Peter Reith has died at age 72. (Read 1857 times)

Peter Reith has died at age 72.
Nov 8th, 2022 at 8:16pm

The lying prick can get fuqqed.  May he rot in Hell for his atrocious lies, and soon enough his mate Hayseed will join him there.

Yeah, harsh I know, but he deserves it.

Re: Peter Reith has died at age 72.
Reply #1 - Nov 8th, 2022 at 8:36pm

Aussie wrote on Nov 8th, 2022 at 8:16pm:
The lying prick can get fuqqed.  May he rot in Hell for his atrocious lies, and soon enough his mate Hayseed will join him there.

Fuqqn hell, you ARE deformed, arse. Hideous stinker.

Reply #2 - Nov 8th, 2022 at 8:37pm

Did Peter Reith ever enter a school and pin a kid to a tree?

Reply #3 - Nov 8th, 2022 at 8:38pm

Wasn't he the one who sent in vicious dogs to bite union members?

Reply #4 - Nov 8th, 2022 at 8:53pm

good chap, strong , principled, stoic, able to make tough choices.

one of the good guys

Reply #5 - Nov 8th, 2022 at 9:02pm

Bobby. wrote on Nov 8th, 2022 at 8:38pm:

Yup.

Reply #6 - Nov 8th, 2022 at 9:02pm

The confirmed reports from the officer on the spot at the time were that there were no children overboard... now it's saying that refugee claimants were 'threatening' to throw children overboard... anfd again such a report from the front was never made..

Anyway - it was never based on a single solid thing... and when the SAS were heli-dropped on the decks they were scratching their heads wondering why they were there giving basic medical checks and minor treatment and food and such to kids when there was supposed to be some big international crisis.

HowardCo always were fantasists... anything to push the party line....

Aussie is right here.

Reply #7 - Nov 8th, 2022 at 9:20pm

Jovial Monk wrote on Nov 8th, 2022 at 9:02pm:

Yup.

It was at the wharves - many workers went to hospital from their injuries.
Peter Reith should have gone to jail for it but nothing happened.

Reply #8 - Nov 8th, 2022 at 9:21pm

Frank wrote on Nov 8th, 2022 at 8:36pm:

1. I have no idea why Aussie posted what he did.

2. Aussie has shown ME that HE is a lying hypocrite because it's a well known fact that Aussie doesn't believe in God or Heaven or Hell.

3. Peter Reith died at age 72 after a long battle with Alzheimer's. It's a horrible and vile way to die. Being there watching him die would have been very traumatic for his wife and children.

Reply #9 - Nov 8th, 2022 at 9:28pm

Bobby. wrote on Nov 8th, 2022 at 9:20pm:

Yup.

WTF are you talking about?

You do realise we're talking union thugs which held Australia to ransom ... yeah?

Peter Reith stood up to these pricks and instituted reform because they were out of control thugs who thought they could always call the shots!

He's a bloody legend!

Reply #10 - Nov 8th, 2022 at 9:32pm

aquascoot wrote on Nov 8th, 2022 at 8:53pm:

one of the good guys

Yep. He was always allocated the tough jobs which required making tough decisions.

Reply #11 - Nov 8th, 2022 at 10:09pm

Lisa Jones wrote on Nov 8th, 2022 at 9:28pm:

Yup.

You do realise we're talking union thugs which held Australia to ransom ... yeah?

Peter Reith stood up to these pricks and instituted reform because they were out of control thugs who thought they could always call the shots!

He's a bloody legend!

History V2 revision 1 ?

Reply #12 - Nov 8th, 2022 at 10:17pm

Yup.

He's a bloody legend!

Yes - and now they're part-time casuals and struggling to pay their mortgages and raise their families while the bosses and the shareholders romp in the warm sun ...

And Labor just abandoned its own again by playing the charade of 'compromising' over their industry wide agreement policy... on the totally unproven and unprovable and historically incorrect basis that it would cost jobs and cause strikes... What a Load Of Codswallop!

Look at the train dispute...... did industry wide negotiation cause that?   Or was it government recalcitrance to come to the table and deal fairly?

https://www.abs.gov.au/statistics/labour/earnings-and-working-conditions/industr...

Now - who's going to tell me that industry wide negotiations over agreements are going to cause more industrial trouble?  What causes industrial trouble is stupid management suffering from the delusion that they can stand over workers and impose whatever they want......

Then look at the number of companies before the courts for breaching pay rates and such even under their agreements that advantage them...

No workers - no economy - no economy - all your perks die .... and not before time... your rental properties turn to dust..... your shares become toilet paper......

Get with the real world.

Just go back to a full Award system and all the troubles vanish in a heartbeat.... and guess why.....

Reply #13 - Nov 8th, 2022 at 10:33pm

The Waterfront dispute was one of the most disgraceful actions conspired between the employer and Government. People should have gone to prison over this one.

The government were openly horrified when the shell employment company setup under financed went broke 3 months before they were meant to. This meant that the lockouts were set in motion in May of 1998 instead of around October which would have made it the perfect election stunt as was planned and intended.

Peter Reith's name was connected to the very worst aspects of the arrangements that set this up.

The outcome of the dispute is not what most people believe.

Reply #14 - Nov 8th, 2022 at 11:06pm

Yup.

He's a bloody legend!

But Lisa,
union members were viciously mauled by dogs.    Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry

Reply #15 - Nov 8th, 2022 at 11:10pm

Absolute nonsense! I must say I'm quite shocked at what I'm reading here tonight.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/1998_Australian_waterfront_dispute

We are talking CFMEU type Union here! Thugs! Stand over men! Lazy sods who hardly worked and yet had the nerve to demand unbelievable wages and conditions for doing SFA! And they had been getting away with it for decades. Australia's performance level on the waterfront was abysmally inefficient ... to the point where it had adversely affected our reputation with our trading partners!

Reply #16 - Nov 8th, 2022 at 11:28pm

Bobby. wrote on Nov 8th, 2022 at 11:06pm:

Yup.

He's a bloody legend!

But Lisa,

What are you talking about? No they weren't!

Reply #17 - Nov 8th, 2022 at 11:32pm

Lisa Jones wrote on Nov 8th, 2022 at 11:28pm:
But Lisa,

I remember one union member recounting the story on TV.    Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry

Reply #18 - Nov 8th, 2022 at 11:39pm

Bobby. wrote on Nov 8th, 2022 at 11:32pm:
Lisa Jones wrote on Nov 8th, 2022 at 11:28pm:
But Lisa,

I remember one union member recounting the story on TV.    Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry

Nope. Nothing here that i I could find on such a dog attack

Reply #19 - Nov 8th, 2022 at 11:40pm

Lisa Jones wrote on Nov 8th, 2022 at 11:10pm:
Absolute nonsense! I must say I'm quite shocked at what I'm reading here tonight.

We are talking CFMEU type Union here! Thugs! Stand over men! Lazy sods who hardly worked and yet had the nerve to demand unbelievable wages and conditions for doing SFA! And they had been getting away with it for decades. Australia's performance level on the waterfront was abysmally inefficient ... to the point where it had adversely affected our reputation with our trading partners!

It's ridiculous to even begin to discuss inefficient operations from the POV that it is the worker's fault - they have little to no power or control over the way things are done.  As for such nonsenses as 'feather bedding' - look at the politicians and managers who receive an extra dose of cash and perks just for being possibly available some time to take over from someone else who is away for any reason.

Sorry - it doesn't work that way - being the boss doesn't entitle you to better treatment and perks than those who do the work.  MANY a company has destroyed itself by promoting this feudal baron style of silliness long outdated in any civilised modern society.

Business and economies are a symbiotic relationship - and if one side deliberately poisons the other, both die.

Reith was nothing more than the perfect example of the totally deluded ideologue who did his master's bidding without any real idea or thought himself....well DUH!

Easy - just return to a full Award system and nobody can whine that things are no good.... would pharken stabilise inflation and the economy, too for a start, since wage costs and industrial relations would be more predictable... and the rules so much more simple and easy to follow instead of trying to rort your way around them .....

I cannot train fools....

whiteknight

Reply #20 - Nov 9th, 2022 at 5:49am

9 Nov 2022 New Daily
Mr Reith had already overseen major changes to industrial law, after proving an able negotiator with the Australian Democrats in the Senate, when he backed Patrick Corporation’s 1998 challenge to the powerful Maritime Union of Australia.

It involved a secret attempt to train a scab labor force in Dubai, lock-outs and pickets, heavies in balaclavas with snarling dogs, dubious financial manoeuvres and legal challenges all the way to the High Court.   Angry

Reply #21 - Nov 9th, 2022 at 6:01am

https://melbourneunitarian.org.au/files/beacons/Beacon-2020-11.pdf

In order to understand the propaganda being
disseminated by Patrick Corporation and the
federal government around the waterside dispute in
Sydney, it is important to recall the last time Patrick
Corporation decided to take on the union. There
were hard-to-forget tactics used by this company
against its workers then. Cast your minds back to
1998, when that company decided to sack its entire
waterside workforce.
Remember the hooded thugs,
the vicious dogs,

the lockout, the scabs imported
to take the place of unionised workers? Do you
also recall the generous support offered by the
then Minister for Industrial Relations in the Howard
government, Peter Reith, in all of this illegal activity?
The Australian waterfront dispute of 1998 was
an event in Australian industrial relations history,
in which the Patrick Corporation undertook a
restructuring of their operations for the purpose
of dismissing their workforce. The restructuring
by Patrick Corporation was later ruled illegal by
Australian courts.
– ABC news report on the Waterfront Dispute,
April 1998

Reply #22 - Nov 9th, 2022 at 6:25am

Yep good riddance to bad rubbish there imo!

Reply #23 - Nov 9th, 2022 at 7:06am

Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Nov 8th, 2022 at 11:40pm:

It's ridiculous to even begin to discuss inefficient operations from the POV that it is the worker's fault - they have little to no power or control over the way things are done.  As for such nonsenses as 'feather bedding' - look at the politicians and managers who receive an extra dose of cash and perks just for being possibly available some time to take over from someone else who is away for any reason.

Sorry - it doesn't work that way - being the boss doesn't entitle you to better treatment and perks than those who do the work.  MANY a company has destroyed itself by promoting this feudal baron style of silliness long outdated in any civilised modern society.

Business and economies are a symbiotic relationship - and if one side deliberately poisons the other, both die.

Reith was nothing more than the perfect example of the totally deluded ideologue who did his master's bidding without any real idea or thought himself....well DUH!

Easy - just return to a full Award system and nobody can whine that things are no good.... would pharken stabilise inflation and the economy, too for a start, since wage costs and industrial relations would be more predictable... and the rules so much more simple and easy to follow instead of trying to rort your way around them .....

I cannot train fools....

Ok a few observations:

1. Grappler...you're clearly an intelligent person. I do value your posts and I thank you for taking the time to provide your input.

2. Unfortunately you're neglecting 1 very important element - history. The actual event isn't the whole picture. The history behind all this MUST be considered if you value context.

3. Any conversation in this topic needs to bear in mind the following reality:

• The existence of a subversive thug styled sub culture of self entitled employees backed by communist <---- that's right extreme left wing political puppeteers who essentially used these employees to control an entire industry which ultimately undermined Australia's reputation wrt its trading partners and affected our economy. Everything coming in and out of Australia was at the mercy of a bunch of bludgers who were paid ridiculous amounts of money and they essentially bludged for that money in return.

• This subversive sub culture stood in sharp contrast to other unions. The only other union which it resembled (from memory) was the notorious CFMEU.

NB : The information I'm providing in this post is largely gleaned from HOW we were taught back at Uni in the early 1990's as students. Even way back in 1990 - I recall studying about Australia's waterfront union issue which had reached boiling point a number of times back then. In 1996 Howard's Liberal govt won by a landslide <--- it was a massacre ... and they jumped in to fix the stuff that had been sitting in Labor's "too hard" basket. Our waterfront industry was affecting our economy and no amount of appeasing the militant styled union which effectively controlled it ... had worked. It was time to respond in kind - and that's exactly what Peter Reith did.

Edit : 1 last thing - employees do not control a business/enterprise. For starters they don't even own it. Let's break this down a tad. Grappler ... how would you like it if you started a business and employed a team of workers who told you what to do and how much you should pay them and who ordered you about wrt to their lunch breaks start/finish times and how much output they felt was sufficient? You'd be looking at an ineffective/inefficient and bankrupt enterprise very quickly. And your earlier comment about technology picking up the slack does not make sense either. Technology exists to help not pick up the slack of employees who hold the enterprise that employs them to ransom.

Look I could say a lot more but I've got to hang up a load of washing. Later?

Reply #24 - Nov 9th, 2022 at 7:10am

Redmond Neck wrote on Nov 9th, 2022 at 6:25am:

STFU Redback. As usual - you're in here like the typical blowfly we all know you are ... to say SFA because you really haven't got a bloody clue!

Reply #25 - Nov 9th, 2022 at 8:16am

Lisa Jones wrote on Nov 8th, 2022 at 9:21pm:

2. Aussie has shown ME that HE is a lying hypocrite because it's a well known fact that Aussie doesn't believe in God or Heaven or Hell.

3. Peter Reith died at age 72 after a long battle with Alzheimer's. It's a horrible and vile way to die. Being there watching him die would have been very traumatic for his wife and children.

Reith was a deliberate liar going out of his way to assist Hayseed's bullshit about kids overboard.  And yes, Bobby is right....he did used animals to attack human beings, and that is reflective of the man's 'integrity.'

"a long battle with Alzheimer's".......yeas, I know, that is a darling expression of the media, but it is softshoe crap.  You might as well say that a bloke who perished after falling from a cliff top died after a glorious but short battle with gravity.

This bloke was a very willing political scum bag bottom dwelling lap dog, and his talents were ruthlessly exploited by Hayseed.

Reply #26 - Nov 9th, 2022 at 8:22am

Aussie,
And yes, Bobby is right....he did used animals to attack human beings,
and that is reflective of the man's 'integrity.'

Workers ended up in hospital with serious dog mauling injures but
it was covered up in the media.

Reply #27 - Nov 9th, 2022 at 8:26am

Bobby. wrote on Nov 9th, 2022 at 8:22am:
Aussie,

Reply #28 - Nov 9th, 2022 at 8:30am

A senate committee later found that not only were children not thrown overboard and there was no evidence to support claims that they had been, but that Mr Reith had "deliberately deceived the nation" by not correcting the record during the 2001 election campaign.

Reply #29 - Nov 9th, 2022 at 8:53am

Aussie wrote on Nov 9th, 2022 at 8:16am:

Reith was a deliberate liar going out of his way to assist Hayseed's bullshit about kids overboard.  And yes, Bobby is right....he did used animals to attack human beings, and that is reflective of the man's 'integrity.'

"a long battle with Alzheimer's".......yeas, I know, that is a darling expression of the media, but it is softshoe crap.  You might as well say that a bloke who perished after falling from a cliff top died after a glorious but short battle with gravity.

This bloke was a very willing political scum bag bottom dwelling lap dog, and his talents were ruthlessly exploited by Hayseed.

Fully Agree, a lying stinking piece of garbage who destroyed the life and career of a very popular and highly respected Navy Officer by twisting and distorting the evidence that Officer gave with relation to Children Overboard.    

http://sievx.com/testimony/individuals/CommanderNormanBanks.html

I had the privilege to attend a presentation by Captain Banks many years after this incident and in private to a few of us, he related the true story of this and how his initial signals and subsequent evidence was manipulated for purely political purposes.      Whilst Reith's Death from a debilitating illness is regrettable and comfort is extended to his family, it should never be forgotten what a political piece of detritus he really was.

Reply #30 - Nov 9th, 2022 at 9:11am

Aussie wrote on Nov 9th, 2022 at 8:26am:
Bobby. wrote on Nov 9th, 2022 at 8:22am:
Aussie,

Still not the full story - just hints:

MARK WILLACY: Whereas the wharfies didn't. Maybe because theirs, in most cases, were legitimate benefits albeit somewhat extravagant. So in a reversal of roles it's Labor setting the dogs onto Peter Reith, but unlike the waterfront dispute there's no protection from bodyguards in balaclavas.

Belgarion

Reply #31 - Nov 9th, 2022 at 9:37am

Very interesting report by CMDR Banks.  Pity the media and the politicians were not interested in the truth.

"I may not agree with what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it."

Voltaire.....(possibly)

Reply #32 - Nov 9th, 2022 at 10:08am

I don't recall the death of anyone before triggering this much criticism about the person.

I would typically be horrified by this even when deserved. I almost always just be quiet on the topic.

In this case it is 100% understandable and deserved.

Peter well and truly earned this response.

Reply #33 - Nov 9th, 2022 at 2:06pm

Bobby. wrote on Nov 9th, 2022 at 6:01am:
https://melbourneunitarian.org.au/files/beacons/Beacon-2020-11.pdf

In order to understand the propaganda being
disseminated by Patrick Corporation and the
federal government around the waterside dispute in
Sydney, it is important to recall the last time Patrick
Corporation decided to take on the union. There
were hard-to-forget tactics used by this company
against its workers then. Cast your minds back to
1998, when that company decided to sack its entire
waterside workforce.
Remember the hooded thugs,
the vicious dogs,

the lockout, the scabs imported
to take the place of unionised workers? Do you
also recall the generous support offered by the
then Minister for Industrial Relations in the Howard
government, Peter Reith, in all of this illegal activity?
The Australian waterfront dispute of 1998 was
an event in Australian industrial relations history,
in which the Patrick Corporation undertook a
restructuring of their operations for the purpose
of dismissing their workforce. The restructuring
by Patrick Corporation was later ruled illegal by
Australian courts.
– ABC news report on the Waterfront Dispute,
April 1998

I remember the Police linking arms and facing away from the unionists to face the scabs.  Well done.  Howard and Co. lied all the way on that on the children overboard scandal.  Tsk, tsk, tsk...   Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

thegreatdivide

Australian Politics<br
/>

Reply #34 - Nov 9th, 2022 at 4:06pm

I cannot train fools....

Excellent post.

Of course all wannabee bosses dream of making it rich.

I know a franchisee who has become a multi millionare - the dream of all small business owners - on the back of his workers who are of course on very average award wages.   

And ditto for big business, meanwhile the increasing share of profits going to management over the last several decades is egregious.

At the moment in Parliament, a Coalition member is chastising Labor for wanting to increase workers' wages, saying business will have to lay off workers "in the real world" with its high business input costs....

Neither side are aware of the dysfunctional economic system itself which is the real problem. 

More rhetoric from the Coalition:

"small business is the foundation of the Oz economy".

Yes, though many (probably a majority) are by means as succesful as the one I mentioned above; hence these "bosses" rely on low wages for their workers, to keep the business viable. 

More indication of systemic dysfunction... while Labor can't lift taxes (if it wants to win elections) to compensate low-income people's cost of living crises.    

« Last Edit: Nov 9th, 2022 at 4:46pm by thegreatdivide »  

Reply #35 - Nov 9th, 2022 at 4:46pm

thegreatdivide wrote on Nov 9th, 2022 at 4:06pm:

I cannot train fools....

Excellent post.

Of course all wannabee bosses dream of making it rich.

I know a franchisee who has become a multi millionare - the dream of all small business owners - on the back of his workers who are of course on very average award wages.   

And ditto for big business, meanwhile the increasing share of profits going to management over the last several decades is egregious.

At the moment in Parliament, a Coalition member is chastising Labor for wanting to increase workers' wages, saying business will have to lay off workers "in the real world" with its high business input costs....

Neither side are aware of the dysfunctional economic system itself which is the real problem. 

They don't want to be aware .... it would ruin their personal share portfolios...

Reply #36 - Nov 10th, 2022 at 6:44am

Forever, our

Minister for Refugee Final Solution

Prime Minister for Squandered Opportunities

and ...

Late Minister for Children Overboard

LEGENDS,

one and ALL !

Reply #37 - Nov 10th, 2022 at 6:50am

Peter Reith will have trouble at the Pearly Gates.

St Peter will have tough questions for him.    Embarrassed

Reply #38 - Nov 10th, 2022 at 7:42am

Dnarever wrote on Nov 9th, 2022 at 10:08am:
I don't recall the death of anyone before triggering this much criticism about the person.

It appears commentators have struggled to find ONE redeeming feature of
Reith

If Howard had "ONE redeeming feature"
he would have sacked
Reith
from Cabinet,
the moment Reith came to him with the cropped photos and whole
"children overboard" LIE

-
assuming Howard wasn't in on the whole thing, from day one
?

Reply #39 - Nov 10th, 2022 at 8:02am

Bobby. wrote on Nov 10th, 2022 at 6:50am:

As will his boss, I guess ?

Peter Reith
, the hard man of Liberal politics,
was
Howard
’s ‘favourite’

Former prime minister
John Howard
says
Peter Reith
was a “wonderful friend and great colleague” and he was very proud to support him as prime minister

Reply #40 - Nov 10th, 2022 at 10:57am

buzzanddidj wrote on Nov 10th, 2022 at 8:02am:
Bobby. wrote on Nov 10th, 2022 at 6:50am:

As will his boss, I guess ?

Peter Reith
, the hard man of Liberal politics,
was
Howard
’s ‘favourite’

Former prime minister
John Howard
says
Peter Reith
was a “wonderful friend and great colleague” and he was very proud to support him as prime minister

Well - that's the kiss of death if ever there was one....

Reply #41 - Nov 10th, 2022 at 11:01am

buzzanddidj wrote on Nov 10th, 2022 at 6:44am:

Forever, our

Minister for Refugee Final Solution

Prime Minister for Squandered Opportunities

https://i.dailymail.co.uk/1s/2022/11/08/10/64305785-11402753-image-a-6_166790306...

and ...

Late Minister for Children Overboard

LEGENDS,

one and ALL !

Don't forget the $230Bn and growing stolen from the National Treasury and parked in a tax haven and run by his mate Costello to guarantee that even WHEN they bring this country and its people to their knees their fat retirements will be guaranteed for eternity.

Bring Back The Stolen Future Fund!

What's the difference between a politician and a leech? 

A leech stops sucking blood out of you once it's been removed ....

Reply #42 - Nov 10th, 2022 at 11:26am

Peter Reith stated the brutal and uncomfortable truth. And he had the guts to stand up and get our inept waterfront industry back on track too.

It was never going to be an easy roadmap given the unrepentant union thugs involved and who were controlled by the Communist and Labor Parties of Australia.

We could do with more politicians like Reith in Australia. Men who are tough and prepared to jump in and get the job done.

What we have instead are spineless inept dheads who sit around pretending to care about what they do. They're really there to feather their own nests as they prepare themselves for retirement to enjoy unbelievable benefit packages.

Edit : And if it wasn't for Reith putting the frighteners on those lazy bludging waterfront wankers who thought they could get away with what they had been doing for decades...Australis waterfront industry would not be the competitive and efficient one we see today.

Deal with it you lot!

Reply #43 - Nov 10th, 2022 at 11:31am

Lisa Jones wrote on Nov 10th, 2022 at 11:26am:
Peter Reith stated the brutal and uncomfortable truth. And he had the guts to stand up and get our inept waterfront industry back on track too.

It was never going to be an easy roadmap given the unrepentant union thugs involved and who were controlled by the Communist and Labor Parties of Australia.

We could do with more politicians like Reith in Australia. Men who are tough and prepared to jump in and get the job done.

What we have instead are spineless inept dheads who sit around pretending to care about what they do. They're really there to feather their own nests as they prepare themselves for retirement to enjoy unbelievable benefit packages.

Edit : And if it wasn't for Reith putting the frighteners on those lazy bludging waterfront wankers who thought they could get away with what they had been doing for decades...Australis waterfront industry would not be the competitive and efficient one we see today.

Deal with it you lot!

Stick to growing chokos Loser!  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

Reply #44 - Nov 10th, 2022 at 11:34am

Redmond Neck wrote on Nov 10th, 2022 at 11:31am:

Yet another useless BS reply by you! STFU Redback. As per usual you jump in like a blowfly to prove what we already know about you. You know SFA about this topic. Now hop it!

Reply #45 - Nov 10th, 2022 at 11:44am

Lisa Jones wrote on Nov 9th, 2022 at 7:10am:
Redmond Neck wrote on Nov 9th, 2022 at 6:25am:

STFU Redback. As usual - you're in here like the typical blowfly we all know you are ... to say SFA because you really haven't got a bloody clue!

👆 And here is your only other contribution in this topic Redback. You're nothing but a nasty and vicious backstabbing troll irrespective of the id you use. 

Apologies to the rest of you who have posted in this topic in good faith. The fact that I disagree with you isn't important. What matters to me is that you've posted with conviction and I can now see a completely different perspective based on your personal experiences at that time. I thank you for your honesty and also for your patience with me given I have a dissenting view. Believe it or not ... I quite enjoy being challenged by those I disagree with.

Reply #46 - Nov 10th, 2022 at 12:22pm

Government attacks unions - proxy attacks workers and wage rates ... economy declines and approaches moribund...

Money was made round to go around.... no money at the bottom - no going around... money no going around - economy stop....

HowardGuv was a disaster in countless ways... little man syndrome at its very worst.

Reply #47 - Nov 10th, 2022 at 12:42pm

... Why do they always bury politicians flat on their back, one foot under, and with one arm raised?

So they can continue to collect their handout.....

"Upon the death of a serving MP, their spouse receives an annuity equal to 5/ 6 of the rate of the retiring allowance which would have been payable had the MP not died. If the MP has served less than eight years at the time of death, the retiring allowance is calculated as if they had served eight years."

While it says 'serving MP' (etc) you can bet there has been a cunning interpretation of what that means.....

Reply #48 - Nov 10th, 2022 at 1:08pm

Lisa Jones wrote on Nov 10th, 2022 at 11:34am:
Redmond Neck wrote on Nov 10th, 2022 at 11:31am:

Yet another useless BS reply by you! STFU Redback. As per usual you jump in like a blowfly to prove what we already know about you. You know SFA about this topic. Now hop it!

Speaking of people who "know SFA about this topic........."

Note the comments about deliberate Government activity to make the whole thing worse and also note how workers' conditions significantly improved as a result of Union activity.

Reply #49 - Nov 15th, 2022 at 11:41am

Gordon wrote on Nov 8th, 2022 at 8:37pm:
Did Peter Reith ever enter a school and pin a kid to a tree?

Did Peter Reith ever enter a school oval and pash a Boong?

Questions questions.

Reply #50 - Nov 18th, 2022 at 1:20pm

one of the good guys

Now you're about the bottom of the barrel for poster boys Aqua.

He was a dead set grub.

Reply #51 - Nov 18th, 2022 at 1:22pm

Not actually talking about his wife & children nor what killed him

talking about Reith the man, the politician

& the slime ball he was as a govt minister.

Reply #52 - Nov 18th, 2022 at 1:25pm

Lisa Jones wrote on Nov 8th, 2022 at 9:32pm:

one of the good guys

Yep. He was always allocated the tough jobs which required making tough decisions.

What he did in hiring ex ADF mercenaries to bust & or assault picket line Unionists was nothing short of illegal bastardry....

and a bigger bastard you could not get.....

in fact he was an outright TNUC.

Reply #53 - Nov 18th, 2022 at 1:29pm

Gnads wrote on Nov 18th, 2022 at 1:20pm:

one of the good guys

Now you're about the bottom of the barrel for poster boys Aqua.

He was a dead set grub.

That's just aquascoot's (boring) shtick.

He always tries to put a positive spin on horrible people.

Ask him about Hitler and he'll say: "Snappy dresser, healthy eater, strong leader, very charismatic, and loved animals. Admirable guy".

It's so boring and predictable.

Reply #54 - Nov 18th, 2022 at 1:30pm

Peter Reith has died at age 72.

about 71 years to late

Reply #55 - Nov 18th, 2022 at 1:34pm

Gnads wrote on Nov 18th, 2022 at 1:25pm:

one of the good guys

What he did in hiring ex ADF mercenaries to bust & or assault picket line Unionists was nothing short of illegal bastardry....

WTF is a TNUC?

Reply #56 - Nov 18th, 2022 at 1:35pm

Deal with it you lot!

You thinking that nasty POS Reith is any sort of political hero speaks volumes.

He should have been tarred & feathered & thrown in jail.

What he did was unconstitutional & illegal.

Of all the dislikeable Liberal politicians Reith is the most detestable.... the King of Grubs.

Reply #57 - Nov 18th, 2022 at 1:39pm

Lisa Jones wrote on Nov 18th, 2022 at 1:34pm:

one of the good guys

WTF is a TNUC?

Spell it backwards Roll Eyes

And that praising him ..... he was actually a dead tnuc ...... coz tnucs are useful.

Reply #58 - Nov 18th, 2022 at 2:00pm

Gnads wrote on Nov 18th, 2022 at 1:39pm:
Lisa Jones wrote on Nov 18th, 2022 at 1:34pm:

one of the good guys

WTF is a TNUC?

Spell it backwards Roll Eyes

And that praising him ..... he was actually a dead tnuc ...... coz tnucs are useful.

Ha! Here I am trying to work it out going forwards.

Look to be fair I was a busy student back when Peter Reith was active in politics. This might be WHY I've clashed with just about everyone on OzPol over the Patrick Corporation affair.

NB : When I say I was "busy" I really mean this : I was working 2 part time jobs plus studying part time at Uni plus buying my first car plus I was putting money aside for my first property. Plus I was prepping for a wedding to a lazy arsehole who turned out to be an abusive next level TNUC!

Just looking at this 👇....

https://amp.theaustralian.com.au/nation/patrick-termination-bid-sparks-new-wharv...

Edit :
👆 Ahhhh .... 1998! Of course! That explains it! No I was actually exhausted and married (ie fighting to survive) and trying to get away from the prick. Apologies to all but I had my own domestic dispute to sort out AND I wasn't allowed to watch TV or listen to the radio or use a phone. Hell I wasn't even allowed to open any mail which was delivered. Even if it was in my name! So any news I gleaned was at best very meagre (and usually by accident). Look unless you're a woman who's experienced family violence at the hands of a much bigger and much older guy you will probably not get what I'm saying. And that's ok because it probably means you guys are nothing like the demonic beast I escaped from. Anyway...
i
« Last Edit: Nov 18th, 2022 at 2:22pm by Lisa Jones »  

Reply #59 - Nov 18th, 2022 at 3:38pm

Gnads wrote on Nov 18th, 2022 at 1:35pm:

Deal with it you lot!

You thinking that nasty POS Reith is any sort of political hero speaks volumes.

He should have been tarred & feathered & thrown in jail.

What he did was unconstitutional & illegal.

Of all the dislikeable Liberal politicians Reith is the most detestable.... the King of Grubs.

Reply #60 - Nov 18th, 2022 at 3:50pm

Deal with it you lot!

No actually he didn't - The government helping the business to work outside the law and morality hurt the industry for no reason.

The basis of the dispute was to swap out the workforce to overseas imported workers on low pay rates and to introduce automated technology.

In the end they had 3 cranes standing at the port unused 25 years later.

This is the technology they wanted to use to supposedly improve productivity. It never got to the point where these cranes could match the workers performance and were never used.

There was also a safety issue that the cranes could not correctly identify the different containers which produced an extreme danger when a crane picked up a container with a different size than it believed. It could literally try to put a container into a slot where it didn't fit or worse still into an area where there were people.

They got improved productivity in the end by negotiating a bonus system with existing workers. They had a set number of containers to unload in a shift with a bonus for extra.

This was the increased productivity and it had nothing to do with the dispute, this was always on the table.

A disappointment to me was that the union didn't follow through with the court case, the court had found that the government had a case to answer. The Gov done a deal with the unions to get out of it.

Reply #61 - Nov 18th, 2022 at 5:37pm

Dnarever wrote on Nov 18th, 2022 at 3:50pm:

Deal with it you lot!

No actually he didn't - The government helping the business to work outside the law and morality hurt the industry for no reason.

The basis of the dispute was to swap out the workforce to overseas imported workers on low pay rates and to introduce automated technology.

In the end they had 3 cranes standing at the port unused 25 years later.

This is the technology they wanted to use to supposedly improve productivity. It never got to the point where these cranes could match the workers performance and were never used.

There was also a safety issue that the cranes could not correctly identify the different containers which produced an extreme danger when a crane picked up a container with a different size than it believed. It could literally try to put a container into a slot where it didn't fit or worse still into an area where there were people.

They got improved productivity in the end by negotiating a bonus system with existing workers. They had a set number of containers to unload in a shift with a bonus for extra.

This was the increased productivity and it had nothing to do with the dispute, this was always on the table.

A disappointment to me was that the union didn't follow through with the court case, the court had found that the government had a case to answer. The Gov done a deal with the unions to get out of it.

Exactly ... Howard, Reith, Downer, Abbott & Costello  Roll Eyes what a group of arseholes.

thegreatdivide

Australian Politics<br
/>

Reply #62 - Nov 19th, 2022 at 6:17pm

Lisa Jones wrote on Nov 18th, 2022 at 2:00pm:
Look to be fair I was a busy student back when Peter Reith was active in politics. This might be WHY I've clashed with just about everyone on OzPol over the Patrick Corporation affair.

You - like Reith - prefer the idea of "being your own boss", with its possibility of becoming  richer than relying on award wages, and hence fight for the advantage of employers.

Most people are drawn to waged occupations as workers, and see the need for unions to defend wages and conditions.

I note your contempt for "union thugs" who might play hardball for the workers they represent.

The current disagreement over the new Workplace Relations bill is based on the need for much (most) small business to minimize their employees' wages, so small business can survive in a competitive market. Big business is different and can afford to pay decent wages.

[/quote]

Reply #63 - Nov 22nd, 2022 at 5:58am

thegreatdivide wrote on Nov 19th, 2022 at 6:17pm:

You - like Reith - prefer the idea of "being your own boss", with its possibility of becoming  richer than relying on award wages, and hence fight for the advantage of employers.

Most people are drawn to waged occupations as workers, and see the need for unions to defend wages and conditions.

I note your contempt for "union thugs" who might play hardball for the workers they represent.

The current disagreement over the new Workplace Relations bill is based on the need for much (most) small business to minimize their employees' wages, so small business can survive in a competitive market. Big business is different and can afford to pay decent wages.

[/quote]

Sorry but small business doesn't get off the hook because of competition.

Regardless of size of business if you can't afford to pay decent livable wages then you shouldn't be in business.

So the owners of those small businesses always looking to cut wages should either do the work themselves or work out a new business model.

thegreatdivide

Australian Politics<br
/>

Reply #64 - Nov 22nd, 2022 at 1:28pm

Gnads wrote on Nov 22nd, 2022 at 5:58am:

Regardless of size of business if you can't afford to pay decent livable wages then you shouldn't be in business.

Agreed, but unfortunately most of our economy is based on mickey mouse small business - a 'nation of shop keepers', and wannabe entrepreneurs.....

So the owners of those small businesses always looking to cut wages should either do the work themselves or work out a new business model.

Yes.

Reply #65 - Nov 22nd, 2022 at 1:33pm

Peter Reith somehow avoided trial for encouraging vicious dogs to maul workers -
giving them severe injuries requiring hospitalisation.
How would he have liked that to happen to him or his own family members?
He was a monster.

Reply #66 - Nov 22nd, 2022 at 2:36pm

thegreatdivide wrote on Nov 22nd, 2022 at 1:28pm:
Gnads wrote on Nov 22nd, 2022 at 5:58am:

Agreed, but unfortunately most of our economy is based on mickey mouse small business - a 'nation of shop keepers', and wannabe entrepreneurs.....

Yes.

but unfortunately most of our economy is based on mickey mouse small business - a 'nation of shop keepers', and wannabe entrepreneurs.....

If they pay the minimum wage they are in no trouble. It isn't much. Many of the business owners I have known claiming to be in this position have actually been doing fairly well or better.  While there are likely exceptions many are doing very well.

I knew one guy who had about 6 or 8 employees on a low wage because of how tough it was. His accountant recommended that he buy a Ferrari to minimise his tax bill. Not sure how that worked but I got a ride in his Ferrari.

thegreatdivide

Australian Politics<br
/>

Reply #67 - Nov 22nd, 2022 at 2:58pm

Dnarever wrote on Nov 22nd, 2022 at 2:36pm:
I knew one guy who had about 6 or 8 employees on a low wage because of how tough it was. His accountant recommended that he buy a Ferrari to minimise his tax bill. Not sure how that worked but I got a ride in his Ferrari.

Exactly!

Reply #68 - Nov 22nd, 2022 at 3:18pm

top bloke.

my uncle used to dry hire end-loaders to the wharfies.

they would invariably sabotage the machine and then retire to the rec room for hours of playing pool.

one time they actually unscrewed the gear stick and chucked it on the floor of the cab and said it "fell off"

that it undid the 3 bolts holding it on by itself.

thank god for noble politicians like peter to take on these scum

thegreatdivide

Australian Politics<br
/>

Reply #69 - Nov 22nd, 2022 at 3:33pm

aquascoot wrote on Nov 22nd, 2022 at 3:18pm:
top bloke.

they would invariably sabotage the machine and then retire to the rec room for hours of playing pool.

one time they actually unscrewed the gear stick and chucked it on the floor of the cab and said it "fell off"

Reith was the wrong man for the job; those warf dropouts needed some education, and instillment of some self-esteem, not a union-basher like Reith

Reply #70 - Nov 22nd, 2022 at 3:37pm

aquascoot wrote on Nov 22nd, 2022 at 3:18pm:
top bloke.

Yet they need to get their quota of work done in order to start on their bonus for the shift ? Most of them depend on reaching their bonus total to earn their wage. Over the last 25 years if anyone in the team were to do this the rest of the team would beat him senseless.