel sitting on your wrist.

Num num num num.

Reply #17 - Nov 20th, 2010 at 9:41pm

Life_goes_on wrote on Nov 20th, 2010 at 5:36pm:
I don't agree.

While it's true that quartz watches can be more accurate than any mechanical watch, you'll find that it's the mechanical watches which are the most prized.

Omega never have (their Swatch brand aside) and Rolex stopped making them a decade ago.

For a lot of us, there's something about having a miniature mechanical marvel sitting on your wrist.

Hello - the watch on the first page of this article is a Rolex & it says:
It uses a Temperature Compensated Voltage Controlled Crystal Oscillator (TCVCXO).

It's not a mechanical watch.

Here is an Omega Seamaster watch & it says
Caliber: Omega 1538
Quartz precision movement with rhodium-plated finish. End of battery life indicator
Power reserve: 27 / 36 months

It's not a mechanical watch either.

Omega_Seamaster.png (148 KB | 55 )
Omega_Seamaster.png

abu_rashid

Aussie Muslim

Reply #18 - Nov 21st, 2010 at 1:34am

Are there still some neo-Luddites out there who don't realise mobile phones have clocks in them nowadays?

abu_rashid  

Reply #19 - Nov 21st, 2010 at 6:20am

abu_rashid wrote on Nov 21st, 2010 at 1:34am:
Are there still some neo-Luddites out there who don't realise mobile phones have clocks in them nowadays?

Abu - this thread is about technology in wrist watches not mobile phones.
That would be another thread if you want to start one.
I thought that Muslims love nice watches?
I heard Bahrain & Dubai are full of watch shops?

JC Denton

Reply #20 - Nov 21st, 2010 at 6:48am

Yeah, but it looks like garbage and as a result, makes you look poor. A nice watch is about status signaling, it's plain and simple.

I thought that Muslims love nice watches?
I heard Bahrain & Dubai are full of watch shops?

Arabs love status signaling too. I mean when you're that ugly, what choice do you have?

Reply #21 - Nov 21st, 2010 at 7:34am

Arabs love status signaling too. I mean when you're that ugly, what choice do you have?

Some of those Arab women are beautifull -
that's if you can see them under their tents that they wear.

Life_goes_on

Reply #22 - Nov 21st, 2010 at 8:39pm

Bobby. wrote on Nov 20th, 2010 at 9:41pm:
Life_goes_on wrote on Nov 20th, 2010 at 5:36pm:
I don't agree.

Hello - the watch on the first page of this article is a Rolex & it says:

It's not a mechanical watch.

Here is an Omega Seamaster watch & it says
Caliber: Omega 1538
Quartz precision movement with rhodium-plated finish. End of battery life indicator
Power reserve: 27 / 36 months

It's not a mechanical watch either.

My humble apologies, you're correct, although Rolex ceased production of the one in the OP in 2001.

It's probably a good idea for both Rolex and Omega to offer budget (quartz) movements as an alternative to their pricier mechanical automatic movements. Especially for those who are purely making a purchase based upon the brand name.

Num num num num.

Reply #23 - Nov 21st, 2010 at 10:20pm

Life.
My humble apologies, you're correct, although Rolex ceased production of the one in the OP in 2001.

It's probably a good idea for both Rolex and Omega to offer budget (quartz) movements as an alternative to their pricier mechanical automatic movements. Especially for those who are purely making a purchase based upon the brand name.

No worries.
The Omega Seamaster 300 metre watch (above) costs around $5,000.
It's hardly for those on a budget.
I know that I would prefer the quartz version they make because it's more accurate.

This thread is placed in the - "Technically speaking"  section for a reason.
It's to technically evaluate the best watches.
I hope you have read the article at this address:?

It gives a wonderful insight into the technical advances made with quartz.
In fact the quartz crystal oscillates in a mechanical way.
It actually moves back & forth at high frequency so it is in some ways
still a mechanical watch.
The battery is only used to excite the quartz to move.
Some watches have 2 crystals & temperature compensation as well.

To me the watches shown are so advanced that pure mechanical watches
are more a curiosity than a preferred method of time keeping.

Life_goes_on

Reply #24 - Nov 21st, 2010 at 10:41pm

Yes, the mechanical automatic version costs around $5,000. The quartz version retails for under $3,000.

So in comparison, the Quartz version is the budget version - that's if you're looking to spend between $2k and $5k on a wrist tick tock by Omega.

Care to guess which one will hold its value the best?

Num num num num.

Reply #25 - Nov 21st, 2010 at 11:04pm

Life_goes_on wrote on Nov 21st, 2010 at 10:41pm:

Yes, the mechanical automatic version costs around $5,000. The quartz version retails for under $3,000.

So in comparison, the Quartz version is the budget version - that's if you're looking to spend between $2k and $5k on a wrist tick tock by Omega.

Care to guess which one will hold its value the best?

To be honest I can't find the Seamaster above again.
I am not sure of the prices.
You are right in that at this moment collectors seem to value
the pure mechanical watches much more.

God knows what the Rolex on the front page would cost?
- and that is a quartz version.

Reply #26 - Nov 22nd, 2010 at 2:26pm

I just noticed this thread, I am a watchmaker by trade, but haven't worked as one since i finished my apprenticeship 28 years ago, thanks to the cheap watches available nowadays watchmaking is about as useful trade as candle stick making.
I dont even know if they still run a course nowadays, but even in the class I was in we only had 18 people from all over NSW so I doubt too many more trained after me.
All of that said, I never worked on a rolex but omega made some  quality watches,as for the run of the mill affordable watches on the market now, Seiko still make a couple of mechanical watches, I have one that I bought about three years ago and it was only a few hundred bucks,but it gains about a minute a month and as its a 100 metre (which only means you can go ten metres under water btw) watch I wouldn't bother trying to get it fixed, once they are opened the seal can not be guaranteed to work as well.
If you want the "best" I'd be looking at Swiss made, but thats just my opinion,as bobby has said most quartz watches keep better time anyway. I remember when Casio watches first became popular in Aus, that was the beginning of the end for watchmaking, all they needed was a new battery and the customer was on their way.

aussiefree2ride

Reply #27 - Nov 22nd, 2010 at 3:06pm

it`s 7 to December dippy.

Reply #28 - Nov 22nd, 2010 at 3:07pm

skippy. wrote on Nov 22nd, 2010 at 2:26pm:
I just noticed this thread, I am a watchmaker by trade, but haven't worked as one since i finished my apprenticeship 28 years ago, thanks to the cheap watches available nowadays watchmaking is about as useful trade as candle stick making.
I dont even know if they still run a course nowadays, but even in the class I was in we only had 18 people from all over NSW so I doubt too many more trained after me.
All of that said, I never worked on a rolex but omega made some  quality watches,as for the run of the mill affordable watches on the market now, Seiko still make a couple of mechanical watches, I have one that I bought about three years ago and it was only a few hundred bucks,but it gains about a minute a month and as its a 100 metre (which only means you can go ten metres under water btw) watch I wouldn't bother trying to get it fixed, once they are opened the seal can not be guaranteed to work as well.
If you want the "best" I'd be looking at Swiss made, but thats just my opinion,as bobby has said most quartz watches keep better time anyway. I remember when Casio watches first became popular in Aus, that was the beginning of the end for watchmaking, all they needed was a new battery and the customer was on their way.

Thanks Skippy.
Did you ever work on a dual crystal temperature compensated watch?
That seems to be the ultimate in time keeping now.

As for 300m waterproof - I doubt that too.
When people go diving they buy a proper divers watch -
they don't use a Rolex.  Grin

Reply #29 - Nov 22nd, 2010 at 4:02pm

Thanks Skippy.

No, I'm not sure I've even heard of one until you just wrote it, but I haven't worked on a watch for about 28 years, though I have played with a few old clocks that my wife got off her grandma, one of those is still keeping good time,but clocks were always much easier to work on compered to watches.

Freya Darkmoon

Reply #30 - Nov 22nd, 2010 at 7:55pm

i still wear wristwatches. your story was sad skippy. my dad owns a bunch of swiss watches and loves watches too. quartz watches changed everything.. it must have been very bad for the people who were so passionate about making mechanical watches and seeing their trade vanish.

Reply #31 - Nov 22nd, 2010 at 8:07pm

skippy. wrote on Nov 22nd, 2010 at 4:02pm:
Thanks Skippy.

No, I'm not sure I've even heard of one until you just wrote it, but I haven't worked on a watch for about 28 years, though I have played with a few old clocks that my wife got off her grandma, one of those is still keeping good time,but clocks were always much easier to work on compered to watches.

That is a sad story but surely service is required on quartz watches too? -
especially when they can cost over $5,000.

As for me - I use the internet to check the time.
I use this site:
http://www.time.gov/timezone.cgi?Pacific/d/-8/java

to adjust my watch.
It appears to have quite a good system in that it allows for your time delay.
It gives the accuracy to normally better than 1 second.

Life_goes_on

Reply #32 - Nov 22nd, 2010 at 10:12pm

God knows what the Rolex on the front page would cost?
- and that is a quartz version.

There's one made in 1980 for sale on the net - with an 18k gold bezel - for around $4,500.

Rolex make a series of dive watches with a true water proof depth of over 3,000 metres. Of course nobody has ever worn one that deep.

Num num num num.

Jaykaye_09

Reply #33 - Nov 23rd, 2010 at 1:16am

I have two watches:

The first is a Raymond Weil Tango (I bought into the quality of a Swiss watch without knowing much else about them)

The second is a Casio G-Shock, old school looking gun

I barely wear any of them (though I really should), and pretty much know nothing about how they work.

If I don't respond to a post directed toward me, it's probably because I've gone offline, not because I'm rude.&&&&Or maybe I don't like you. In which case, sod off. Ta.

Reply #34 - Nov 23rd, 2010 at 7:50am

Nice watches.
There are so many good looking watches for under $200.
Here is one.
You wonder whether the expensive ones are worth the extra money?

Bulova_Watch.jpg (116 KB | 65 )
Bulova_Watch.jpg

Miss Anne Dryst

Reply #35 - Nov 25th, 2010 at 6:59am

The best wrist watch is the one that someone else pays for.

It's hard to soar like an eagle when conversing with turkeys

gizmo_2655

South West NSW
Reply #36 - Nov 25th, 2010 at 11:42am

abu_rashid wrote on Nov 21st, 2010 at 1:34am:

But abu, the thread is about wristwatches...

Besides, there are times and places where you can't really carry a mobile phone with you...

Bobbythebat

gizmo_2655

South West NSW
Reply #37 - Nov 25th, 2010 at 11:45am

skippy. wrote on Nov 22nd, 2010 at 2:26pm:
All of that said, I never worked on a rolex but omega made some  quality watches,as for the run of the mill affordable watches on the market now, Seiko still make a couple of mechanical watches, I have one that I bought about three years ago and it was only a few hundred bucks,but it gains about a minute a month and as its a 100 metre (which only means you can go ten metres under water btw) watch I wouldn't bother trying to get it fixed, once they are opened the seal can not be guaranteed to work as well.

Well it seems they do still run courses skippy.....one place at least does..(not sure if it involves more than just changing batteries though..)

http://www.nswgrouptraining.com.au/p209_Watchmaker.html

Bobbythebat

Miss Anne Dryst

Reply #38 - Nov 25th, 2010 at 12:13pm

Whatever happened to the fob watch?

mellie

Reply #39 - Nov 25th, 2010 at 12:24pm

How about....

Piaget’s Emperador Temple or  Cartier’s phoenix-shaped wristwatch. Other pieces stand by their technical merits, such as Frank Muller’s Aeternitas Mega 4, with 36 complications and Louis Moinet’s new piece, Meteoris, set of 4 , which is made from four meteorites from space and comes with a planetarium of the solar system.

Personally, I'm a fan of the humble Zodiac watch.

Cool

All together now Labor voters.......&&&&lap-tops, pink-bats refugees and Clunker-cars&&&&insurance.AES256

mellie

Reply #40 - Nov 25th, 2010 at 12:26pm

Miss Anne Dryst wrote on Nov 25th, 2010 at 12:13pm:

It was politically incorrect and offended boat people...
those...

"Fresh Off the Boat"..

Wink...However, i'm sure Skippy would have loved it.

All together now Labor voters.......&&&&lap-tops, pink-bats refugees and Clunker-cars&&&&insurance.AES256

Miss Anne Dryst

Reply #41 - Nov 25th, 2010 at 12:29pm

mellie wrote on Nov 25th, 2010 at 12:26pm:

those...

"Fresh Off the Boat"..

oooooohhhhhh funny girl
is humour allowed here?

mellie

Reply #42 - Nov 25th, 2010 at 12:31pm

Miss Anne Dryst wrote on Nov 25th, 2010 at 12:29pm:
mellie wrote on Nov 25th, 2010 at 12:26pm:

those...

"Fresh Off the Boat"..

oooooohhhhhh funny girl
is humour allowed here?

I like to think it is.

Cool Allowed I mean...depends on the mods mood.

gizmo_2655

South West NSW
Reply #43 - Nov 25th, 2010 at 1:10pm

Men stopped wearing three piece suits, no 'fob' pocket, no way to wear a fob watch...

Although I have a 'sort of' fob watch..has a belt pouch and a clip..

Bobbythebat

Reply #44 - Nov 25th, 2010 at 1:45pm

Miss Anne Dryst wrote on Nov 25th, 2010 at 6:59am:
The best wrist watch is the one that someone else pays for.

Not always - a girlfriend of mine - a long time ago - bought me a watch that
I didn't like.
It had thick gold plating on it which soon started to wear thin under the bracelet
& started to look tatty where it wore through in other places.
Even thick gold plating soon wears through.

mellie

Reply #45 - Nov 25th, 2010 at 3:44pm

I have a watch fetish, so it's probably a good thing i'm not a man, as I especially love men's watches...prefer them actually, not that I would wear one myself because they look grotesque on woman's arms, naturally.

Take a look at this store on ebay...you can get some bargains there.

http://stores.ebay.com.au/DESIGNERTIMEUK/_i.html?_nkw=watch&_from=R46

How about blooming rose by Rolex?

Ps, only in the case of cheap watches does the gold rub off.

http://www.rolexwatchesblog.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/03/rolex_everose_daytona...

Don't get me started about clocks..

I like any watch, clock that looks more complicated than it should, I have no idea why, I just love interesting watches.

mellie

Reply #46 - Nov 25th, 2010 at 4:01pm

Oh and I love fob watches too.

Smiley..   All watches.

Ticking vintage alarm clocks, church clocks, clock towers, pocket watches, grandfather clocks,  I even have a clock tower screen saver.

Reply #47 - Nov 25th, 2010 at 4:11pm

Lovely!

Miss Anne Dryst

Reply #48 - Nov 25th, 2010 at 5:31pm

A Minnie Mouse watch!
Can you still get them?

Reply #49 - Nov 25th, 2010 at 6:30pm

Mellie,
I have a watch fetish, so it's probably a good thing i'm not a man, as I especially love men's watches...prefer them actually, not that I would wear one myself because they look grotesque on woman's arms, naturally.

I think mens watches worn by women look ok.
A lot of nurses do that so that they can see the second had to take a pulse.
I am glad to see all the replies here.
I thought I was the only one who loves interesting watches.
As for the Rolex - yummy!

I don't think a Minnie Mouse watch qualifies here  Grin

Miss Anne Dryst

Reply #50 - Nov 25th, 2010 at 6:32pm

Bobby. wrote on Nov 25th, 2010 at 6:30pm:
Mellie,

I think mens watches worn by women look ok.
A lot of nurses do that so that they can see the second had to take a pulse.
I am glad to see all the replies here.
I thought I was the only one who loves interesting watches.
As for the Rolex - yummy!

I don't think a Minnie Mouse watch qualifies here  Grin

ok ok lol
But men's watches are designed so as the time is easier to read. Whilst we have to squint to actually be able to see the time!!

Just not fair.  Angry  Grin

Reply #51 - Nov 25th, 2010 at 6:34pm

Anne.
ok ok lol
But men's watches are designed so as the time is easier to read. Whilst we have to squint to actually be able to see the time!!

Just not fair. 

Don't use them then.
If you wear a men's watch I won't call you butch  Grin

Miss Anne Dryst

Reply #52 - Nov 25th, 2010 at 6:36pm

Bobby. wrote on Nov 25th, 2010 at 6:34pm:
Anne.
ok ok lol

Just not fair.  

Don't use them then.
If you wear a men's watch I won't call you butch  Grin

Thanks
But maybe they have gay guys watches, which would be more feminine.
Best of both worlds then.

Reply #53 - Nov 25th, 2010 at 10:57pm

Anne.
Thanks

What - poof watches -
now I've heard everything  Grin

Miss Anne Dryst

Reply #54 - Nov 26th, 2010 at 4:47am

Bobby. wrote on Nov 25th, 2010 at 10:57pm:
Anne.
Thanks

What - poof watches -
now I've heard everything  Grin

Guess that does sound funny lol
Do they make a half way watch, not the big chunky guy watches or the itsy bitsy girl watches, but half way?
And can you get them in hard plastic/rubber, so then can also be in brighter even fluorescent colours?

Reply #55 - Nov 26th, 2010 at 6:38am

Anne.
Here is one that would suit you.

http://www.shoppewatch.com/haurex-italy-1a340dpm-womens-yacht-rubber-strap-watch...

I can't seem to copy the pic - even the enlarged version.

Miss Anne Dryst

Reply #56 - Nov 26th, 2010 at 6:45am

Bobby. wrote on Nov 26th, 2010 at 6:38am:
Anne.
Here is one that would suit you.

http://www.shoppewatch.com/haurex-italy-1a340dpm-womens-yacht-rubber-strap-watch...

I can't seem to copy the pic - even the enlarged version.

Thanks for the tip
I couldn't grab the pic either.
So I went and googled for it and found something similar.
Biut mid-size looks good
http://www.amazon.com/Haurex-Italy-Womens-7A340DNM-Yacht/dp/B0037W556C?tag=landing_page-20

Although its metal they also have the 'rubberised' ones and in some nice colours too. Cool

watch.jpg (170 KB | 81 )
watch.jpg

Reply #57 - Nov 26th, 2010 at 7:30am

Anne - looks great - I think you're getting into a watch buying mood.  Smiley

Miss Anne Dryst

Reply #58 - Nov 26th, 2010 at 12:21pm

Thanks, I may just do that too.

Reply #59 - Nov 26th, 2010 at 10:27pm

This has to be the best pic I've found of the Omega Seamaster.
From here:
http://www.blowers-jewellers.co.uk/images2/watch_images_pages/pages/omega_seamas...

Reply #60 - Nov 26th, 2010 at 10:33pm

And surely there must be fakes around:

see here:
http://www.ioffer.com/i/new-omega-automatic-watch-watches-177105871

Reply #61 - Nov 26th, 2010 at 10:54pm

That "Omega Seamaster"   was $59.  Grin

This site quotes $3,200 for the same watch:

http://au.askmen.com/fashion/watch/omega-seamaster-300m-22208000.html

Miss Anne Dryst

Reply #62 - Nov 27th, 2010 at 5:39am

Bobby. wrote on Nov 26th, 2010 at 10:27pm:
This has to be the best pic I've found of the Omega Seamaster.
From here:
http://www.blowers-jewellers.co.uk/images2/watch_images_pages/pages/omega_seamas...

Nice watch, but if I was that outlet I'd be changing the name.

Miss Anne Dryst

Reply #63 - Nov 27th, 2010 at 5:43am

Bobby. wrote on Nov 26th, 2010 at 10:54pm:
That "Omega Seamaster"   was $59.  Grin

This site quotes $3,200 for the same watch:

http://au.askmen.com/fashion/watch/omega-seamaster-300m-22208000.html

Well if a $59 watch lasts a year then that'd be ok, as just get another one and so on.
And in a few years can change to a different watch altogether.

Is any watch worth $3,000?
Be a bit like buying a car and expecting it to last. A watch would be similar wouldn't it, the servicing and replacement parts would also expect to be expensive.
I suppose there are some places (Cash Converters, Pawn Shops etc) that take "second hand" watches, but would you actually go to one to buy or even to sell in order to buy another watch elsewhere?

Reply #64 - Nov 27th, 2010 at 7:49am

Anne.
Well if a $59 watch lasts a year then that'd be ok, as just get another one and so on.
And in a few years can change to a different watch altogether.

The guy in that advert has never sold anything before.
It's probably an internet scam.
You'd probably end up with nothing.

Is any watch worth $3,000?

Yes - definetly if you would rather not have the cash in the bank instead.

the servicing and replacement parts would also expect to be expensive.

If you bought a quartz watch then you would only need to replace the battery.
To keep the seals intact you would need to go to an authorised dealer
to have new seals/o-rings as well.
I don't think that would be too expensive - more an inconvenience.
The pure mechanical types would  be costly to repair & I am not
sure if proper repair facilities & parts are available in Australia.

I suppose there are some places (Cash Converters, Pawn Shops etc) that take "second hand" watches, but would you actually go to one to buy or even to sell in order to buy another watch elsewhere?

Those places would only give you 10% of what the watch was worth
so not a good idea.

Reply #65 - Nov 27th, 2010 at 11:32am

It seems I was right at the start of this forum when I posted
a picture of a Rolex Oyster Quartz.
Unfortunately they are no longer made & have become
expensive collectors items.

http://clockmaker.com.au/w/k1581.html

Rolex OYSTERQUARTZ DAY-DATE Ref 19018 18K solid gold watch
Rolex OYSTERQUARTZ DAY-DATE Ref 19018 18K solid gold watch. Serial B7195831. Case diameter 37mm.

A very fine example of the best mechanical quartz movement ever produced by any Swiss maker - the 18K oyster quartz is an exceptionally rare watch. During 25 years of production, only 1000 pieces of Oyster quartz were manufactured annually and out of those 1000, most of them were stainless steel and steel/gold combination. Excellent value, solid investment potential. OYSTERQUARTZ- The best Quartz ever made!

Recently overhauled by Rolex Service centre.

Long bracelet to fit XL wrist.

$A 12,888 GST INCLUDED 

Reply #66 - Nov 27th, 2010 at 2:57pm

A qualified watchmaker could repair an Omega, there would still be places in the capital cities where you could get parts.
I'm not sure if they are still there but most of the places we used to get parts from were in Elizabeth street in Sydney.
Smith and Smith is one I remember and another place called Rowland I think, but that was years ago they could have moved on.
I remember being a first year apprentice and having to go to the city twice a week to get parts and pick up watches /clocks and jewellery we didn't repair ourselves. In those days we even took jewellery into Castlereagh street for engraving, nowadays any Mr minute can do it.
« Last Edit: Nov 27th, 2010 at 3:08pm by skippy. »  

Reply #67 - Nov 27th, 2010 at 4:33pm

skippy. wrote on Nov 27th, 2010 at 2:57pm:

A qualified watchmaker could repair an Omega, there would still be places in the capital cities where you could get parts.
I'm not sure if they are still there but most of the places we used to get parts from were in Elizabeth street in Sydney.
Smith and Smith is one I remember and another place called Rowland I think, but that was years ago they could have moved on.
I remember being a first year apprentice and having to go to the city twice a week to get parts and pick up watches /clocks and jewellery we didn't repair ourselves. In those days we even took jewellery into Castlereagh street for engraving, nowadays any Mr minute can do it.

Thanks Skippy.
I wonder about watches - especially when you see so many good looking
ones at cheap stores for only $25.
One of those would be more accurate than a
mechanical Omega Seamaster costing $5250.

Accuracy seems to have flown out the window with all the watch makers.
Some good watches of yester-year have dual crystals - one at a high frequency,
one at a low frequency & temperature compensation -
why don't they make them anymore?
The accuracy has got worse - not better over time.

The watch has just become a pure status symbol.
The mechanical Omega Seamaster is a wonderful piece of engineering -
especially that you can also see the mechanical movement through the glass
on the bottom of the watch but really - what is the point?
It's a curiosity to show people & hold their attention for maybe a minute & that's all.
It's a talking piece & a wonderful example of attractive jewellery but
wouldn't it be nice if you could also say that it was the most accurate watch ever made?

Reply #68 - Nov 28th, 2010 at 10:11am

I have just browsed an interesting watch website.
They seem to have everything there from watches costing a few
hundred dolllars to others costing as much as a house.

See link:

http://www.watchonwatch.com/

Reply #69 - Nov 28th, 2010 at 8:28pm

I own a Seiko sports and you can see the mechanical movement through the back of the watch, that was one of the reasons I bought it.

Reply #70 - Nov 28th, 2010 at 11:47pm

skippy. wrote on Nov 28th, 2010 at 8:28pm:

I own a Seiko sports and you can see the mechanical movement through the back of the watch, that was one of the reasons I bought it.

I can understand that - I am also fascinated by the movement myself.
I could never work out they made such small precisely machined cog wheels
which mesh so perfectly.
They really are mechanical marvels.
I suppose every watch collector would have one.
How long would they go for before requiring expensive service?
I have a 30 year old quartz watch which just requires a battery every 5 years
& has never been cleaned inside yet it still goes perfectly.

Latest find - the most accurate watch you can buy is the Citizen Chronomaster.
It is accurate to better than ± 5 seconds per year
& sells for about $2,500.

See here:
« Last Edit: Nov 28th, 2010 at 11:53pm by Bobby. »  

Reply #71 - Dec 4th, 2010 at 11:39am

OK - if this video doesn't get your rocks off - you don't appreciate watches.
How about a Thomas Prescher Triple Axis Tourbillon with
an open window so you can see it going?
It costs over half a million dollars.

Reply #72 - Dec 5th, 2010 at 8:54pm

Watches are my thing, them and good Italian shoes.
I have a Longlines, a couple of nice Fossils(cheap but nice),Omega and a casio calculater watch for a bit of fun, but my next purchase will be a Thomas Sabo ceramic.
http://shop.thomassabo.com/EN-en/watches/rebel-at-heart/watch/pid/WA0068-220-203
So far I have 9 and wear a different one everyday Smiley

Reply #73 - Dec 5th, 2010 at 10:59pm

Dsmithy70 wrote on Dec 5th, 2010 at 8:54pm:
Watches are my thing, them and good Italian shoes.
I have a Longlines, a couple of nice Fossils(cheap but nice),Omega and a casio calculater watch for a bit of fun, but my next purchase will be a Thomas Sabo ceramic.
http://shop.thomassabo.com/EN-en/watches/rebel-at-heart/watch/pid/WA0068-220-203
So far I have 9 and wear a different one everyday Smiley

Hi Smithy - do you really want to go for something that looks so dark?

Reply #74 - Dec 6th, 2010 at 8:22am

The photos don't do it justice Bobby.
Looks extremely elegant and classy in real life.

Reply #75 - Dec 9th, 2010 at 9:33pm

How about this one?
It's a:    PATEK PHILIPPE 5002R ROSE GOLD SKY-MOON TOURBILLON

It is reversible - so that you can see a different watch by flipping it over.
The cost is US $1,350,000 -  that's right - over 1 million bucks!

There is even one available on Ebay right now.

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=180594653682&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT