Pages: 1 ... 94 95 96 97 98 ... 175
The human cost in Gaza (Read 77311 times)

Re: The human cost in Gaza
Reply #1425 - Nov 16th, 2023 at 3:48pm

Bobby. wrote on Nov 16th, 2023 at 3:27pm:
aquascoot wrote on Nov 16th, 2023 at 1:51pm:
i dont buy the religious stuff but ray dallio ( one of the most sober wall street guys and risk analysts) puts the chance of WW3 at 50 %.

in WW2 we had severe petrol ratioing, food rationing  and back then we were largely self sufficient

in a WW3 scenrio its a nightmare to be in a city (and australia is the world most urbanised country)

thankfully, bobby has taken my tip and is stockpiling

you do not want to be down at coles fighting it out with the apex gang for the last tin of tuna

Yes - I'm building up a supply of food.

Reply #1426 - Nov 16th, 2023 at 4:00pm

Nah Greggy - I got a 5Kg bag of Basmati rice from Coles
on special a few weeks ago for $14.55.

That's half price.   Smiley

My war rations are building up.

Reply #1427 - Nov 16th, 2023 at 4:01pm

Bobby. wrote on Nov 16th, 2023 at 3:27pm:
i dont buy the religious stuff but ray dallio ( one of the most sober wall street guys and risk analysts) puts the chance of WW3 at 50 %.

in WW2 we had severe petrol ratioing, food rationing  and back then we were largely self sufficient

in a WW3 scenrio its a nightmare to be in a city (and australia is the world most urbanised country)

thankfully, bobby has taken my tip and is stockpiling

you do not want to be down at coles fighting it out with the apex gang for the last tin of tuna

Yes - I'm building up a supply of food.

However in WW2 in Europe -
people suffered armed home invasions from people demanding food.
They would literally shoot you to get food.
Hungry people will do anything.

That’s exactly what will happen. So the issue of peace AND safety will become so paramount the remedy will be sought with vigor. That’s when that wonderful person ... a saviour even will enter the world political and economic stage and he will be dubbed the man of peace. He will be amazing because he will successfully broker much needed peace agreements globally and the Israelis in particular will herald him as their long awaited Messiah.

That Man Of Peace will (initially) hypnotise a mass global cult like following and once every nation signs up into the global PEACE deal (which will of course include those leaders which represent countries that follow the religion of PEACE)...then and only then will he reveal his true identity as the most fearsome tyrant in world history. Hitler and Stalin only ever had absolute power over their own countries. This guy will be like those 2 but far worse as he will control the entire world. There will be 1 currency/1 govt/ and the entire world will be united as 1 mega nation. His networks will cruelly control every facet of life. Those who don’t follow the strict script of total control will be punished.

This guy will later be known by his other alias: The Anti Christ.

I personally have no idea as to who this guy might be but I will admit that I often look at what’s happening on the world political stage and I find myself paying particular attention to the hypocritical self righteous pricks sitting in the highest echelons of religion.

Reply #1428 - Nov 16th, 2023 at 4:08pm

MeisterEckhart wrote on Nov 16th, 2023 at 3:43pm:
Lisa Jones wrote on Nov 16th, 2023 at 3:40pm:
MeisterEckhart wrote on Nov 16th, 2023 at 2:02pm:
Lisa Jones wrote on Nov 16th, 2023 at 1:59pm:
MeisterEckhart wrote on Nov 16th, 2023 at 1:57pm:
aquascoot wrote on Nov 16th, 2023 at 1:55pm:
MeisterEckhart wrote on Nov 16th, 2023 at 1:54pm:

Or a farmer defending his livestock against armed urban gangs stealing them, as what happened in Cuba after the collapse of the Soviet Union.

theyd be too lazy to walk to western queenland where my cousin is

thats my go to  destination  Smiley

Good to have a plan, but we're all only ever a few weeks away from death by starvation and/or dehydration.

The threat of starvation is one of the most primal reasons for doing whatever is necessary to secure a food source.

OK so you KNOW this.

What have you DONE about it?

I have spoken with Papua-New Guinean tribespeople about the best way to cook and eat sinewy southern European refos.

Ahhh .... still sitting there ATTEMPTING to bait me. This time with your racist remarks against Sth Europeans.

Tell the forum about your heritage. I bet you won’t.

Meantime I’ll check up on those slow roasting lamb shanks...

How many Papua-New Guinean tribespeople have cooked and eaten southern Europeans, do you think?

WTF is wrong with you? Oh don’t bother answering that! It was just a rhetorical question. 😩🥺😔

Reply #1429 - Nov 16th, 2023 at 4:11pm

aquascoot wrote on Nov 16th, 2023 at 12:18pm:
you are so boring because you are members of a religion, total conformists, seeking the safety of the herd
there is not one point of differentiation in the lot
step outside and offer a nuanced position on anything and the fellow cult members will ex communicate you

gutless cowards basicly
totally spineless sheep

This is the concentrated nub of the matter. There are very few lefties, if any, who can remain friendly and cordial with anyone who disagrees with them on the small and narrow orthodoxies of korrekt think.
It is fascinating and a minor mystery to me not that people believe certain obviously stupid ideas but that they tenaciously cling to them like barnacles for the sake of the good the opinion of others who also believe the same idiocies.
It is a bit like adolescents for whom there is a period when the most important thing in the world is what the right people think of them and being on their wrong side about trivialities in preferences for fashion or music is utterly soul crushing. Most adolescents grow out of such psychological swamps.

Normal people, on the other hand, delight in discovering other views, other arguments, reasoning, other ways of seeing the world and people. They want to know the why THAT way of seeing might be a corrective to their own - or if not, why.  Importantly, they judge moral worth on interpersonal qualities, not on the voicing of political dogmas on political ephemera. They have larger horizons, larger views, larger souls and so are open to revising and adjusting their ideas when an improvement is presented to them.

MeisterEckhart

Reply #1430 - Nov 16th, 2023 at 4:26pm

Frank wrote on Nov 16th, 2023 at 4:11pm:
Normal people, on the other hand, delight in discovering other views, other arguments, reasoning, other ways of seeing the world and people. They want to know the why THAT way of seeing might be a corrective to their own - or if not, why.  Importantly, they judge moral worth on interpersonal qualities, not on the voicing of political dogmas on political ephemera. They have larger horizons, larger views, larger souls and so are open to revising and adjusting their ideas when an improvement is presented to them.

I think the reason political, social, cultural or religious propagandas are so effective is that the vast majority will accept them without question.

It is normative in human society to accept the dictates of those we respect as authorities - it's easier than the alternative: to do the hard work of discovery for oneself.

What is not normative is people not accepting the authority of political, social, cultural or religious figures.

Reply #1431 - Nov 16th, 2023 at 4:30pm

Damn. Here we go. Outta here. I’ll wait until sanity prevails.

Reply #1432 - Nov 16th, 2023 at 4:43pm

Bobby. wrote on Nov 16th, 2023 at 4:00pm:
Nah Greggy - I got a 5Kg bag of Basmati rice from Coles
on special a few weeks ago for $14.55.

That's half price.   Smiley

My war rations are building up.

Bet the weevils are loving it.

Reply #1433 - Nov 16th, 2023 at 5:09pm

Frank wrote on Nov 16th, 2023 at 4:11pm:
aquascoot wrote on Nov 16th, 2023 at 12:18pm:
you are so boring because you are members of a religion, total conformists, seeking the safety of the herd
there is not one point of differentiation in the lot
step outside and offer a nuanced position on anything and the fellow cult members will ex communicate you

gutless cowards basicly
totally spineless sheep

This is the concentrated nub of the matter. There are very few lefties, if any, who can remain friendly and cordial with anyone who disagrees with them on the small and narrow orthodoxies of korrekt think.
It is fascinating and a minor mystery to me not that people believe certain obviously stupid ideas but that they tenaciously cling to them like barnacles for the sake of the good the opinion of others who also believe the same idiocies.
It is a bit like adolescents for whom there is a period when the most important thing in the world is what the right people think of them and being on their wrong side about trivialities in preferences for fashion or music is utterly soul crushing. Most adolescents grow out of such psychological swamps.

excellent post.

a lot of people of the right (farmers, business people, tradies, the military, the police) HAVE to develop resilience and self reliance.
so they get to find out who they are and are comfortable in their own skin.

a lot of people of the left (uni intellectuals, teachers, public servants, the unemployed and the welfare dependant) probably understand they dont have the personality traits to stand alone. they feel shakey in their core confidence and they externalise their validation.

the left feel unsafe on their own.

people pleasing, pandering to mobs, supplicating to angry constituents, oiling the squeaky wheel,
piling on when they have a mutual enemy, always talking about safety , detecting micro aggressions, bowing to an authority figure

always talking about disability instead of striving to help the excellent fly higher
always wanting diversity and equity , so no one has to feel a negative emotion
offering counselling when ever something bad happens
trigger warnings
a  celebration of the frail and the feeble (look at who they chose to lead the free world )

all these behaviours are understandable when you understand the basic pyschology of the adult infant

MeisterEckhart

Reply #1434 - Nov 16th, 2023 at 5:15pm

aquascoot wrote on Nov 16th, 2023 at 5:09pm:

So, you make sweeping judgements about the left...

Do the right all feel safe on their own, you think?

If you do, you'd be bypassing a foundational principle of conservatism: that social/liberal progress for its own sake destabilises society - i.e. makes society less safe.

Reply #1435 - Nov 16th, 2023 at 5:18pm

MeisterEckhart wrote on Nov 16th, 2023 at 5:15pm:

If you do, you'd be bypassing a foundational principle of conservatism: that progress for its own sake destabilises society - i.e. makes society less safe.

yeah, i think self reliance is very important to your mental health .physical health and financial health
i think self reliant people want less government and thats surely a right wing opinion

Reply #1436 - Nov 16th, 2023 at 5:21pm

Why would HAMAS build a bunker under the shifa hospital if they were not putting civilian lives at risk....HAMAS do not care about human life and claim evey Palastinian killed is a martyr for the cause???

Fact Check: Did Israel Build Bunker Under Shifa Hospital?

True.

Huh Huh Huh

https://www.newsweek.com/fact-check-did-israel-build-bunker-under-shifa-hospital...

MeisterEckhart

Reply #1437 - Nov 16th, 2023 at 5:21pm

aquascoot wrote on Nov 16th, 2023 at 5:18pm:

If you do, you'd be bypassing a foundational principle of conservatism: that progress for its own sake destabilises society - i.e. makes society less safe.

yeah, i think self reliance is very important to your mental health .physical health and financial health
i think self reliant people want less government and thats surely a right wing opinion

Conservatism does not have a mortgage on self-reliance and small government. Jewish Kibbutzes and communes, for example, are not havens of conservatism.

MeisterEckhart

Reply #1438 - Nov 16th, 2023 at 5:27pm

philperth2010 wrote on Nov 16th, 2023 at 5:21pm:
Why would HAMAS build a bunker under the shifa hospital if they were not putting civilian lives at risk....HAMAS do not care about human life and claim evey Palastinian killed is a martyr for the cause???

If people are motivated by religious zeal to the point where martyrdom is the highest honour, why would they consider the lives of non-combatants as an obstacle to fulfilling their religious duty?

After all, they'd argue that non-combatants who die in the service of Allah are, by that, martyrs.

Reply #1439 - Nov 16th, 2023 at 5:28pm

MeisterEckhart wrote on Nov 16th, 2023 at 5:21pm:
aquascoot wrote on Nov 16th, 2023 at 5:18pm:

Conservatism does not have a mortgage on self-reliance and small government. Jewish Kibbutzes and communes, for example, are not havens of conservatism.

true , they are small socialist collections which work as long as they are kin.

but i bet in a kibbutz, you dont get to go on centrelink benefits for chronic fatigue syndrome and get about in your pyjamas
i bet you are made to contribute or you are out

by the way, you should google mental health of the amish . they are doing quite well without their i phones, maccas and armies of fedarally funded mental health hand holders and big pharma ssri's

Pages: 1 ... 94 95 96 97 98 ... 175